1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coolant senser.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by pwnorman, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. pwnorman
    Offline

    pwnorman Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 15, 2005]
    Does anyone know where abouts it is i have'nt had chance to look for it yet and am going to change it tommorow as its faulty along with the new maf i've just replaiced is buggerd too, so getting that changed if dealer does'nt try to play daft arse's with me seeing i only changed it on tuesday anyway is the coolant temp easy to replaice, thanks for any help and hopefully the car will start running properly after this.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 27, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 15, 2005]
    #2
  4. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 15, 2005]
    It's just about here:

    [​IMG]

    you need to remove the cover to get to it.

    then look for this:

    [​IMG]

    remove the top clip and it's all self explanitory:

    [​IMG]

    Make sure the coolant is cool. If you slacken the coolant bottle top, make sure you tighten it back to normal before you replace the sensor, or water will wee everywhere.

    It's very easy to fit, and takes no time at all really - well worthwhile, sorted my cars idling problem out instantly! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    Rob.
    #3
  5. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 15, 2005]
    damn you HTC!!! lol

    you beat me too it...after I just went and sorted all them pics out! grrr.

    but yes HTC is right and he helped me out kindly when mine went wrong. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #4
  6. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 15, 2005]
    Sorry mate. Good pics tho!
    #5
  7. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 15, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Sorry mate. Good pics tho!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    it's cool bud - yes they may be ok...but a tad big! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
    #6
  8. pwnorman
    Offline

    pwnorman Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    Cheers for the pics lads got the sensor just waiting for it to cool down now dont fancy a hot shower just yet /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #7
  9. pwnorman
    Offline

    pwnorman Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    Got it changed looks abit different to mine though the fastening clip is plastic and pulls right out.
    #8
  10. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    there are two different sensors, when i called vagparts they helped me out with the correct one. maybe this is why your's is a bit different. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/noidea.gif

    so has it cured your car back to normal?

    Rob /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #9
  11. pwnorman
    Offline

    pwnorman Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 17, 2005]
    Its been ok so far it was abit intermitant before it goes ok for abit then totaly /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif worse than a wet fart but touch wood its ok now still need a new maf sensor as the one i got the other day is showing a fault code when i took it to dealers.
    #10

Share This Page