1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

crank sensor fitting guide

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by ex_scoobydoo, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. ex_scoobydoo

    ex_scoobydoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi as the title says, i had the car on ramps yesterday, thought it would be a simple job, but i cant even see or locate the crank sensor, http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?93273-problems-starting&p=948636
    in that thread shows a picture of were it is supposedly sat, i have a 2000 apy s3.
    i cant see nothing through the mass of pipes wires and everything else, its like a wild jungle.
    has anyone done this job who can advise the best way to get to the crank sensor, or have any diagrams of what needs to be removed to access it, before we start to strip the car,
    thanks
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. 1animal1

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,979
    Likes Received:
    35
    its directly below the oil filter about 1-2 inch.....if you remove the front tray you will be able to see it, i worked on mine whilst on axle stands, you will prob need to remove all the gubbings around the dipstick tube so you can get your hands down to unscrew the single nut....then get underneath to work it free from the block....this isnt easy
     
  4. Matt82

    Matt82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,365
    Likes Received:
    2
    silly question, but is the front engine mount in the way too?
     
  5. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    3,170
    There isn't a front engine mount on an 2000 S3... they use one on the gearbox, one on the cambelt end of the engine and a dogbone mount underneath... IIRC all A3's/S3's use this setup... 1.8t Ibizas have front engine mounts though...

    <tuffty/>
     
  6. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    1,666
    as tufftys says, and if you look there is no front engine mount on mk4 platform cars
    one m6 bolt, pull it out (tight) and replace.. simples.. aside from all the **** in the way of course.

    have fun
     
  7. CMcKenzie

    CMcKenzie It's supposed to do that..

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    123
    Sorry for the thread revival, but seems pointless starting a new one.
    I'm looking at tackling this tomorrow but I can't seem to find a good guide for the 1.8t. Anyone know of a good one?
    I apologise for the stupid question in advance, but when the sensor is removed, will oil p!ss out of the block until I've got the new one in? Or am I just being a fool thinking that?
    Thanks,
    Callum.
     
  8. westcoast a3

    westcoast a3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    34
    No mate no oil comes out when you change, or at least never when I did :)
     
    CMcKenzie likes this.
  9. CMcKenzie

    CMcKenzie It's supposed to do that..

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    123
    Cheers for letting me know. Would of hated to of been on with it then lost a load of oil and had to walk to go buy some more! haha
     
  10. Jeriho

    Jeriho Insane and i love it

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    10
    I did this a couple of days ago since i have been having an error code for this sensor a couple of times. I had the car on a lift then i unscrewed the oil filter and took the sensor out. Still not much room but it worked.
    Unfortunately i ordered the wrong sensor so i just cleaned the old one and put it back in. Have to reorder now :).
     
  11. CMcKenzie

    CMcKenzie It's supposed to do that..

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    123
    Fitted mine today, didn't remove the oil filter but would of been so much easier. Took me about an hour and half with a fair bit of swearing.
     
  12. Jeriho

    Jeriho Insane and i love it

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah i think swearing comes with it. Might actually be included in the service manual :).
     

Share This Page