1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise control?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by rob v6, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking at getting cruise control fitted to the A4 but does any one know if it is possible to do i drive a 2.4 v6 A4 w reg se avant Automatic.

    If it is possible what would i need and where would the best place be to get the parts ie audi part numbers if you have them

    thanks rob
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep mine is the same as yours in the saloon variant

    got mine done about 7 years ago from an audi specialist for £200, before i knew anything about vag.com before hand its pretty simple as its a DBW (drive by wire) just need to take the old stalk off and replace with cruise and tell the ECU via vag.com that cruise is required, thinks its pretty much much it. havent done this myself but should be along those lines.
     
  4. tazzy baby

    tazzy baby Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys do you know if that can that be done to a 1.8t 1997 fwd a4 avant AEB
     
  5. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    You need to add the loom from the stalk to the ECU, kufatek does it for about 14quid though.
     
  6. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    tazzy: AEB needs quite a bit more work, as its a cable throttle car, You need the vacuum pump, actuator, brake and clutch switches, and the control unit, and you need to make your own wiring harness for it.
     
  7. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    so basically i need to buy the stalk and get a wiring loom to make it work and thats it oh and tell the ecu i have cruise control via vag com.

    what does the wiring loom do and where does it go?
     
  8. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    i take that as a yes then
     
  9. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    who is kufatek
     
  10. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
  12. Rallyman

    Rallyman LPG Abuser & have VAGCOM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you need any pictures of the OE system I can provide some..... Mine ad it fitted as standard! Its vacuum on a AJL QTS cable throttle.
     
  13. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you could mate that would be grate will be trying to get the parts ant the weekend so i can get it fited before i go on holiday
     
  14. Rallyman

    Rallyman LPG Abuser & have VAGCOM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Vacuum dissapears underneath the ABS block, Hope these are some use?!
    Michael
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02

    Whooops pics are a bit big..... LOL full of detail!
    Michael
     
  15. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    They wont be any help to him, as his car is drive-by-wire ;)

    Just buy the "TDi" harness and get a stalk from ebay.
     
  16. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Besides an A4 cruise stalk, what other vehicle can I source one from?

    I'm assuming as mine is a facelift 1.8T, it'll be drive-by-wire, so a little easier to install?
     
  17. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Not all facelift 1.8t's are DBW, but if it IS DBW, then you just need the stalk and the loom to the ECU.

    The stalk in ours is from an A8, same part number etc.
     
  18. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    How can I check if it is actually DBW then?
     
  19. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Does it have a throttle cable? ;)
     
  20. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Never noticed one... so I guess not! Doh!

    But... saying that, the last pic shows a cable underneath the TB - is that not a throttle cable?
     
  21. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    If you look at rallymans last pic, you can see the throttle cable attach to the black plastic cam on the front of the TB then go off under the inlet. It goes thru a little bracket then along beside the fuel rail.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nope... mine's not got one of those! lol
     
  24. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    epc light on dash ? (electronic pedal control)
     
  25. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    how much are the stalks from a main dealer?
     
  26. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dunno... but there's one on eBay for £60.

    I've just managed to find one from a breakers yard for £30... result!

    Just the harness to get now... and someone to 'vagcom' it for me.
     
  27. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will have to go down the scrappy and see if they have any in

    can not see the one on ebay for £60
     
  28. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
  29. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that mate i will see what i can get at the weekend first.
     
  30. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've fitted one in the Bora and it's not that difficult. mind you that isn't DBW.
    fit stalk, connect harness to ECU and vagcom it!
    works a treat. brought from the main dealers for £65 and it came with full instructions.
    don't see how the A4 will be much different. thinking to get mine done sometime in the summer.
    will have to see if it's DBW or EPC. think the EPC ones are much easier to fit.
     
  31. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    if its a tdi its dbw (drive by wire) think you mean dbc
     
  32. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ordered my stalk... off to order harness now.

    Stalk is about £85 + VAT from dealer (according to VAG CAT)
     
  33. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    So, stalk and harness ordered.

    How long will it take me to fit the harness...?

    I'm assuming that I'll still be able to use the car safely, even if I've not VAGCOM'd the cruise in...? Need to find somewhere/someone that will do it for me...
     
  34. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    allow a couple of hours, fair bit of dismantling and getting to connector for pins is very fiddly

    if you read the guide i posted earlier (its for a passat but wiring is the same) it will give you a good idea
     
  35. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah... just reading that now.

    I thought the harness would be plug&play... not a lot of fiddling with splicing wires into different connecotr blocks!

    I'll bet you a tenner, when I'm done, the car won't even start! lol
     
  36. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    the kufatec harness isnt even colour coded so you have to take extra care
     
  37. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Presumably the kufatac harness is built using genuine wires/connectors? If so it will all be yellow. VAG policy is that all modifications to the wiring harness are done in yellow cable for ease of identification.

    Still its only 4 or 5 wires your connecting up, and i'd imagine all you'd have to remove is the drivers knee bolster and the plenum cover.
     
  38. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    What's the plenum cover...? Is that the ECU cover, but in posh-speak?
     
  39. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Slightly off topic... but what's that large connector circled in red, and all the cabling marked red and green in this pic...? I've got none of that in my engine bay...!

    [​IMG]
     
  40. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Its his LPG kit ;)

    And ye "plenum" is audis posh-speak name for the box that contains the ECU etc.
     
  41. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Aaaaah, that's okay then. I've had the 'plenum' cover off once already to get power down into the foot-well for my amp...

    And the knee bolster has been off more times than I care to remember to fit stereo/hands-free/iPod stuff anyway! lol
     
  42. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Okay chaps... I need some advice.

    My local scrappy has a couple of pre-facelift A4's in... one of which happens to have Cruise Control!

    So what I need to know is, will this pre-facelift CC stalk plug into the harness I've ordered and work with my facelift DBW set-up?

    If not, does anyone want it...? I should be able to get it out without a problem. I went there today, but didn't take any sockets with me so couldn't get steering wheel off to get to the stalk... Fail! (I went there for something else, then saw the CC stalk!)
     

Share This Page