1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise control not working

Discussion in 'General Technical / How To' started by gidimille, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. gidimille
    Offline

    gidimille New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys and girls


    My curise control is not working any ideas
    secondly my car did not come with a user manual does any one know where I can download one
    do we have any DIY or idiots guide thingy in this forum
    #1
  2. mikeA2B
    Offline

    mikeA2B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you checked the fuse with the speedometer symbol?
    You may need to have your car checked with vag-com.

    Check out ebay for user manuals.


    HTH

    Mike
    #2
  3. a4sline
    Offline

    a4sline Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did someone say cruise control !!!!
    If it's a B6 and you've got no warning lights coming up, then it's probably the clutch pedal switch (manuals only of course!!)
    If it's not a B6, whatcha got ???
    #3
  4. gidimille
    Offline

    gidimille New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just got my self a 1997 2.8 Quattro
    I found the usermanual it say that nI should have a fuse no 11 although when i checked the fuse box there was no fuse in no 11 and when I tried to put one in I notced that there was no connectors for it .... :~ so I will be taking out the fuse unit tommorrow during day light to see what's going on there will let you know how I got on
    #4
  5. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Without sounding silly, are you sure you have cruise on this vehicle?? As that age car would be Non drive by wire, so that means if its there it's either a retro fit kit or the mechanical/unreliable version
    #5
  6. audi5e
    Offline

    audi5e Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    As that age car would be Non drive by wire, so that means if its there it's either a retro fit kit or the mechanical/unreliable version

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Gee, now us older Audi's are insulted, mechanical/unreliable indeed! :))

    Easy enough to see on the older versions, are there controls on the indicator stalk or not?
    Assuming a previous owner did not simply change the stalk, check under the bonnet for the vacuum unit connecting to the throttle body... if it's there, then make sure all the vacuum pipes are connected and not leaking. On an older car it is more likely to be a worn vacuum hose than electrics. Though, of course, electrics would still need to be checked once the vacuum side is considered to be ok...
    #6
  7. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    [ QUOTE ]
    Gee, now us older Audi's are insulted, mechanical/unreliable indeed! :))



    [/ QUOTE ]

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/angel.gif Don't worry mate,mine would have the same lovely mechanical sysytem on it, had it been fitted

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #7
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    You have to cross check the manual reference with the lid on the fusebox. The manual is generic, and doesn't have all the fuses in the righ place. The lid should be correct for the location.
    #8
  9. gidimille
    Offline

    gidimille New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. gidimille
    Offline

    gidimille New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    so far this is what i found

    I found my user manual under the steering ... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

    I have read it it says something about a fuse 11 I checked out the fuse box there was no fuse in slot 11 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    when had a closer look at it I noticed that the fuse contacts were not even in slot 11....... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/burningmad.gif

    So I thought probably the contact were loose and have fallen out of the back so I ripped out the under cover fro the steering rack and ripped out the fuse unit there was no hanging wire at the back /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/noidea.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/noidea.gif
    No I really do have no /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/noidea.gif
    help
    #10
  11. gidimille
    Offline

    gidimille New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    As that age car would be Non drive by wire, so that means if its there it's either a retro fit kit or the mechanical/unreliable version

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Gee, now us older Audi's are insulted, mechanical/unreliable indeed! :))

    Easy enough to see on the older versions, are there controls on the indicator stalk or not?
    Assuming a previous owner did not simply change the stalk, check under the bonnet for the vacuum unit connecting to the throttle body... if it's there, then make sure all the vacuum pipes are connected and not leaking. On an older car it is more likely to be a worn vacuum hose than electrics. Though, of course, electrics would still need to be checked once the vacuum side is considered to be ok...

    [/ QUOTE ]




    On the indicator it has got the cruise control switches
    about the vaccum unit connecting to the throttle body what does this look like

    Does any one have a 1997 2.8 quattro that has cruise control ????
    the instrument level on the car is quite advance
    [ QUOTE ]
    Without sounding silly, are you sure you have cruise on this vehicle?? As that age car would be Non drive by wire, so that means if its there it's either a retro fit kit or the mechanical/unreliable version

    [/ QUOTE ]

    and I did have a 1996 prelude which is a crappy jap car which had the full works.....
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #11
  12. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    I haven't even got electric rear windows on my 97 2.8Q!
    #12

Share This Page