1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise Control again... Sorry!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by rossbrownlee, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 9, 2009]
    Hi two questions which I hope are fairly simple...
    My engine is an APY on a 1999/2000 V Reg S3.

    1- Can I retrofit Cruise onto this?
    2- If so, would I need the 80- or 120- pole ECU harness? How can I tell?

    Many Thanks.
    Ross.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,298
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    [Oct 9, 2009]
    1 - If its drive by wire then yes
    2 - Compare the ECU plugs with those of the ones in the diagram. I suspect it will be 120 pole

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,721
    Likes Received:
    312
    [Oct 9, 2009]
    Also if you search you will find all the part numbers and how to's you could ever need. In fact IIRC Awsome GTi are fitting them and supplying them for £100 plus Vat
    #3
  5. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2009]
    cheers guys.
    I reckon it is 'driveby wire' as you said as the throttle body doesn't appear to have any cable only an electrical connector.

    as for the ECU harness and the 80 or 120 pole that was really my big question, is there a way to tell other than splitting the connector and looking?
    #4

Share This Page