1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise control and DIS

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by h5djr, May 11, 2009.

  1. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    584
    [May 11, 2009]
    Having been away for a few days to Yorkshire, I used the cruise control on my new 2009 Sportback yesterday for the first time. I was going through some roadworks on the A1 with a 50mph speed limit and the usual Average Speed Cameras so I set my cruise control to 50. I was surprised to see a symbol and my set speed come up on the DIS where the outside temperature is normally displayed. The temperature was moved up above the top line and shown in smaller lettering. This was as well as the small symbol in the speedo.

    What's more this display of the cruise symbol and the set speed stayed on the DIS even though the cruise was no longer set as I had to use the brakes. Only when I moved the cruise control stork away from the steering wheel did it change back to the temperature.

    This is different to my previous A3 and quite good I thought because it does immediately tell you what your cruise control setting is, should you need it again.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. mhill
    Offline

    mhill Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2009]
    Its bloody clevor, this is the first car ive had with cruise and the amount i use it i wouldnt be without it now.
    #2
  4. Igdos
    Offline

    Igdos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 11, 2009]
    Have you noticed that you can increase or decrease the speed in five mph increments if you hold the stick in the up/down position for a couple of seconds....handy as well.
    #3
  5. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,580
    Likes Received:
    584
    [May 11, 2009]
    Yes and if you just click it up and don't hold it there it will increase by 1mph at a time. I used that function quite often on my previous A3 to get the setting to exactly what I wanted.
    #4
  6. a3motion
    Offline

    a3motion audi a3 s line 2009 model

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2009]
    it still engages even when you change gears
    #5
  7. Igdos
    Offline

    Igdos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 11, 2009]
    Also like the way if it's raining - front wipers on - and reverse is selected the rear wiper clears the screen automatically :o.k: a nice touch.
    #6
  8. A3ben
    Offline

    A3ben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2009]
    Correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure cruise control is done in km not mph.

    i couldn't live without cruise control ether, going through average speed cameras is alot safer because you can look at the road and not worry about going over the speed limit.
    #7
  9. mhill
    Offline

    mhill Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2009]
    I find it a bit strange when you set speed to 60-70MPH and go up the gears and it takes a moment to kick back in with the throttle.
    #8
  10. Igdos
    Offline

    Igdos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 11, 2009]
    I correct you ;)

    Unless yours is an Irish or Euro version that is.
    #9
  11. A3ben
    Offline

    A3ben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2009]
    fair enough. lol why is it then that when i set it to 60 and click the control 10 times up it never goes to 70??
    Your going to say it is my wheel size but it was doing it before i put them on. :)
    #10
  12. Igdos
    Offline

    Igdos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 11, 2009]
    Not sure for that one buddy - will check this again next time I'm out but 99% certain that doesn't happen on mine. Anyone else noticed that?
    #11

Share This Page