1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

convertible roof problem

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by davisl, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. davisl
    Offline

    davisl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2011]
    Hi,
    I'm in desperate need of some help. The roof on my 2006 (B7)A4 went down ok the other day but would not raise on the switch. I closed it manually using the key and procedure but now when i operate the roof switch the front of the roof will unlock and raise an inch or so...but then nothing else happens!
    performed a manual open and close to see if it will reset but to no avail!
    when i turn the ignition on the roof warning light will flash 10 times and then stop.
    I have had VAG-COM on the car and it shows 1 fault found: 00830 convertible top control module (J256) 49-10-No communications-intermittent
    i had the fault reset but still no luck opening or closing the roof on the button!
    My next port of call is to get to the control module to check wires and connections (which i believe is behind the rear seat back) but i am struggling to get the seat out.
    Any advice/help with this could possibly save my car from getting thoroughly wrecked with a very large hammer.

    Thanks in advance for any help/advice recieved.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. gjwell
    Offline

    gjwell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 25, 2011]
    Hi davisl, the Roof ECU is located behind the rear interior side panel behind the driver. You will need to remove the rear seat bottom but not the back. If you google Mods4cars and look at the smart top module for the B7 A4 Cab it gives full installation instructions which involve locating the Roof ECU. I have pasted the link but not sure if links get removed. Good luck sorting your problem. Be carful when pulling the side panel off as there is some polystyrene sound proofing which snaps easily, I had to re glue mine.

    Go to mods4cars product manual
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
    #2
  4. davisl
    Offline

    davisl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 26, 2011]
    Thanks for the link. My control module is actually just under the rear seat base. no loose connections and no apparent problems with the wiring or module itself.
    Its going in to Audi next week to have the module/roof positions reset....apparently its a very common fault and a pretty easy fix. worst case scenario, the audi tech i spoke to seems to think it may just be a microswitch in the roof.
    I shall post the conclusion and solution as soon as its sorted.
    #3
  5. davisl
    Offline

    davisl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 2, 2011]
    solution to the problem with my roof............re-charge the battery. Put some booster cables on the battery and then tried the roof, hey presto-it works fine.
    I've charged my battery up and it appears to have cured the problem, warning light has stopped flashing and it is working perfectly again.
    Thought i would post this just in case anyone else has a similar problem.
    #4
  6. CHRIS555
    Offline

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 2, 2011]
    Thanks for posting the solution, always good info to have!
    #5
  7. Speers
    Offline

    Speers New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2011]
    Davisl

    I have exactly the same problem althogh Vag- Com showing no fault had battery checked at halfords showing ok?

    How did you boost your battery without loosing radio codes as i guess i should try this first.

    Speers
    #6
  8. VagPro
    Offline

    VagPro Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Sep 25, 2011]
    #7
  9. sva19
    Offline

    sva19 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    I had similar problem to davisl, went to audi specialist and said that the soft top catch unit gone fault, the one that has microswitches, said the whole part need replacing and costs was £725 part and labour!.

    I wonder after reading this could have resolved with battery power ??? I wonder if I paid too much??
    #8
  10. sva19
    Offline

    sva19 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    I had similar problem to davisl, went to audi specialist and said that the soft top catch unit gone fault, the one that has microswitches, said the whole part need replacing and costs was £725 part and labour!.

    I wonder after reading this could have resolved with battery power ??? I wonder if I paid too much??
    #9

Share This Page