1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise control

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by rossbrownlee, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    hello all.

    I have retrofitted CC and have activated it successfully and tested it, all is working okay.
    However, there is no light on the cluster to say that CC is active. Do ineed to do anything else to get a light on? I thought that the EPC light came on when cruise was on?

    Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. Mpathe
    Offline

    Mpathe 1st gear

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    i had my cc fitted at awesome gti and mine doesnt bring a light on when its active, but maybe does it from factory.
    #2
  4. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    thats reassuring that you also don't get an indication.
    Cheers.
    #3
  5. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 15, 2009]
    Hi Ross,

    I'm interested in doing this mod but have no idea how difficult/easy it is? what are the costs? and where did you source the parts from?
    Would be greatful for some info.
    #4
  6. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2009]
    Hi,
    I got the kit from ebay, it was about 75 quid delivered, the ebay company i think is vwteesside, http://vwgolfr32.co.uk/shop/Retrofit-Cruise-Control.htm is the link for it, you can also find the fitting guide on this page near the bottom.

    As for fitting the kit, it is not too difficult, the hardest bit for me was disconnecting the ecu plug, i have never done that bit before but luckily i know an audi tech who helped me out.

    Basically it is mostly running wires into connectors, however you do need a special bit to remove the steering wheel from the column, i think it is called a XZN socket or bit, it is splined but not the same as torx etc, i got a set from the local autosave for a few quid.
    #5
  7. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2009]
    Actually the only bit that was any hassle at all was working out which of the various options in the instructions for wiring into the ecu plug was for my engine code (the manual is for VWs and didn't have the APY engine code in).

    All I did for that was looked at each option in turn and counted out the pins on the ecu connector. out of the four or five options it gives you, only one of them had all the terminals available (i.e. didn't have a wire already in each of the terminals).

    Oh and coding it is easy if you have VCDS. However, on mine it was a subtle change on the engine block 01, there is a line called "Component" and the only difference between cruise being activated or not activated is there is a letter 'G' when it is activated.

    I missed this and activated it about 3 times!!
    #6
  8. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2009]
    #7
  9. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 16, 2009]
    Hi Ross,

    Thanks for the Link and info. I don't think this stalk is compatible with an A4 2.5 TDI. £75 is lot more cheaper than the £225 I was quoted for a fitted retrofit CC stalk.
    #8
  10. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2009]
    okay mate,
    what year is your car?
    I have read and been told that the Tdi will have the wiring already fitted so might be worth emailing some companies that supply retrofit equipment and asking, it may be that you only need the stalk and activation in your car.
    #9
  11. sebhar70
    Offline

    sebhar70 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2009]
    hi Ross,

    I'm driving a 2002 B6 A4, I will check out some companies through google, have you got any links I could check?

    Seb
    #10

Share This Page