1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise control?

rob v6 Feb 1, 2010

  1. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    I am looking at getting cruise control fitted to the A4 but does any one know if it is possible to do i drive a 2.4 v6 A4 w reg se avant Automatic.

    If it is possible what would i need and where would the best place be to get the parts ie audi part numbers if you have them

    thanks rob
     
  2. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist Team V6 Audi A4 saloon

    3,287
    119
    63
    yep mine is the same as yours in the saloon variant

    got mine done about 7 years ago from an audi specialist for £200, before i knew anything about vag.com before hand its pretty simple as its a DBW (drive by wire) just need to take the old stalk off and replace with cruise and tell the ECU via vag.com that cruise is required, thinks its pretty much much it. havent done this myself but should be along those lines.
     
  3. tazzy baby

    tazzy baby Welsh & Proud

    569
    2
    18
    Hey guys do you know if that can that be done to a 1.8t 1997 fwd a4 avant AEB
     
  4. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    You need to add the loom from the stalk to the ECU, kufatek does it for about 14quid though.
     
  5. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    tazzy: AEB needs quite a bit more work, as its a cable throttle car, You need the vacuum pump, actuator, brake and clutch switches, and the control unit, and you need to make your own wiring harness for it.
     
  6. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    so basically i need to buy the stalk and get a wiring loom to make it work and thats it oh and tell the ecu i have cruise control via vag com.

    what does the wiring loom do and where does it go?
     
  7. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    i take that as a yes then
     
  8. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    who is kufatek
     
  9. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
  10. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    1,089
    13
    38
  11. Rallyman

    Rallyman LPG Abuser & have VAGCOM Bronze Supporter

    213
    5
    18
    If you need any pictures of the OE system I can provide some..... Mine ad it fitted as standard! Its vacuum on a AJL QTS cable throttle.
     
  12. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    if you could mate that would be grate will be trying to get the parts ant the weekend so i can get it fited before i go on holiday
     
  13. Rallyman

    Rallyman LPG Abuser & have VAGCOM Bronze Supporter

    213
    5
    18
    Vacuum dissapears underneath the ABS block, Hope these are some use?!
    Michael
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02
    [​IMG]
    By null at 2010-02-02

    Whooops pics are a bit big..... LOL full of detail!
    Michael
     
  14. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    They wont be any help to him, as his car is drive-by-wire ;)

    Just buy the "TDi" harness and get a stalk from ebay.
     
  15. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Besides an A4 cruise stalk, what other vehicle can I source one from?

    I'm assuming as mine is a facelift 1.8T, it'll be drive-by-wire, so a little easier to install?
     
  16. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    Not all facelift 1.8t's are DBW, but if it IS DBW, then you just need the stalk and the loom to the ECU.

    The stalk in ours is from an A8, same part number etc.
     
  17. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    How can I check if it is actually DBW then?
     
  18. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    Does it have a throttle cable? ;)
     
  19. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Never noticed one... so I guess not! Doh!

    But... saying that, the last pic shows a cable underneath the TB - is that not a throttle cable?
     
  20. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    If you look at rallymans last pic, you can see the throttle cable attach to the black plastic cam on the front of the TB then go off under the inlet. It goes thru a little bracket then along beside the fuel rail.
     
  21. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Nope... mine's not got one of those! lol
     
  22. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    1,089
    13
    38
    epc light on dash ? (electronic pedal control)
     
  23. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    how much are the stalks from a main dealer?
     
  24. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Dunno... but there's one on eBay for £60.

    I've just managed to find one from a breakers yard for £30... result!

    Just the harness to get now... and someone to 'vagcom' it for me.
     
  25. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    I will have to go down the scrappy and see if they have any in

    can not see the one on ebay for £60
     
  26. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
  27. rob v6

    rob v6 Learning the VAG way

    161
    0
    16
    Thanks for that mate i will see what i can get at the weekend first.
     
  28. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    395
    10
    18
    I've fitted one in the Bora and it's not that difficult. mind you that isn't DBW.
    fit stalk, connect harness to ECU and vagcom it!
    works a treat. brought from the main dealers for £65 and it came with full instructions.
    don't see how the A4 will be much different. thinking to get mine done sometime in the summer.
    will have to see if it's DBW or EPC. think the EPC ones are much easier to fit.
     
  29. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    1,089
    13
    38
    if its a tdi its dbw (drive by wire) think you mean dbc
     
  30. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Ordered my stalk... off to order harness now.

    Stalk is about £85 + VAT from dealer (according to VAG CAT)
     
  31. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    So, stalk and harness ordered.

    How long will it take me to fit the harness...?

    I'm assuming that I'll still be able to use the car safely, even if I've not VAGCOM'd the cruise in...? Need to find somewhere/someone that will do it for me...
     
  32. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    1,089
    13
    38
    allow a couple of hours, fair bit of dismantling and getting to connector for pins is very fiddly

    if you read the guide i posted earlier (its for a passat but wiring is the same) it will give you a good idea
     
  33. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Yeah... just reading that now.

    I thought the harness would be plug&play... not a lot of fiddling with splicing wires into different connecotr blocks!

    I'll bet you a tenner, when I'm done, the car won't even start! lol
     
  34. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    1,089
    13
    38
    the kufatec harness isnt even colour coded so you have to take extra care
     
  35. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    Presumably the kufatac harness is built using genuine wires/connectors? If so it will all be yellow. VAG policy is that all modifications to the wiring harness are done in yellow cable for ease of identification.

    Still its only 4 or 5 wires your connecting up, and i'd imagine all you'd have to remove is the drivers knee bolster and the plenum cover.
     
  36. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    What's the plenum cover...? Is that the ECU cover, but in posh-speak?
     
  37. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Slightly off topic... but what's that large connector circled in red, and all the cabling marked red and green in this pic...? I've got none of that in my engine bay...!

    [​IMG]
     
  38. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    18,139
    765
    113
    Its his LPG kit ;)

    And ye "plenum" is audis posh-speak name for the box that contains the ECU etc.
     
  39. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Aaaaah, that's okay then. I've had the 'plenum' cover off once already to get power down into the foot-well for my amp...

    And the knee bolster has been off more times than I care to remember to fit stereo/hands-free/iPod stuff anyway! lol
     
  40. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    1,318
    5
    36
    Okay chaps... I need some advice.

    My local scrappy has a couple of pre-facelift A4's in... one of which happens to have Cruise Control!

    So what I need to know is, will this pre-facelift CC stalk plug into the harness I've ordered and work with my facelift DBW set-up?

    If not, does anyone want it...? I should be able to get it out without a problem. I went there today, but didn't take any sockets with me so couldn't get steering wheel off to get to the stalk... Fail! (I went there for something else, then saw the CC stalk!)
     

Share This Page