1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise on TDi - Old question but a little further on

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by MrBroon, Sep 10, 2005.

  1. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 10, 2005]
    I've asked this in the past and I've been trying to get an accurate answer from lots of different places with limited success. Here's where I've got so far:

    Q - Can you retro fit cruise?
    A - Yes to a TDi with DBW (drive by wire) throttle, which can be checked by holding the revs at about 2k (while stationary) and at the same time applying the brake, if you have DBW the revs will drop to idle

    Q - Can you buy the new cruise stalk?
    A - Yes, audi will happily supply you the stalk with cruise attached, but make sure you get the right one as there are some variances in the years

    Q - How do you fit it?
    A - Use VAG-COM to update the ECU to understand that it now has cruise fitted, simple job - explanation here:

    Activating Cruise Control on a new ECU (DBW):

    Factory fresh ECU's often come with cruise control de-activated.

    [Select]
    [01 - Engine]
    [Login - 11]
    Enter 11463 to activate cruise control
    [Do It!]

    A - Cont: Fit the new stalk. Now the tricky bit. The stalk requires (at least on my car) a custom wiring harness to link it into the fuse box. Audi do not sell the harness as it comes as part of the main harness and is custom built to order for the car (cost £1200 - ouch). The alternative is to get someone else to make the harness. Apparently there is a harness for the A3/Golf, this is the wrong one, don't buy it (so I've been told by a garage that fits these, VAG Parts I think it was). However a company in Germany has the following harness which I have confirmed with them is the one to use: http://shop.kufatec.de/product_info.php/cPath/2_37/products_id/198

    I'd appreciate it if someone could post a comment on my search so far and tell me if I'm talking rubbish or if this seems like the answer, as it's taken me a while to get this far and it seems to be a common question.

    Cheers, /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 10, 2005]
    All of that sounds about right (not sure about the techincal fitting part though as I've never done it).

    I don't know if you have access to vag.com, but have you considered paying AMD or Fontain to do it all for you? Also might be worth seeing what price VAGPARTS can sell you the stalk for.

    Kev.
    #2
  4. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 10, 2005]
    Also I think it's true to say if you have DBW you should have an EPC light in your dash on start up.

    Kev.
    #3
  5. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,904
    Likes Received:
    865
    [Sep 10, 2005]
    Don't believe every myth you hear about DBW. I spent ages trying to see if mine had DBW. I tried that bit about revving to 2000rpm & braking, but the revs didn't drop to idle. So I thought that must mean I didn't have it. This was even confirmed by an Audi dealer when I told them my registration & VIN, they said I didn't have DBW.

    But I have got DBW, and a month ago, I had a cruise fitted by these people, who actually know what they're talking about.

    Press for cruise intall

    Here's the thread I posted when i got it done.

    Press for more cruise install

    It can be a DIY job if you know what you're doing, & have access to VAG-COM, but if you don't know what you're doing (like me), it's nice to know people like Chas Lawlor at Fontain.
    #4
  6. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2005]
    Not sure about the EPC thing, my 1997 A4 doesn't have it and I do have DBW, my 2000 S3 does have it and it doesn't have DBW.

    Thanks for the tip about Fontain Jeff, they are probably a bit far from me though as I'm in Edinburgh and their cost is quite high (although I appreciate they are doing an excellent job).

    The price I'm looking at at the moment is as follows: I had the VAG-Com work done for nothing by my local Audi specialist, the stalk is around £55 and the cable is 19 Euro and I've been quoted an hours labour to fit the above at £30ph it should be able to be done for around £100 all in which I think is worth a go.

    I'll let you all know how I get on when I get the cable delivered.
    #5
  7. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 11, 2005]
    Have to agree, i'm sure i've seen it for about £175 quid all in somewhere..
    #6
  8. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,904
    Likes Received:
    865
    [Sep 11, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Not sure about the EPC thing, my 1997 A4 doesn't have it and I do have DBW, my 2000 S3 does have it and it doesn't have DBW.

    Thanks for the tip about Fontain Jeff, they are probably a bit far from me though as I'm in Edinburgh and their cost is quite high (although I appreciate they are doing an excellent job).

    The price I'm looking at at the moment is as follows: I had the VAG-Com work done for nothing by my local Audi specialist, the stalk is around £55 and the cable is 19 Euro and I've been quoted an hours labour to fit the above at £30ph it should be able to be done for around £100 all in which I think is worth a go.

    I'll let you all know how I get on when I get the cable delivered.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Sounds good. Let us know when it's up & running.

    BTW, what part of Edinburgh do you live? I went to uni there about quarter of a century ago, & still know the city pretty well..
    #7
  9. FezzR
    Offline

    FezzR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2005]
    with regard to the wiring, im not sure how much of the wiring the A4s have but on the golf and leons the wiring between the ecu and fuse box area is factory installed. and the loom between fuse box and stalk is available for dealer.

    for the petrol versions because of the multiplugs used it is extremely easy to make your own loom
    #8
  10. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2005]
    Hi FezzR, see my comments re the A3/Golf loom in my first post.

    I'll drop a line back here once the parts in from Germany.
    #9
  11. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2005]
    Part ordered up today :)
    #10
  12. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 28, 2005]
    Sorry for the delay in getting back to you all, I've just (yesterday) receieved the parts from Germany and the car is going into my local specialist on Friday for a look at how it should be wired up. Does anyone have any useful links that would show where the wires go from the cruise stalk? as the are just bare wires (about 6 of them) with silver connectors on them. I will let you know how I get on.
    #11
  13. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 2, 2005]
    Ok, now got the cruise installed but apparently the diagram I have is missing the connections for two wires so it will involve another visit to the garage this week. Will let you know how I get on by Friday.
    #12
  14. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 4, 2005]
    Got a new diagram today from Germany and hopefully will be getting the work completed on Friday, I'll be back on at the weekend to let you know if it's working. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    #13
  15. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2005]
    Well after a long wait I've now had it all fitted and it's working!!!!!! Very chuffed, works well and get's better economy than my right foot! The new diagram got it working. If anybody wants the diagram pls PM me. At least now we know it's all possible and how to do it. Reprogram ECU (5 mins), buy mini harness from Germany (20 euros), buy and fit stalk with new harness, about £80 not including any labour. Job done!
    #14
  16. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,904
    Likes Received:
    865
    [Dec 11, 2005]
    Great result, Pa Broon.
    #15
  17. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2005]
    Thanks Jeff.

    Now does anyone know where I can get the rubbing strips at the bottom of the doors (along the sills) my drivers rear door one has just started *peeling* off.
    #16
  18. CraigM
    Offline

    CraigM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2005]
    You can get the trims from vagparts.com or from the dealers - they are only about £40-50 for all four.
    #17
  19. MrBroon
    Offline

    MrBroon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 15, 2005]
    Excellent, thanks Craig. I'll put in an order.
    #18

Share This Page