1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise control on a 98' what do you know?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by doeboy, May 14, 2006.

  1. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 14, 2006]
    I've read a thread in tech forum if I remember, to cut a long story short someone was saying 98' or the "older" models didn't have it as an option and that they were a mechanical retro kit that are not a good as factory fitted.

    This might explain why my cruise stick is in German and why touching the brake doesn't disengage it, rather you turn it to "Aus" on the stick itself. It's also not listed as an option code in my service book, while everything else is.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Ring Commander
    Offline

    Ring Commander New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2006]
    If You've got an A4 diesel you can retro-fit the factory cruise control kit which will work excatly like it was fitted from new, if its a petrol engine then you wont be able. Hope this helps.
    #2
  4. GSB1
    Offline

    GSB1 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 22, 2006]
    I had cruise retro fitted to my '98 S4 no problem - original stalk etc.
    #3
  5. Beerzo
    Offline

    Beerzo Masa'warty 3200... Talk To Me!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 22, 2006]
    Anyone know how this is fitted. I know old vectras you only needed to by the stalk at 30-40 notes and attach it as the loom in the vectras were all the same, so it was all there just ready to be connected.

    It take it, its not that simple in A4's case.
    #4
  6. whisky180
    Offline

    whisky180 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 22, 2006]
    gsb1, how much did the cruise control cost you? regards tony
    #5
  7. GSB1
    Offline

    GSB1 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 23, 2006]
    I did a deal when I bought my car from Fontain.

    I believe the likes of Fontain, Crofts, AmD etc all charge about £350+vat!

    I think parts are about £60, there is some Vagcom coding involved I think and a moderate amount of labour to dissasemble the steering coloumn trim etc.

    Not sure on the A4 if it is all pre-wired or not. I know reading up on my MKIV Golf that a small cable run is required too.

    I have seen instruction on how to do this DIY, but if you can pay around the £300 mark, it saves a lot of hassle!
    #6
  8. whisky180
    Offline

    whisky180 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 23, 2006]
    nice one, thanks
    #7

Share This Page