CTS or Thermostat?

SunnyG

Reaction score
Car doesn't warm up no mother how long you drive it its 1.9tdi 130 and it only just lifts off the bottom after a while, is that the CTS or thermostat?

I would say cts, worth doing that first as its cheaper and easier to replace.

Its almost never the CTS.

Change the Thermostat.

CTS also isnt cheaper, its about 40quid, vs 10 or so for the stat.

Okay probably do both then i guess how shall i do a coolant flush as the orange stuff in their at the mo?

I'd change thermostat - faulty CTS can also gives out cold / hot start issues. Changing the fluid is simple enough, drain it through the drain point, then fill up with coolant and bleed through until no air bubbles.

Oops sorry, got it the wrong way round!!! DOH!!!

Well I have just gotten over this problem. a new thermostat cost me 5.49. sure its a cnut of a thing to get out as the housing is behind the alternator, but i am a utter noob and it took me half hour.

i say change thermostat mate, they seem to be a problem on the cars. If your anywhere near hertfordshire ill do it with you if you like.

EDIT.. have you checked the temp through the climate control ? hold recirc + ^ then select 49c, press recirc again and bingo it will show you the genuine accurate temperature. then you will know if its a sensor or thermo

Reactions: iucle
Yeah I'm a bit far mate near birmingham and ok i will do that what should i be looking for?

Well if you have climate control, do as i said above while driving/at lights or whatever. if your needle is the same as what is says on the climate control then its the thermo.
when you change the thermostat ( if u do ) youl need to do this **WHEN ENGINE IS COLD**
1) take of engine cover + bracket thats attached to dipstick guide (holder)