1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting symphony II antenna system use with RNSe

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JohnS3, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    67
    Cheers Nigel, I thought I might have saved myself a few hundred quid on my future job there, ah well, nearly :whistle2:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    By using this guide last night, I successfully added the ZF to my 2009 after installing the RNS-E MK2 a few months ago.

    A big shoutout to JonS3 (the OP) for the thread and jb0o for sourcing the little amp for me.

    Cheers guys! :D

    Happy Christmas :)
     
  4. t3ddy

    t3ddy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Huge Thanks to JohnS3 for working this out and posting the how-to guide! :beerchug:

    I changed the Amp and booster today and it's greatly improved FM reception on my RNS-e. :yes:
     
  5. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    67
    Does doing this change improve the FM reception for all head units?
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    This is only for late 06/07 onwards people that convert from concert, symphony, chorus, 2+ units to rns-e.
     
  7. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    67
    Thanks NHN, the FM reception on my 2011 BE is pretty bad really, I was wodnering how it could be improved...
     
  8. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Sounds like you either have a faulty amp or wiring, whats vcds say?

    I could swap parts over & run temp cables to test the system, could even be the rear screens/antennas mate, but if its under warranty take it to audi.
     
  9. max69vk

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    49
    Bit confused by this as the lower amp listed in the parts list has no suffix at the end, yet every lower amp I've come across has a suffix (D). Am I missing something here?!
     
    A3-8PA likes this.
  10. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    If anyone needs an upper amp I have one for sale .. £10 and its yours.

    This conversion is worth it, ones of the best I've done.
     
  11. ryanstewart9

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hey Chris,

    Is that the 8P4 035 225B Upper antenna amp?

    New or used?

    Thanks
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    £10 is a bargain, they're £24 for new.
     
  13. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    It's new, but obviously second hand. But has never been used as I sourced one from Jonny while this one was in transit from Germany.

    It starts 8P3 035 225B but is identical to the 8P4 035 225B one I have fitted.

    First to PM has it :)
     
  14. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Is there anyway to tell the amp numbers without first taking off the boot trim? I've got a SB, but the linked guide on trim removal is dead.
     
  15. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    Had a chance to read through better, basic understanding is that you have to

    • Switch out the upper and lower amps
    • Reconnect the two FAKRA cables on the old lower amp to the new lower amp
    • Connect the two new amps using the yellow three wire loom (that you have to make)
    • Connect the FAKRA cable that was connected to the old upper amp to the new 3rd FAKRA connector on the new lower amp


    What I am missing is why you need two new FAKRA cables, one 0.3m male to male and a 1.5m extension cable? Implies you are making two new connections, but not sure what to what? Had assumed these were to allow you to run the FAKRA lead from the upper to the lower amp without un-picking the loom, but why two separate cables?
     
  16. t3ddy

    t3ddy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    The two Fakra cables are connected together to make a single cable, long enough to reach between the amps. They are standard length cables available from a dealer, alternative is to have your own cable made up specially.
     
  17. elrao

    elrao Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    16
    As it says you can get away with a 1m female to female and the 0.3m male to male then am guessing a 1.5m male to female would work?

    2m cable on eBay is about £12
    http://bit.ly/ZojMT4
     
    #96 elrao, Apr 13, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  18. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi


    I have just mounted rns-e in my audi a3 8p modeljahr 2011. Before I have concert-radio. I also want to change the diversity antanne system so the no error in vdcs and better signal. I have planned to use the instructions in the thread but have i problem.

    On the lower amplifier I only have one fakta( the White fakta - see Picture one) and not the gray. so want to do. I have taken some Pictures please have a look.

    Best Regards
    Mikkel
     

    Attached Files:

  19. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Welcome to the site Mikkel.

    That's normal for newer 8P's, can still mod the car for this antenna system, did you buy the kit or you wanted one supplied?
     
  20. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the Quick answer. I have just bought the upper and lower AMP. So miss cables. Can i just follow the guide and no need for the gray fakra?
     
  21. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    You need to connect all as described, so buy the cables & connect it all up.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I an not sure that i understand. Sorry

    in ny eksisting system aa showed om picture i dont have the fakra gray fakra cable. How to handle? In guide the existing system have both a White and Grey fakra... And after mod Also yellow
     
  24. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    The new amp has 3 connectors, you connect to one of them as per the guide above, you dont need to worry about the grey cable.
     
  25. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    nhn - do you know a place in Europe to buy the parts except the amps and Price. Parts are very expensive in Denmark;)
     
  26. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    How expensive can it be for the cables in Denmark?
     
  27. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    About 95 EUR inkl tape
     
  28. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    What's the problem with that?
     
  29. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is exclusive amps
     
  30. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    So, you have the amps already, 95 euros isn't exactly expensive to get it installed & working is it, time = money & the more time you spend on finding something 10, 20 or so euros cheaper is imho a waste of time, if it means you get the system completed then pay the 95 euros, I fail to see the issue tbh.
     
  31. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is only for parts and i install myself. Installation is not included in the 95 eur
     
  32. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    & again I say, I cant see why paying 95 euros for these parts is a problem, am I missing something here?
     
  33. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i look at first page it is around 30 EUR/gbp for the parts. Remember i not need the amps. I have them
     
  34. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,143
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Its not 30 euros, its £50 as I have the uptodate prices here, plus postage from UK, so that will be about £65, equated into euros isn't far of 90 so for me, just pay the 95 euros locally for peace of mind.
     
  35. Stol1975

    Stol1975 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just done this fix. I have my radio back:) got the parts from Dave at stoke Audi via this forum. So just a quick question, now I have all the traffic info available to me does the satnav take this into account if a road is blocked or do u have to manage the re-routing yourself?
     
  36. coxy8329

    coxy8329 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    19
    Sometimes
     
  37. trabjerg

    trabjerg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi;)

    I followed the guide in a 2011 model and Can confirm that it work even though the 2011 model dont has the Grey cable, only the white
     
  38. dezmoandtt

    dezmoandtt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I've been following this thread for a while and wondered if this modification works on a MY08 TT coupe.

    I was quite bullish and went and bought all the required bits before realising that the TT has a different lower amp. My car doesn't have the shark fin antenna as it was never factory fitted with the RNSe.

    Is there any way I can make this work? If not then as I said I have all the bits required if anyone is interested in doing a deal...
     
  39. Oldredeyes1

    Oldredeyes1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Iv got all the bits listed and I may be missing something, my repair wires are 60cms long however the loom needs to be longer without sounding too thick how do I achieve this?
     
  40. jasonc

    jasonc Active Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    57

    You have to cut the repair wires in half and then add some extra wire in the middle to make them longer.
     
  41. RustyBucket

    RustyBucket Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    51
    I've sussed the fact that I need to make these the right length, I just want to be sure that the wire I use to join them isn't going to cause any issues. Is there a spec for the wire to use for joining? I've looked but can't find anything out there :confused:
     
  42. abpostelnicu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys,

    My setup is as follows: Audi A3 from 2005 factory fitted with Audi Concert Single Din. I've swapped the old concert with a new 2011 Audi RNS-E. Of course i kinda lost radio reception and quality and in comparison with old concert the radio signal is kinda crappy.
    The errors that i get are:

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 37: Navigation Labels: 8E0-035-192-RNSE.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 035 193 G HW: 8P0 035 193 G
    Component: RNS-E PU EU H06 0220
    Revision: 0000012S Serial number: AUZBZ7LD203031
    Coding: 0205411
    Shop #: WSC 00355 211 85016
    VCID: 3467FA5B57CEB4BE40B-8061

    1 Fault Found:
    00858 - Connection; Radio Intermediate Frequency (IF) Output to Antenna Amplifier
    011 - Open Circuit
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01101011
    Fault Priority: 5
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 177
    Mileage: 200512 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2014.04.26
    Time: 00:36:14

    Freeze Frame:
    Mileage: 200510 km
    Count: 2604
    Clock: 00:35


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 56: Radio Labels: 8E0-035-192-RNSE.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 035 193 G HW: 8P0 035 193 G
    Component: RNS-E PU EU H06 0220
    Revision: 0000012S Serial number: AUZBZ7LD203031
    Coding: 0205411
    Shop #: WSC 00355 211 85016
    VCID: 3467FA5B57CEB4BE40B-8061

    1 Fault Found:
    00858 - Connection; Radio Intermediate Frequency (IF) Output to Antenna Amplifier
    011 - Open Circuit
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01101011
    Fault Priority: 5
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 177
    Mileage: 200512 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2014.04.26
    Time: 00:36:14

    Freeze Frame:
    Mileage: 200510 km
    Count: 2604
    Clock: 00:35


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I know that this thread addresses the newer 06/07 models but what can it be done to achieve the two main things:
    - adequate signal quality
    - error free modules

    Thank you in advance! :)
     

Share This Page