1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connects 2 help please

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by london jay, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi, I want an aux in for my 55 plate with a concert head unit and have bought the connects 2 box.

    I can't see how it connects to the head unit though.

    Any help would be very gratefully received! !

    I have posted a photo of the back of the stereo.

    Many thanks

    Jay.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. JRock247

    JRock247 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    41
    Did you buy the Quad Lock Connects2 unit or the ISO Block Connects2 unit? You need the ISO Block version.

    m770Hk0Zw-0we7eSxOfZErw.jpg
     
  4. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi mate. Thanks for the reply.

    This is what I got.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    You need to unplug the brown/black cable on the back of the stereo. Plug your new cables in and then the old into the red. The blue should slide onto one of the sides of green or yellow block the ports are different so it should be pretty easy to figure out which goes where
     
  6. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi mate. Which brown/black cable please?
     
  7. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    On the back of your stereo you see a red plug that's vertical there is a horizontal plug one black underneath one brown. One of those needs to come out can't remeber which but they both are different so only one of them fits
     
  8. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Now I get you mate! Sorry I'm a brickie so anything electrical confuses me!!!

    The next question is, where do I connect the black earth cable? It's all plastic in the space behind the stereo and I cant see anything metal to ground it to.

    Cheers again.
     
  9. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    No worries chap....I grounded mine by unscrewing a screw on the stereo itself....
     
  10. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    A more experienced person May state it's bad. But it worked for me when I have a connects 2
     
  11. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Cheers mate. You reckon the one above the aerial connection on my picture will do??
     
  12. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    I used one on the bottom...so not sure...shouldn't see an issue though
     
  13. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks alot for taking the time to look and reply mate. You've been a great help.

    Best regards

    Jay
     
  14. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    No worries mate. Motor looks cracking btw. Got any more plans for it
     
  15. dano200

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have just done mine, its the top black connector that needs to come out.

    Slide the blue connector onto the side of the yellow/green one and plug this into the rear of the stereo.

    Then plug the connector that was taken out of the stereo into the back of the adaptor.

    Wire up the ground (I also did the stereo) and jobs a good one.


    I then took it all out when I realised I couldn't get the unit into the glove box..... Need to take out the glove box and drill a hole by the looks of things.
     
  16. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Cheers mate.

    Actually got to clean it down the other day!

    I think I'll prob go for a revo map and exhaust after I've saved up a few quid!!

    Just spent over £1000 on it with a main service, dsg service, brake service and a few other wear n tear bits n bobs!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  17. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Really? Thanks mate.

    I thought of pushing the connects box down behind the stereo and running just the cable out by the side of the head unit?
     
  18. Sidhu88

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    76
    If ur anywhere near south west london i could get this sorted for u
     
  19. T8DPR

    T8DPR If Carlsberg Made Audi Drivers...

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    97
    I ran mine down the back of the climate control so it just sits in the cubby underneath

    also, I grounded on a screw on the side of the head unit
     
    london jay likes this.
  20. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Cheers mate for the kind offer. I'm now in Hertfordshire near Watford but thanks a lot anyway
     
  21. dano200

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    That's interesting, the cubby was where I originally wanted the box but didn't see a way of getting down there. Must go and have a better look.
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    All wired up now. Seems a bit crackly. Maybe its because the only place I could earth it was to a screw on the side of the head unit?
     
  24. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Actually sounds not coming out from 1 rear speaker now for some reason! !!!!????
     
  25. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    If I select the cdc the sound doesn't come out of 1 rear speaker but If I select cd or radio it comes through fine??
    Any thoughts please guys?

    Cheers
     
  26. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    I think It's to do with the wiring from connects. Make sure all the cables are in the poets securely
     
  27. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ok Andy thanks mate
     
  28. london jay

    london jay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    All sorted now! One of the wires in the connectors was slightly loose.

    Many thanks to everyone who took the time to give me their knowledge.

    Cheers!!!

    Jay
     
  29. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    38
    No worries mate. Glad it's all worked out
     
    london jay likes this.
  30. dano200

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Glad it's all sorted chap.
     
    london jay likes this.
  31. rory21388

    rory21388 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    IMAG0136.jpg

    This is the back of my stereo. It's a double din with a quad lock connection.

    AUDI CONCERT A2 A3 A4 TT 05 USB SD CARD AUX IN ADAPTER CONNECTS 2 CTAADUSB004 | eBay

    This is what I was thinking of buying. Will this fit my stereo and if so does anyone have fitting instructions?

    The connector on the connects2 looks like it would plug in where the green connector currently is. The green connector doesn't appear to do anything at the moment. Can anyone explain this?

    Thanks,
    Rory
     
  32. rory21388

    rory21388 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone?
     
  33. dano200

    dano200 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    This is where I got mine from, Car Audio Equipment | Buy online at Car Audio Security and is listed for a3 with quadlock connector. If in doubt phone them and speak to them about it they will ensure you get the right one.

    I would think the green connector is for the multi changer cd, I take it you don't have one fitted?
     
  34. rory21388

    rory21388 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats would make sense wouldnt it? However unless there is a changer hidden somewhere that I haven't come across I dont have one! The thing is the green connector is wired up to something. What else could it be? I hoped a little bit that it could be something like a hidden AUX that I havent come across but I genuinely am stumped!

    Anyone got any idea what the green plug could be given that it isnt the CD changer?
     

Share This Page