1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connects 2 help please

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by london jay, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Hi, I want an aux in for my 55 plate with a concert head unit and have bought the connects 2 box.

    I can't see how it connects to the head unit though.

    Any help would be very gratefully received! !

    I have posted a photo of the back of the stereo.

    Many thanks

    Jay.

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. JRock247
    Offline

    JRock247 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Did you buy the Quad Lock Connects2 unit or the ISO Block Connects2 unit? You need the ISO Block version.

    m770Hk0Zw-0we7eSxOfZErw.jpg
    #2
  4. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Hi mate. Thanks for the reply.

    This is what I got.

    Attached Files:

    #3
  5. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    You need to unplug the brown/black cable on the back of the stereo. Plug your new cables in and then the old into the red. The blue should slide onto one of the sides of green or yellow block the ports are different so it should be pretty easy to figure out which goes where
    #4
  6. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Hi mate. Which brown/black cable please?
    #5
  7. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    On the back of your stereo you see a red plug that's vertical there is a horizontal plug one black underneath one brown. One of those needs to come out can't remeber which but they both are different so only one of them fits
    #6
  8. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Now I get you mate! Sorry I'm a brickie so anything electrical confuses me!!!

    The next question is, where do I connect the black earth cable? It's all plastic in the space behind the stereo and I cant see anything metal to ground it to.

    Cheers again.
    #7
  9. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    No worries chap....I grounded mine by unscrewing a screw on the stereo itself....
    #8
  10. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    A more experienced person May state it's bad. But it worked for me when I have a connects 2
    #9
  11. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Cheers mate. You reckon the one above the aerial connection on my picture will do??
    #10
  12. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    I used one on the bottom...so not sure...shouldn't see an issue though
    #11
  13. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Thanks alot for taking the time to look and reply mate. You've been a great help.

    Best regards

    Jay
    #12
  14. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    No worries mate. Motor looks cracking btw. Got any more plans for it
    #13
  15. dano200
    Offline

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    I have just done mine, its the top black connector that needs to come out.

    Slide the blue connector onto the side of the yellow/green one and plug this into the rear of the stereo.

    Then plug the connector that was taken out of the stereo into the back of the adaptor.

    Wire up the ground (I also did the stereo) and jobs a good one.


    I then took it all out when I realised I couldn't get the unit into the glove box..... Need to take out the glove box and drill a hole by the looks of things.
    #14
  16. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Cheers mate.

    Actually got to clean it down the other day!

    I think I'll prob go for a revo map and exhaust after I've saved up a few quid!!

    Just spent over £1000 on it with a main service, dsg service, brake service and a few other wear n tear bits n bobs!!!

    Attached Files:

    #15
  17. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    Really? Thanks mate.

    I thought of pushing the connects box down behind the stereo and running just the cable out by the side of the head unit?
    #16
  18. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Mar 14, 2014]
    If ur anywhere near south west london i could get this sorted for u
    #17
  19. T8DPR
    Offline

    T8DPR Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    I ran mine down the back of the climate control so it just sits in the cubby underneath

    also, I grounded on a screw on the side of the head unit
    #18
    london jay likes this.
  20. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    Cheers mate for the kind offer. I'm now in Hertfordshire near Watford but thanks a lot anyway
    #19
  21. dano200
    Offline

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    That's interesting, the cubby was where I originally wanted the box but didn't see a way of getting down there. Must go and have a better look.
    #20
  22. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    All wired up now. Seems a bit crackly. Maybe its because the only place I could earth it was to a screw on the side of the head unit?
    #21
  23. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 15, 2014]
    Actually sounds not coming out from 1 rear speaker now for some reason! !!!!????
    #22
  24. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    If I select the cdc the sound doesn't come out of 1 rear speaker but If I select cd or radio it comes through fine??
    Any thoughts please guys?

    Cheers
    #23
  25. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    I think It's to do with the wiring from connects. Make sure all the cables are in the poets securely
    #24
  26. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    Ok Andy thanks mate
    #25
  27. london jay
    Offline

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    All sorted now! One of the wires in the connectors was slightly loose.

    Many thanks to everyone who took the time to give me their knowledge.

    Cheers!!!

    Jay
    #26
  28. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    No worries mate. Glad it's all worked out
    #27
    london jay likes this.
  29. dano200
    Offline

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 16, 2014]
    Glad it's all sorted chap.
    #28
    london jay likes this.
  30. rory21388
    Offline

    rory21388 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 27, 2014]
    IMAG0136.jpg

    This is the back of my stereo. It's a double din with a quad lock connection.

    AUDI CONCERT A2 A3 A4 TT 05 USB SD CARD AUX IN ADAPTER CONNECTS 2 CTAADUSB004 | eBay

    This is what I was thinking of buying. Will this fit my stereo and if so does anyone have fitting instructions?

    The connector on the connects2 looks like it would plug in where the green connector currently is. The green connector doesn't appear to do anything at the moment. Can anyone explain this?

    Thanks,
    Rory
    #29
  31. rory21388
    Offline

    rory21388 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
  32. dano200
    Offline

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 30, 2014]
    Hi,

    This is where I got mine from, Car Audio Equipment | Buy online at Car Audio Security and is listed for a3 with quadlock connector. If in doubt phone them and speak to them about it they will ensure you get the right one.

    I would think the green connector is for the multi changer cd, I take it you don't have one fitted?
    #31
  33. rory21388
    Offline

    rory21388 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2014]
    Thats would make sense wouldnt it? However unless there is a changer hidden somewhere that I haven't come across I dont have one! The thing is the green connector is wired up to something. What else could it be? I hoped a little bit that it could be something like a hidden AUX that I havent come across but I genuinely am stumped!

    Anyone got any idea what the green plug could be given that it isnt the CD changer?
    #32

Share This Page