1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coolant Temp Sensor 2.0 TDi BKD

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Gti Jazz Blue, May 13, 2008.

  1. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 13, 2008]
    Hi all,

    Looks like my 2005 A3 may have a faulty coolant temp sensor.

    Anyone changed one before ? Is it similar to the 1.8T in that you can swap it with minimal coolant loss (when the Engine is cold) ?

    Thanks,

    Paul
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Twizzler
    Offline

    Twizzler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    24
    [May 13, 2008]
    With the engine cold, release the filler cap to remove any residual pressure in the system and then tighten it back down. Unscrew the old one and stick your thumb over the hole while you pickup the replacement. You'll lose very little coolant.
    #2
  4. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 13, 2008]
    Thanks - so basically exactly the same proceedure as swapping it on a 1.8T.

    I take it that it is just held in by a slide clip in the same way. ?

    Paul
    #3
  5. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 14, 2008]
    Right it has popped another code so there is obviously a fault. Sebastian at Ross-Tech has said that there are knows issues with the sensors and an optimized part after week 25 2005 (stamped on sensor WW-YY so anything after 25-05).

    Spoke to my local dealer and they have 6 in stock - the downside it is £30 including the O-Ring.

    So of later to pick on up.

    Paul
    #4
  6. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 16, 2008]
    Changed it last night - wasn't too bad.

    The top of the airbox and MAF have to be removed, the lovely chap in the factory that fitted the original, also decided it would be a laugh to put the release clip for the loom on the block side. So I ended up taking the sensor out still attached to the loom.

    Of course, as always happens, the O-ring stayed in place. Also you do loose a fair bit of coolant - a lot more than when I change the 1.8T sensor on my Golf. The level in the header dropped about an inch, left a bit of a puddle on my garage floor.

    Cleared the code and did a quick test (as I was out last night) and the code didn't return.

    I will do a longer test tonight and let the temp get up to 90.

    Paul
    #5

Share This Page