1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cruise control

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by tangerinedream, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    hi all i want to have cruise control but dont want to pay awsome gti or anyone else over 200 quid

    is there a way to source the parts needed ( stalk etc )#
    and to get a guide how to do it??

    rconn you must know :)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    there was a very good write-up in this section do a quick search.
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    What car is it, diesels are easy, as they are DBW, most everything else needs a collection of parts to complete
    #3
  5. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    Im interested in this also for mine..
    #4
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    Do search, I did a howto on it and so did someone else.
    Diesels are easy, like Aragorn said, due to their drive by wire.
    #5
  7. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    I've just got the DBW cruise cable from Kufatek.

    I already had the stalk (A8) for my old 1.8T... so maybe on Sunday I'll get it fitted.

    Later 1.8T's and S4's are DBW, so it's just a case of replacing the stalk and wiring it in.
    #6
  8. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    mine is 1.8t but is aeb so drive by wire any one got part no. needed and link to write up, thanks
    #7
  9. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
  10. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    thanks mate just need part numbers now :)

    i swear ive seen an easeier write up thou ???
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
    #9
  11. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    t/dream your car will be dbc, aragorn managed it on dbc but part list is a lot more than stalk and harness


    any one with dbw ive got a stalk and harness for sale, open to offers
    #10
  12. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    Let me know what you are looking at mate.
    #11
  13. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,231
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    [Sep 14, 2011]
    There is.
    Mine is different cause I used a stalk from a A6/A8 I think.
    It says it all in the thread, I think. lol
    #12
  14. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    My mate Ben used an A8 stalk (as I gave it to him) on his S4 and it was straight plug & play.

    Mine's the exact same stalk, so I'm hoping mine will be as simple too.
    #13
  15. PAULF
    Offline

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    #14
  16. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    aeb isn't dbw it's a cable throttle . only apu and anb are dbw iirc
    #15
  17. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,871
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    I made my own wiring harness for the cruise on the AEB.

    AEB cruise has a vacuum pump under the bonnet, a vacuum capsule and linkage attached to the throttle body, vacuum hose running from the pump to the capsule and also inside the car to vacuum switches on the pedals. There is also an ECU that sits above the glove box, and its connected to the brakes and various other circuits in the car.

    Its quite involved, and not something i'd suggest you take on unless you know your way around a wiring diagram. I had considered making up the looms for people, but you need connectors for various parts of the system and these get silly money buying new. I got the connectors supplied with the various components by the breakers yards i got the parts for, which is fine for DIYing the whole thing on one car, but not ideal if your wanting to supply the looms.
    #16
  18. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    ah okay lol would awsome gti attemp it or is it that difficult its best not to bother?
    #17
  19. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    I wouln't expect them to do it tbh. if they did parts could easily cost £200 used plus labour to fit etc.

    It's deffo worthwhile if you are handy at wiring etc yourself, otherwise not worth it
    #18
  20. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 15, 2011]
    unfortunetley not :( unless someone wants to help :p
    #19
  21. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 27, 2011]
    ********!

    I was informed that the 'extra' wire on the Kufatec loom was an earth... not a power lead. No wonder mine's not working. Will have to undo it from the earthing point and fix it to a power point in the fuse box.

    Doh!
    #20
  22. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 28, 2011]
    Done. Working. Happy. :icon_thumright:
    #21
  23. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Sep 28, 2011]
    Result! :sm4:
    #22

Share This Page