1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Could maybe a Remap solve my engine problems.....?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by BigWillyStyle, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. BigWillyStyle

    BigWillyStyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    57
    In my other threads i've posted i've stated that my auto S-Line 2.0 TDI has problems starting, more so when engine temp is at half way, stalling (Unusual considering its an auto),revs dropping and increasing in low gears making it 'jump' and changing down in gears roughly when i brake like its over revving.

    I was wondering could this be something to do with fuelling or an ECU?

    Just trying to think of everything to solve the problem because im pretty damn worried about it!

    P.S i've been told about the Mechatronic unit going t*ts up but im trying not to think about that :noway:
     
    #1 BigWillyStyle, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. jaydav2306

    jaydav2306 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    16
    a REMAP will only make the problems worse and fail on a bigger scale, it's not the answer if you engine is not running 100%
     
  4. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    655
    I agree ^^^

    an engine should only be mapped when it's healthy.

    its a bit like tearing a leg off a dog then telling him to run faster and with better technique.

    Just isn't gonna happen.
     
  5. BigWillyStyle

    BigWillyStyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    57
    B*lls!

    Was kinda hoping this would solve the problem! Its been on a diagnostic machine but no faults.

    Going to my mates garage again on Sat so hopefully he will have an idea, if not, im screwed!
     
  6. jaydav2306

    jaydav2306 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    16
    A cheap place to start would be change the plugs, have the MAF and clean that or replace if you can find a cheap one, dosent sound ECU or Mechatronic related to me
     
  7. BigWillyStyle

    BigWillyStyle Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    57
    If it was the ECU or Mechatronic unit i'd assume something would have came up on the Diagnostic machine?
     
  8. thebluefox

    thebluefox Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    10
    Echo what the others have said, only map it when its running smoothly.
     
  9. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.

    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    284
    Diagnostic machines are great, but they aren't the be all and end all. I rely on the live data streams and knowing how to interpret it for diagnostics :)

    Rick
     

Share This Page