1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Could anyone Help with aftermarket stereo

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Ash92, Nov 30, 2013.

  1. Ash92
    Offline

    Ash92 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Evening all just wondering if anyone could help. I have just bought myself a Pioneer Sph da01 and I'm trying to fit it to my a4 I have the single din concert stereo does anyone no what connections I need and no how I fit it here's some pics.
    Pioneer Connection
    DSC_0028.jpg
    Concert stereo connections
    DSC_0031.jpg

    Thanks in advance
    #1
  2. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,697
    Likes Received:
    21
    you need to change the cage to a double din to start with
    your never gona get the pioneer in that slot
    #2
  3. Ash92
    Offline

    Ash92 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Forgot to mention that I did the conversion other day it's the wiring up I'm crap with
    #3
  4. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    9
    You'll need a CAN bus adapter that generates the "igniton" 12V that your aftermarket HU needs - Audi OE HU's only have permanent 12V and use messages on the CAN bus to tell them when to turn on/off.

    Plus you'll need something to feed 12V onto the antenna lead to power the antenna amps built-in to the car.
    #4
  5. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    5
    you need to find out if the system is half amplified or full amplified ... bose or non bose
    with that information i can tell you exactly which lead you need from which supplier
    #5
  6. Ash92
    Offline

    Ash92 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's a Bose system and I'm sure it fully amplified iv just bought this Ebay item as he guaranteed it would fit 331075636576 could any one confirm this and thanks for replies
    #6
  7. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    5
    i have never heard of the columbus system im afraid so am unsure whather or not the supplied lead will work or not

    the lead i think you need is an autoleads pc9 408
    #7
  8. Ash92
    Offline

    Ash92 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok I'll give this try if not I'll get the autoleads one thanks for the help another question I have is once these are connected where will I get the power source from sorry if this is obvious answer I'm terrible when it comes to wires
    #8
  9. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    5
    the autoleads adaptor converts the power input of the standard unit into the power input of your new one
    #9
  10. Ash92
    Offline

    Ash92 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi again I gave up on the last unit as I couldn't get it to fit so I have just got my self a new one which came out of an A4 cabrolet I have just tried to fit it and it doesn't fit it has all the connectors needed but the pins from the harness from the unit are too big for the cars connectors to fit in here's some pics
    DSC_0062.jpg
    DSC_0063.jpg

    Could any one help me please with what connector I need for the two to connect
    Thanks in advance
    #10
  11. SinghB7
    Offline

    SinghB7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just get a professional to fit it save yourself hassle!
    Go to an audio shop they will charge about £20/£30 and you will have a stereo that works. If you're not sure what you're doing you'd probably end up doing some damage worst case scenario.
    #11
    jdp1962 and ben.w93 like this.
  12. ben.w93
    Offline

    ben.w93 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    What year is your car? some of the B7s are quadlock connectors some are ISO, two connectors that look the same with an additional rectangle plug. By the look of your picture you have the ISO type connection in your car,you can get the bose ISO loom adapters online or from an audio shop, you will also need an Ariel adapter.
    #12
  13. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,816
    Likes Received:
    30
    I agree with this. Unless you really know what you're doing, you can easily end up shelling out more cash on having someone undo your mistakes than you would pay them to do it right from the outset.
    #13
  14. Ash92
    Offline

    Ash92 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok cheers it's an 05 plate
    #14

Share This Page