1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruze Controle upgrade?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Turkster, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    5
    Breaking a B7 at the mo and iv got this bit in hope that i may be able to just plug it in and have my car programmed to use it,
    or is there more to the game?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am yet to do it myself but have read alot about it on the forums, installing the parts is the easy part programming the control unit via VCDS takes a bit of time I believe. Check out this thread: http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showth...o-DIS-Cruise-Upgrade&highlight=cruise control. I'm planning to do it myself I've got the control unit just need to get the cruise control stalk and steering cover next, the only problem is that I don't have the VCDS cable to do the programming and I don't fancy parting with £250 for the cable.
    #2
  3. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    5
    VCDS cable? im breaking a b7 with Cruze control in it, should i go back and the plug and wires too ?
    #3
  4. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    VCDS also known as VAG-COM cable, it's the diagnostic cable you use to connect your laptop to the cars computer to diagnose and program electronic components.
    #4
  5. chrisash32
    Offline

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    The VCDS cable is what you need to plug into the car, so you can program your car up to work with the new parts.
    Without one of these or someone that can program it for you, this retrofit will be impossible.

    The parts look good though and if that is a Q on the end of the SCCM part number, its a good module too.
    #5
  6. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    5
    yep the parts all add up, iv got a cable but no program,, could anyone let me borrow theres?

    There is a Q on the end :icon_thumright:
    #6
  7. ronny
    Offline

    ronny Audi A4 1.8TQ

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    The program costs 99 bucks from the states, whats that like 65 quid and it's a great piece of software, the cables are 13 quid on ebay and your good to go :)

    Otherwise just ask on here and give your location, you can always drive to someone and let them program it up for you

    http://www.ross-tech.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=VSWR&Category_Code=VAGCOM
    #7

Share This Page