1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connector help

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Bramley, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 17, 2013]
    I'm having trouble connection the standard a3 cables to my aftermarket xtrons double din DVD/sat nav etc. anything I'm missing?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 22, 2014]

  3. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    Maybe a conversion adapter kit like the connects2 stuff?
    #2
  4. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    I think I have a connector missing from the manufacturer tbh.
    #3
  5. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    are you still asking for help? if so what 'troubles' are you having?
    #4
  6. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    So basically I need to connect these together, what do I need?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #5
  7. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    #6
  8. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Ye I thought something like that but doesnt look like it would fit hmmm, I have emailed them anyway.

    Thanks
    #7
  9. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Right, spoken to Dynamic sounds and they have nothing that will connect the 2 together.

    The supplier says that this is the correct ISO connector supplied but it doesnt fit.

    What can I do now? how can I connect them together? can I make one??
    #8
  10. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    the problem is the aftermarket connector, as the audi ones can be converted to work with other brands (alpine, pioneer, kenwood etc.) I have installed many aftermarket systems in audis and i always do so with the use of the connects2 adapters as these work perfectly with the CanBus system and tie up the steering controls.

    now the main problem seems that the aftermarket connector you have isnt an actual ISO connector, so at this point i would go back to the manufacturer and see if they can do something about the connector

    I guess if you could figure out the pin outs on the connector you could wire it all up yourself but you will probably find some things wont work properly on first try
    #9
  11. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Ye the problem is the aftermarket connector, they dont seem to understand tho, grrrr

    So if worst comes to worst, could they just be soldered together or something ?
    #10
  12. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    yh but like i said finding out how to connect it all is going to be a headache as the car is can bus so you dont have for instance a power feed etc.
    i would probably still get the connects2 adapter as it already has the wire conversion done from Audi CanBus to standard ISO and then try to link up the ISO side to the stereo, should help you out much more.
    #11
  13. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    So linking up the ISO side to the stereo will be alot easier will it?
    #12
  14. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    This is an ISO Connector thing for my year A3 and looks very similar to the one I have. What does the bit I have circled connect to??

    [​IMG]
    #13
  15. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    #14
  16. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    I was just using that as an example, what does the circled bit attach to??

    Plus the one attached is for an older a3 than mine with steering wheel controls :S
    #15
  17. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    doesnt matter what year yours is as you posted this as your car wiring:

    [​IMG]


    those plugs match up to these plugs:

    [​IMG]

    the steering wheel control box does give you the option to add the wheel controls yes, but also has wires in there to connect into the cars canbus system... believe me i have done enough stereo installs on the A3.
    #16
  18. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Just seen this on the website -
    2) ISO Connection Block / Wires
    D002 / TD5801 without block
    These units do not come with ISO standard wires for speaker, power and radio. You can get the correct connector locally for your car for easy connection. Alternatively, you can join the wires together. D702 / D4302 / TD702 with block
    These units come with ISO standard block, you can plug and go different cars come with different connection blocks of shape and size, but if your car has ISO standard connector, it will fit. Standard ISO connecting blocks for the car can be easily acquired locally.

    So I'm guessing they want me to convert myself anyway
    #17
  19. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Ah right I see, sorry not doubting your ability, just trying to gert my head around it.

    So the canbus box in the pic would be the same as the one supplied then??
    Also as you can see the connector into the back of the unit is dif to the above pic, so that is the end i will need to change??

    http://www.xtrons.com/Files/PF71A3A/PF71A3A-11.jpg
    #18
  20. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    [​IMG]

    Ok so it looks like the unit comes with the cabling that you would typically use on a quadlock connector so no other wiring adapter would be needed. the only problem is that your car is not quadlock so you need an Audi ISO to Quadlock converter.
    Its commonly used to install the Audi RNSE units as they are all quadlock.

    do your own search into it as im not 100% sure that is the quadlock connector on that wiring harness you already have but this should do the trick:

    Audi A3 A4 A6 TT Allroad RNS-E sat nav PLUG PLAY adapter navigation installation | eBay
    #19
  21. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Wow now im confused!

    Thanks for your help.

    To me it doesnt look like they would match up completely?? :unsure:
    #20
  22. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    ok so im going to use a load of pictures to help me explain this one as it should make it easier to understand.


    here is what you have in your car:

    [​IMG]

    and this is what you find in the newer A3's (quadlock connector)

    [​IMG]

    you will notice that the quadlock in the car is a female connector.
    so you would need the male end to go into it...

    this is the back of an Audi Sat nav unit with the male quadlock:

    [​IMG]

    notice how that back of the Sat nav unit has the connector that looks like the one that comes with your aftermarket unit:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    now to convert your current wires in the car to match that of the wiring adapter for the aftermarket unit im thinking you would need one of these:

    [​IMG]

    Audi A3 A4 A6 TT Allroad RNS-E sat nav PLUG PLAY adapter navigation installation | eBay

    that make sense??
    #21
  23. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Yes I've sort of got my head around it! Thanks so much for your help and patience!

    Also in the picture of the quadlock adapter for RNS-E, it has 4 connectors where as I have 3, does this matter or is one just ok hangin down?
    #22
  24. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    yh that should be fine, its an extra connector i think for extra accessories you could have had in your car. not that would matter anyway as your new headunit probably not compatible with it.

    leave it hanging... a lil to the left :jester:
    #23
  25. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Looking at a comparison of my pins and the RNS-E pins, the RNS-E pins look to be all in a row where as mine are abit scattered and I have one more pin, hmmm can i move these around?
    #24
  26. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    no you shouldnt need to, the pins will be in the right place depending on what wire it is picking up the signal for. best to try it as it is and go from there.

    but if you are really in need of moving wires here is something that should also help you out.

    Wiring diagrams for the 3 plugs you have:

    [​IMG]

    Wiring diagrams for the RNSE Quadlock:

    [​IMG]
    #25
  27. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Thank you bud! Such a big help, although I cant see the first pic?
    #26
  28. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    #27
  29. Bramley
    Offline

    Bramley Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 4, 2013]
    Ash - System all works fine bar the rear speakers, is there one for a half amplified system??
    #28
  30. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,647
    Likes Received:
    434
    [Mar 6, 2013]
    Your loom should sort that out for you, make sure the settings are all correct on the head unit as I have seen this before on other cars as the system was setup for rear sub which was wrong for that car, that would work if the car had Bose. Also you may need to rewire the rear speakers to the head unit directly if that doesn't work.
    #29

Share This Page