1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coolant temp sensor

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Bradderz_1988, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    163
    Anyone know if audi have changed the temp sensor on the tqs ordered one and its dark green prt no is 059 919 501 where as mine is blue iirc do i need the blue one ?? Only asking as the outlet on the cyclinder head is leaking coolant slightly so thought id get a new sensor whilst im at it also would you recommend fitting a non-gen oil cooler or is it best to fit a genuine ???

    Cheers in advance.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Chriscooke

    Chriscooke Clueless!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    19
    My cts was green iirc. I'll have a check later if you like?
     
  4. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    163
    Just had a look and its definately got a blue one, going to jump on etka now as i need to get some more part numbers anyway as tge parts guy at work is hopeless lol
     
  5. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    163
    Had a look and it says blue 4 pin part number - 078 919 501 B Click on it and it says dropped on 01/08/2002 use the part number 059 919 501 which i have, anyone else switched to the green sensor or have you had the blue one ??
     
  6. Iceash

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    If my needle is jumping while warming up. Is this the sensor I need to order?
     
  7. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    IIRC the plug is different isn't it

    I have a brand new green one sitting here that I bought in error!
     
  8. Iceash

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    different?

    want to post to me as a birthday present :-D
     
  9. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    sure if you cover the £10 postage :)
     
  10. Iceash

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    lol I can get em new cheaper than that!
     
  11. Mr K

    Mr K Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not a genuine one. Mine was about £29 inc clip and I ring at the dealers a few months back iirc.
     
  12. Iceash

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    i've used cheapie ones before with success :)
     
  13. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    163
    Stick to a genuine sensor !! And you will get a green instead of blue sensor dont worry it supersedes to the green one and is the correct one used on our cars !!Also id say its most probably your stat thats fooked and not the sensor both are around £20 each so do the stat first as they say do it right first time round and only use genuine parts !!
     
  14. Iceash

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    Well I did wonder stat, changed that 18 months ago, but the needle plummets holds shots up. Holds drops back to zero then returns to where it was then makes it to 90'c. Where is the sensor and stat located? I'll change both for piece of mind.
     
  15. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    163
    Sensor is on back of the head on the outlet tank, stat is behind the power steering pump follow the bottom rad hose and you'll find it !!
     
  16. Iceash

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    Do you have to be under car to change it?
     
  17. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    163
    Id say yes as you have to rest it on its housing and manoeuvre it in to position.
     
  18. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    469
    The new ones are all green.

    If you have a digital clock, you'll have a D Shaped plug and the PN ends in an A.
    If you have analog clock, you'll have a square plug and the PN doesnt have the A.
     

Share This Page