1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copy 2013 Sat Nav Not Working?

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by robval55, Mar 17, 2014.

  1. robval55
    Offline

    robval55 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    Hi,
    I have just boaught a 2013 Audi TT which was supplied with Sat Nav. I have made a copy of the discs, as I wish to store the originals in my home for security. Unfortunately the copy does not work. I have checked the format which appears to be identical to the original, but the sat nav does not recognise the copy discs. Can anyone help or advise?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    The RNSE needs to have the DVD written for DVD-ROM I believe.

    Stick with the genuine disc, no issues then.
    #2
  4. Cruiser89
    Online

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Mar 18, 2014]
    Low burn speed too. Along with Verbatim disks :)
    #3
  5. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Mar 19, 2014]
    It's more likely your DVD Burner, only certain makes appear to work correctly. I use a pioneer drive with alcohol 120% get a perfect backup every time.
    #4
  6. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Mar 26, 2014]
    I would advise not using copies at all: you're going to end up with a fair bit of cost and hassle just to line yourself up with more cost and hassle shortly down the line...

    Only certain models of Pioneer DVDRW drive will work, with certain DVD-R discs... I've done it before, but the drive takes noticeably longer to spin up and read the disk, with a lot more noise and searching than on the originals: so even if you get it right, you're going to put a lot more strain on your DVD drive in the satnav unit and it'll cost you several hundred to replace that, assuming you can do all the work yourself... better just to use the originals, especially given the incredibly slim chance that they will get stolen. Just leave the E-Europe disc in the box at home or in your boot so it's less likely to get swiped out of the glovebox...
    #5

Share This Page