1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating an Aux input for stereo

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by everfresh, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. everfresh
    Offline

    everfresh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 6, 2010]
    Could anyone give me some details on exactly what to do to install an aux input for an '06 A3? Don't think I can live without one, simply because I use my 3GS for everything from music to nav using MotionX and of course making and taking calls.... or am I better off installing a new system altogether?

    At the very least, does someone know the pinout to the A3 stereo, or if it even exists??
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 6, 2010]
    What head unit you got?
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jul 6, 2010]
    xcarlink is the cheapest option:
    http://www.xcarlink.co.uk/bmy_search.php?brand=AUDI&model=A3&Year=2006

    You can't just plug a wiring adapter in as the only inputs to any Audi HU (apart fom the newest ones) are via the CD changer port, and the HU needs to recognise a changer is connected for it to appear as an available source. To do this you need some electronics to fool the HU into thinking a changer is connected, which is what the above unit does.
    #3
  5. everfresh
    Offline

    everfresh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    #4
  6. everfresh
    Offline

    everfresh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    #5
  7. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    if your car doesn't have phone prep that's not the right thing for you. also that's only for the phone functionality, not for the iPod functionality.

    the newer cars have an aux-in in the centre console, in the little rubber thing behind the cigarette lighter/12V socket. ppl have retrofitted it, but that's something you'll have to search for because i don't have a link and i don't know how to do it myself.

    your other option is getting BT and iPod integration retrofitted, which can be done. you need an MFSW for that though. i was about to post you some links until i realised you don't live in the UK.

    personally i'm thinknig of fitting one of these: http://www.2point5.com/

    however you still won't be able to use your phone through the car's systems. i'd suggest maybe compromising and getting a bluetooth hands free earpiece if cost is an issue, otherwise retrofit bluetooth and that dock ^^^ using one of Audi's iPod integration kits.

    good luck!
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    Well if you ever want to go the whole hog for the audi rns-e sat nav, BT, aux-in etc let me know as I can install.
    #7
  9. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    NHN - don't forget he's in Canada !! Are you planning a trip ? :)
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    Oops lmfao, oh well feck it, if he makes it worthwhile I'll fly there & do it lol.
    #9
  11. themikeyboosh
    Offline

    themikeyboosh Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    I've literally just installed a connects2 CTVADX001 in my 53 A3 with the same head unit as you. You may need the CTVADX002 depends on if you've got the newer stereo. Anyway it only cost about £30 and took 5 mins to install. You will lose your cd changer if you have one but shouldn't be a problem since you'll be playing music thtough your phone. Having said that you may want to get a proper iphone interface so then it will charge your phone as well.
    #10

Share This Page