1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise Control Problem, just not having any luck with this car at al

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by zollybosher, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. zollybosher
    Offline

    zollybosher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, Yesterday everything fine do a lot of motorway miles and use the CC quite often. It was fine yesterday but when I came to use it today nothing,yada zilch! checked that it wasn't in the off postion and then after getting home took the car out on the motorway again, still nothing dead as a dodo.
    So question is, does this just need recoding or is their something more sinister a foot, that is going to cost me?
    #1
  2. A4_MaJiK
    Offline

    A4_MaJiK Azeem

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    96
    Could well be something which the cruise control system uses, like a brake pedal switch or clutch pedal switch perhaps? Get the car scanned using VCDS and it may well give you a clue as to where your problem is. Does the cruise light come up on the dash or not?
    #2
  3. zollybosher
    Offline

    zollybosher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the reply No no light at all which is what gave it away in the first place as soon as I press the stalk to set the speed the light normaly appears but this time not a sausage..... dont have a good feeling about this...
    #3
  4. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,743
    Likes Received:
    495
    its prob gona be the
    clutch or brake switch
    #4
  5. zollybosher
    Offline

    zollybosher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ok, that means a lot to me :-( what is it, and how much am I looking at to get it fixed....?
    #5
  6. Wrath
    Offline

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    39
    I bought a new clutch switch the other week and it was around 15 quid. Remove three bolts in the panel underneath the steering wheel, one each side of the panel and one on the side (remove the fuse box panel). Above the clutch is a white switch, around 10cm long. Disconnect the cable, twist the switch and pull out. Get the new switch, push the clutch down, hold the new switch ready in position, bring the clutch back up, twist the switch till is locks in position and then reconnect the cable.
    #6
  7. SL11CKK
    Offline

    SL11CKK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    29
    If u have VCDS u can easily see if there is signal on the clutch/brake switch. Also allows you to check if the button on cruise control stalk is receiving signal.....
    #7
  8. Wrath
    Offline

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    39
    Strangely enough VCDS didn't show any issues with mine.
    #8
  9. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    Will most likely be the Clutch Switch.

    Though as Wrath said, Ive had clutch switches work as they should through VCDS and then upon replacing it the CC works as it should..
    #9
  10. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    +1

    My CC had stopped working, but VCDS showed no fault codes - changed the clutch switch (took less than 15 minutes) and all is OK now.
    #10
  11. mechanic69
    Offline

    mechanic69 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    132
    I have similar problem with a retrofit cruise. Not knowing when the green light should come on is it when you turn cruise on or when you set the speed?
    #11
  12. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    As soon as you activate it, ie press the button at your desired speed.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
    #12
  13. Av4nt
    Online

    Av4nt Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    205
    Mine failed to work. Audi said it needed a new clutch pedal switch as it was not working properly thus making the car think the clutch was continuously engaged. That will stop the CC working. However, I did not have it fixed as audi wanted £15 for the part and £135 labour LMAO. Ill leave it not working...
    #13
  14. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    Buy the switch and Fix it yourself its easy to do.
    #14
  15. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    +1

    Did mine 2 weeks ago - took 5 minutes to get the trim off, 1 minute to do the clutch switch replacement, and 5 minutes to put the trim back on.

    £135 for less than 15 minutes labour is a total rip-off.
    #15
  16. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    Cruise stalk in off position - symbol off
    Cruise stalk in on position but cruise inactive - symbol off
    Cruise stalk in on position and cruise in use - symbol on

    The green symbol on the DIS comes on when you set the speed, it's on to show you that the speed is being controlled.
    #16
  17. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    That's what I meant (amended my post to be more clear) forgotten about the forward/back /on/off as I never turn it completely off.
    #17
  18. mechanic69
    Offline

    mechanic69 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    132
    cheers
    #18
  19. zollybosher
    Offline

    zollybosher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the update peeps - Could you or anyone supply a link or instructions on how to fix this.. already sorted me B/T thanks to this forum so Im game for anything at the mo....
    #19
  20. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    Not got a link to hand, the cover underneath the steering column it held on by three bolts, 2 are underneath either side of the steering wheel, the third is behind the fuse cover, (open the drivers door its at the end of the dash)
    The cover will drop you have to pull it gently towards you from the drivers seat as it clipped in where it's splits from the top half, be careful of the obd connector it will still be attached, I get this cover of in less than 2 minutes now as I've done it so many times its is very easy . Once this is out the way the clutch switch is easy visible and easy to change.
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
    #20
  21. Wrath
    Offline

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just to add, once the cover is off, get your head in the footwell and you will see a white switch with a rectangular plug in it where the clutch pedal sits at the top. This is the cruise control switch. Unplug the connector, twist and pull out.
    #21
  22. vroomtshh
    Offline

    vroomtshh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    46
    Does anyone know if pressing the set button will alter a value when you log channel 066 with VCDS?

    My cruise isn;t working, but clutch switch, brake switch and the on/off part of the cruise switch are working. Only thing that didn;t seem to do anything was the SET button but I'm not sure if its supposed to or not
    #22
  23. zollybosher
    Offline

    zollybosher Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the information both of you. Thing is I forgot to ask DOH! What is the part number and roughly how much should I be paying? (I am lucky in that there is a main parts shop near me..
    #23
  24. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes the values should change in measuring blocks when pressing the clutch, this indicates the switch is working, check the brake switch aswell.


    Clutch switch part number 7H0927189 about £15 from dealer ( someone on here payed £14 last November)
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
    #24
  25. vroomtshh
    Offline

    vroomtshh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    46

    Yes I have, but does the SET switch alter the value
    #25
  26. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    Are you doing this whilst not moving as cruise control will not work anyway so nothing will be measured, not sure if the values change when you are moving and the cruise button is pressed.
    #26
  27. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    hi mate, not sure if you sorted this yet as it is 3 weeks on?
    Using VCDS, go to steering module 16, measuring block 004, and then if you press the SET button, it should read. You should also be able to check the resume, speed up and speed down.
    Car does not need to be on, only ignition, all this is doing is checking the cruise stalk is functioning correctly.
    #27
  28. vroomtshh
    Offline

    vroomtshh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    46
    cheers. I found that eventually and all is good. Still haven't fixed my cruise tho
    #28
  29. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    Have you changed your clutch switch mate. As already stated, although seems fine in VCDS, it can cure the problem. For the sake of £15, no harm can be done trying.

    It is well documented around the net that the B6/B7 are prone to faulty clutch switches, which Audi recognised this and therefor have a revised part number.

    5 min job to do. No mechanical experience needed.
    #29
  30. vroomtshh
    Offline

    vroomtshh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yes, and the brake switch, and the cruise control stalk, even though VCDS suggested they were all working
    #30
  31. Wrath
    Offline

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just a suggestion, the first time I swapped the clutch switch it didn't work and then found out if I kept pressing the set button and kept my foot slightly on the clutch it would work. If I lifted my foot of the switch it didn't. I found out if you don't install it right then it won't work.
    #31
  32. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    You could also bypass the clutch switch completely... cut the two wires and join them together, ignoring the clutch switch. Also means that you'll be allowed to change gear without knocking the Cruise off with the clutch.
    #32
  33. vroomtshh
    Offline

    vroomtshh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    46
    The clutch switch isn't my problem unfortunately. I believe it's a speed sensor but I've given up trying to fix it for a while. I never use cruise anyway
    #33

Share This Page