1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise Control Retrofit Guide

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Avus Sportback, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. L333fow

    L333fow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeh yeh, it's just she won't take time to listen on how to use it and that's it's much better/easier for cameras
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. alexi77

    alexi77 Old bloke with too much time on his hands.

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just had a look at your excellent guide, well done and thanks.
     
  4. scottmachine

    scottmachine New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have a 2004 3.2 Quattro with trip computer and am interested in doing this mod, would I need the wire? Thanks in advance.

    Scott
     
  5. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes i would imagine as i fitted cruise to my 2004 TDI Sport with a trip computer and it needed the wire but dont be put off its relativly easy to be honest, worth every penney too!
     
  6. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Hi Scott,

    do you have the 3 door or sportback?
    If sportback, then no, you do not need to install the wire as it will already be there.
     
  7. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    83
    Correct ! :icon_thumright:
     
  8. scottmachine

    scottmachine New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    3 Door, so I'll be having to run the wire. Thanks for the quick replies. I'll post some pictures up once I've given her a good clean.
     
  9. alexi77

    alexi77 Old bloke with too much time on his hands.

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi, I have someone coming to fit cruise to my sons car tomorrow, a 3.2 quattro, and he says he is 99% sure it will need an extra module as well. I will let everyone know.
     
  10. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    If it is the single grille 8p2 model (which on the 3.2 started late 2005 iirc) then no, no need for the wire. But if it is the split grill as Scott has, then yes, it will need the wire running.

    Also as a basic rule, if your car has a trip computer at least, then no new module is require, although the earlier A3's with the 1K0 module, you will find the cruise works differently(slightly).
    But if you have the 1K0 (AH) module, cruise will work as expected.

    Scott, if in London, I can do the install for you, as have done for many here and elsewhere. I will also supply all parts.

    Cheers
     
  11. nick9one1

    nick9one1 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd be interested to hear how the cruise works differently on the 1K0 module.

    I've retrofitted to mine, and I can get cruise working if i pull the stalk towards me and flick up or down. but the resume button doesnt work?
    I assumed i needed to install the wire?
     
  12. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Hi Nick,

    you just answered your own question mate.
    That is how the cruise works on all the 1K0 modules except the one ending with "AH" which will work in the correct manner as per stalk instructions.
    After the 1K0 modules they all changed to 8P0 modules which cruise acts in the correct manner. So basically what I am saying is the AH of the old 1K0 module is the only one that works in the correct way as the 8P0 module.

    Also, the fact your cruise works one way or another means you already have the wire in place.

    Hope that all makes sense fella?
     
  13. nick9one1

    nick9one1 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
  14. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    No mate, that Moduke is for 8P3 models late 2008 onwards. That is only used for steering columns without the steering angle sensor.
    You need, 8P0953549F which will also allow the retrofit of MFSW.

    This is all of course if you have the big shield airbag style wheel.
     
  15. alexi77

    alexi77 Old bloke with too much time on his hands.

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks fellas lots of useful info.
     
  16. nick9one1

    nick9one1 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, another question!

    I've got the option of buying this... $(KGrHqV,!jME+s(zLvWhBQVhoTmS)g~~60_12.JPG $(KGrHqF,!o8F!YCD3ssIBQVhoL4F-!~~60_12.JPG for the sum of £35 !

    How likely is it to have the right ecu/slip-ring? Its from 2008. And Danny, yes I do have the sheild type wheel (the airbig will hopefully fit this one).
     
  17. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    83
    That wheel is from an A4 - your airbag will not fit. However, the slip ring is likely to be ok.
     
  18. nick9one1

    nick9one1 Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    are you sure? the seller told me its from an A3?
     
  19. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    83
    Take a pic of your wheel without the airbag and I will confirm.

    At the moment all I can say is I bought one like that for my 2006 sportback and the airbag did not fit. Turned out to be an A4 wheel !
     
  20. alexi77

    alexi77 Old bloke with too much time on his hands.

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    Send a PM to NHN there is nothing he does not know about Audi's
     
  21. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    That looks like an A3 one, but its difficult to be 100% sure, but as its upside down, the column is anyway, without a bigger pic cant be 100%.

    Don't know if it will be the facelift steering module fitted tbh.
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    That looks like an A3 one, but its difficult to be 100% sure, but as its upside down, the column is anyway, without a bigger pic cant be 100%.

    Don't know if it will be the facelift steering module fitted tbh.
     
  24. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Have to disagree with you on this one mate, the airbag fitment is different, but the give away to me is if you look closely at the steering column handle adjuster, it is infact the one from the A4/B8 and A5. You can tell by the curve on it. The A3 ones are flat which unscrew.
     
  25. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Ah, I just zoomed in lol, yeap Danny's right, about that one :)
     
  26. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    But if it was the A3 one (which we know it isn't) then it would have had the correct module. If you look at the indicator stalk and the pattern for the high beam, it is of the pre 2009 which then became a sprung loaded one, and the module changed to "K".

    Just call me "eagle eyes" lol!
     
  27. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    The seller is lying!! Don't waste your money fella.
     
  28. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    In my defence, I have had an eye operation few days ago lol.
     
  29. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Not only you good with Audi's but your a pretty good comedian too, lol! :)
     
  30. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    No mate, deadly serious.
     
  31. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    83
    I win !! - Like I said it's an A4 wheel and his 2006 airbag will not fit.

    Sorry to hear about the eye op. nige, hope it's been successful.

    Have another peer at the pic. of the wheel and look for the locating lugs - there aren't any !!
     
  32. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Guess we'll have to call you Patch from now on. Only kidding mate, hope it's not too serious.
     
  33. Moe26

    Moe26 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much does it cost to get CC parts? How about labour if installed by audi?
     
  34. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Where abouts are you mate? I offer a fully fit and supply in and around London. PM if interested. If London is too far there are other users such as Nigel (NHN) who will travel all over.
     
  35. Moe26

    Moe26 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im from luton so very close to you. Tried messaging you but

    "The following errors occurred with your submissionDannykn9 has exceeded their stored private messages quota and cannot accept further messages until they clear some space.
    "
     
  36. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Give me 5 mate, I'll send you a PM and clear my inbox.
     
  37. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    Have PM'd you mate.
     
  38. kai hunterwood

    kai hunterwood New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello mike,

    i have a 56-2007 a3 2.0 tdi sline with trip computer. Do i need to worry about installing this repair wire?
     
  39. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    116
    Nope.
     
  40. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    No you should be fine.
     
  41. kai hunterwood

    kai hunterwood New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok cheers guys for the quick reply
     
  42. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    83
    Sorry I couldn't get back before now but you've got your answer from the experts !
     

Share This Page