1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creamy under oil filler cap?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by imported_dpo, Oct 26, 2004.

1. imported_dpo

imported_dpo Guest

Hi I have a 01 S3 and today i took the oil filler cap off and noticed it was a bit creamy, does this indicate my head gasket is on the way out or could it be condensation??

Cheers

Dan Orchard
  2. nervus

nervus Well-Known Member

if its just a small anount, then it could just be condensation from the breather system especially if the car has sat about. I would expect more cross cobtamination in the oil and water if there was a head gasket problem.
  3. RichA3Turbo

RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

I personally would not take the chance...Get it looked at ASAP

Rich
  4. MickA3

MickA3 Member

i'm by no means an expert but when buying my a3 i looked at loads of cars and nearly all had creamy white gunk under oil filler cap....i would say its nothing....
  5. Danielson

Danielson Member

well mine avnt, i wouldnt like to c any either. its not good [censored]. gotta b head gasket
  6. RichA3Turbo

Mine doesnt eiter, nor does my brothers 1.8T A4... water and oil = disaster waiting to happen!
  7. Add7

Add7 Member

my a3 doesnt either. sorry
  8. imported_dpo

imported_dpo Guest

Took it to the local Audi dealer they said it is common to have a little bit of cream on the filler cap with the weather getting colder. Its nothing to worry about now so i can relax a little!!!

Cheers for your help guys!!

Dan
  9. Khufu

Khufu Active Member

That stuff is disgusting - always seen in Rover K-series engines LOL. I've seen it in the whole engine and in the expansion tank too.
  10. RichA3Turbo

[ QUOTE ]
    khufu said:
    That stuff is disgusting - always seen in Rover K-series engines LOL. I've seen it in the whole engine and in the expansion tank too.

[/ QUOTE ]