1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cruise activation problem

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by foursprungdugtechnique, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. foursprungdugtechnique
    Offline

    foursprungdugtechnique Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    Can't get my cruise to actually 'work'.
    I have fitted the cruise switch and loom, done the 11463 code in VCDS, checked measuring blocks, all showing as working, cruise showing as activated in VCDS, also just to make sure deactivated cruise (16167 code) and it deactivated showing 255 where it should if no cruise on car.
    It has been reactivated again, but when I press 'set' it doesn't set.... Doing my head in now, any clues? What am I missing?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    You need to look at the stalk outputs in VCDS, its probably bad contacts in the switch.
    #2
  4. foursprungdugtechnique
    Offline

    foursprungdugtechnique Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    I did check the stalk outputs, they all give a 1 when pressed, the only thing (I was driving) I didn't notice was the 1 for the latching which would be a 1 second from the right
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    What i found with my stalk, was that moving it from the "on" to "set" position flipped the "set" bit as expect, but the "on" bit would flicker.

    If you were very gentle with it it would mostly work.

    What i also found was that if you released it a bit too sharply, when it snapped back to the "on" position it would flick to "off" momentarily, which cancels the cruise.

    my brother had an issue with his S4 where it wouldnt work at all. After i hooked up vagcom and went for a run i noticed the clutch switch was showing the clutch was depressed. I looked down and his foots sat resting on the clutch pedal. Faulty brake light switch can also cause it.
    #4
  6. foursprungdugtechnique
    Offline

    foursprungdugtechnique Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    I've heard about that problem with stalk contacts, it didn't seem to be flickering tho. I could try another stalk.
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    have you checked the clutch and brake outputs in VCDS and ensured they're sensible?

    I think its on the same screen as the stalk.
    #6
  8. foursprungdugtechnique
    Offline

    foursprungdugtechnique Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    Yeah, brake and clutch outputs are correct too. I got my mate at Audi to send me a .pdf of their instructions, and the checks. Can't post it on here, I'll try taking screenshots see if that works. He also said the ECU can be stubborn to take the codes and work, but we were at it for a while yesterday.
    #7
  9. foursprungdugtechnique
    Offline

    foursprungdugtechnique Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    22
  10. foursprungdugtechnique
    Offline

    foursprungdugtechnique Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    There's loads more, just checking what the quality is like, it's from ElsaPro
    #9

Share This Page