1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise control not working

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by BILKO1, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. BILKO1
    Offline

    BILKO1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Guys have you any ideas how to fault find the cruise control on my A4. It was factory fitted not retro, is there anyway of testing the switch and clutch switch with VCDS. I've done a full autoscan with VCDS but no cruise faults showing i have also tried sending login code 11463 to the engine ecu to activate the cruise control but this made no difference.
    #1
  2. Garfie
    Offline

    Garfie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    What was the initial coding before you changed it? Have you checked to see if that is the correct one for your car with cruise control fitted?

    Also, has the cruise ever worked since you have owned the car?

    Another thing to check will be to see if there is a fuse for it that may have blown.
    #2
  3. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... .

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    Clutch pedal switch problems will show up under VCDS under the Engine ECU.

    My mate had a problem on his 3.0Q and the Cruise would not switch on and the VCDS gave this....
    Address 01: Engine Labels: 06C-909-559-ASN.lbl
    Part No SW: 8E0 909 559 H HW: 8E0 909 059
    Component: 3.0L V6/5V G 0003
    Coding: 0011711
    Shop #: WSC 63351 000 00000

    1 Faults Found:

    17947 - Clutch Pedal Switch (F36): Implausible Signal
    P1539 - 004 - No Signal/Communication
    Readiness: 0110 0001
    Switch was not working, replaced it for around £12 - all sorted.
    #3
  4. BILKO1
    Offline

    BILKO1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    I never changed any coding just login 11463 to activate cruise in the engine ecu. There are no fault in Vcds and all fuses are fine. I used a Snap on Modis to check clutch switch operation and that is fine. There must be a way of testing the cruise control stalk but i can't find anything on Vcds / Snap on and Bosch kts :(
    #4
  5. blackpool1974
    Offline

    blackpool1974 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try measuring blocks on VCDS for instruments
    #5
  6. BILKO1
    Offline

    BILKO1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Clutch switch replaced and all working fine:) Didn't show up in VCDS or Snap on Modis:(
    #6
  7. shark_90
    Offline

    shark_90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can test the operation of the stalk and clutch/brake switches in the Engine measuring blocks in VCDS. I didn't spot this before otherwise I could have helped you, sorry! Glad you got it sorted.
    #7
  8. BILKO1
    Offline

    BILKO1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found the measuring blocks for the cruise switch but not the clutch switch.
    #8
  9. shark_90
    Offline

    shark_90 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can't remember which block it is and I don't have a 1.9TDi to check on.. it's not in the label file it's just a binary value which changes to 11 with the brake switch operated or 1 with the clutch switch operated. If you still have access to VCDS go and have a play.. I'm sure you'll fine it in the first 20-30 measuring blocks, I just can't remember where.
    #9

Share This Page