1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coolant error

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by steve184, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. steve184
    Offline

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    This morning when i started my car, i got the red coolant error come in in my DIS. I immediately stopped and physically checked the coolant level under the bonnet and the level was where it should be. The error had cleared by the tie i had closed the bonnet and got back into the car.

    Any ideas what this might be?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. BigBird
    Offline

    BigBird Lost in music...

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    Temporary airlock? Or the sensor probes on the expansion tank on their way out? This kept happening to me with my old Golf mk4.

    A replacement expansion tank including the probes was under £20 & a cinch to fit. Cured the issue.
    #2
  4. steve184
    Offline

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    Do you have to replace the whole expansion tank? Presumably you have to drain the coolant system too and refill afterwards?
    #3
  5. c_w
    Offline

    c_w Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    62
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    Trying putting a bit more in, mine has done this on and off recently but *seems* to have stopped when I went beyond the tank seam.
    #4
  6. BigBird
    Offline

    BigBird Lost in music...

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    The tank comes complete with the probes built in. I just lowered the coolant level by removing any fluid in the old expansion tank with a syringe, then swapped the tanks over and topped the fluid back up. Really easy.

    This obviously came after a few weeks of getting the DIS message and checking the fluid levels all the time.
    #5
  7. steve184
    Offline

    steve184 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    Bit odd - why would it think the level was too low - if it was indeed between the markings where it should be - don't want to overfill it as this can cause leaks to develop can't it?
    #6
  8. c_w
    Offline

    c_w Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    62
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    I know - it may be coincidence but it hasn't come on again, I filled it up to 3/4 with some anti freeze.
    #7
  9. Baffles
    Offline

    Baffles Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Nov 28, 2011]
    Had the same issue a few weeks ago - Audi ended up replacing the coolant bottle and sensor as they were faulty.
    #8
  10. mikejclark
    Offline

    mikejclark New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2011]
    I read on another post to scrape the prongs inside the tank with a screw driver. it seems a build up of something on the metal breaks the circuit fooling it into thinking there is no coolant. worked for me anyhow
    #9
  11. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 7, 2011]
    Had this problem myself this morning. so just cleaned contacts on probes.
    Hope thats sorted it.
    #10
  12. Virdee
    Offline

    Virdee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Dec 7, 2011]
    As many have said you can clean the contacts or replace with new tank to cure the problem. New tank ain't that expensive anyway. Circa £25. Plus you get the added bonus of a clear new bottle!
    #11
  13. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Dec 7, 2011]
    I used to get this every winter with my old A3, only when it was cold. I think its just a sensor error/being slow due to the cold. Never happened when warm.
    #12

Share This Page