1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cruise control

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by tangerinedream, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. tangerinedream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all i want to have cruise control but dont want to pay awsome gti or anyone else over 200 quid

    is there a way to source the parts needed ( stalk etc )#
    and to get a guide how to do it??

    rconn you must know :)
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,217
    Likes Received:
    510
    there was a very good write-up in this section do a quick search.
     
  4. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,153
    Likes Received:
    447
    What car is it, diesels are easy, as they are DBW, most everything else needs a collection of parts to complete
     
  5. RobMorris

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    10
    Im interested in this also for mine..
     
  6. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    Do search, I did a howto on it and so did someone else.
    Diesels are easy, like Aragorn said, due to their drive by wire.
     
  7. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've just got the DBW cruise cable from Kufatek.

    I already had the stalk (A8) for my old 1.8T... so maybe on Sunday I'll get it fitted.

    Later 1.8T's and S4's are DBW, so it's just a case of replacing the stalk and wiring it in.
     
  8. tangerinedream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine is 1.8t but is aeb so drive by wire any one got part no. needed and link to write up, thanks
     
  9. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    1,101
  10. tangerinedream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks mate just need part numbers now :)

    i swear ive seen an easeier write up thou ???
     
    #9 tangerinedream, Sep 14, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  11. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    9
    t/dream your car will be dbc, aragorn managed it on dbc but part list is a lot more than stalk and harness


    any one with dbw ive got a stalk and harness for sale, open to offers
     
  12. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,153
    Likes Received:
    447
    Let me know what you are looking at mate.
     
  13. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    There is.
    Mine is different cause I used a stalk from a A6/A8 I think.
    It says it all in the thread, I think. lol
     
  14. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    My mate Ben used an A8 stalk (as I gave it to him) on his S4 and it was straight plug & play.

    Mine's the exact same stalk, so I'm hoping mine will be as simple too.
     
  15. PAULF

    PAULF Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    66
  16. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,153
    Likes Received:
    447
    aeb isn't dbw it's a cable throttle . only apu and anb are dbw iirc
     
  17. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,549
    Likes Received:
    640
    I made my own wiring harness for the cruise on the AEB.

    AEB cruise has a vacuum pump under the bonnet, a vacuum capsule and linkage attached to the throttle body, vacuum hose running from the pump to the capsule and also inside the car to vacuum switches on the pedals. There is also an ECU that sits above the glove box, and its connected to the brakes and various other circuits in the car.

    Its quite involved, and not something i'd suggest you take on unless you know your way around a wiring diagram. I had considered making up the looms for people, but you need connectors for various parts of the system and these get silly money buying new. I got the connectors supplied with the various components by the breakers yards i got the parts for, which is fine for DIYing the whole thing on one car, but not ideal if your wanting to supply the looms.
     
  18. tangerinedream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah okay lol would awsome gti attemp it or is it that difficult its best not to bother?
     
  19. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,153
    Likes Received:
    447
    I wouln't expect them to do it tbh. if they did parts could easily cost £200 used plus labour to fit etc.

    It's deffo worthwhile if you are handy at wiring etc yourself, otherwise not worth it
     
  20. tangerinedream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    unfortunetley not :( unless someone wants to help :p
     
  21. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    ********!

    I was informed that the 'extra' wire on the Kufatec loom was an earth... not a power lead. No wonder mine's not working. Will have to undo it from the earthing point and fix it to a power point in the fuse box.

    Doh!
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Done. Working. Happy. :icon_thumright:
     
  24. gary3306

    gary3306 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    39
    Result! :sm4:
     

Share This Page