1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting Infinity Basslink to audi Symphony 2 help needed please

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by rohailali, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. rohailali

    rohailali New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,Could someone please help me installing the Infinity basslink active subwoofer to my Audi a3 8p 2004 model.I have pretty standard Half amplified Audi symphony 2 stereo in my car.front two speaker are run by headunit and rear two speaker and the original sub is run by factory amplifier.Could any one please guide me how to get the feed for inifity basslink as audi symphony doesn’t have any pre amp output.Any help or advice will be much appreciated.Regards Jav
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. rohailali

    rohailali New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    any piece of advice please??
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best way would be to extract the amp from inside the OEM sub, and tap the rear pre-outs and remote on from there. The problem is you need to still keep the feeble Audi rear amp plugged in. Instructions & pinouts are here:
    http://freepdfhosting.com/6b28e2fdcb.pdf
     
    rohailali likes this.
  5. rohailali

    rohailali New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks ever so much AndyMac.this guide provided by you is brilliant.would it be possible if I can keep the OEM sub and amp running and tap the wires and install the active infinity basslink too to increase the bass?do you reckon it would sound better or it would actually weaken te signal if divided and used on two sub?
    once again many thanks
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    I wouldn't bother the Audi sub is useless. You can run both, just use some wire taps (piggybacks) to tap the left & right signals, screen and remote on for the BassLink.
     
  7. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,487
    AndyMac

    Appreciate the Audi/Bose sub is absolute tat, but for a complete lazy arse like myself who doesn't want to carve up a brand new car, will layering a good dose of dynamat on the existing sub make any positive difference, or just make it worse??

    (Apolgies for thread hijack).
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    44
    Actually makes it worse
     
  9. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,487
    Tragic. Can't afford to lose any more boot space as there is precious little with the raised floor in the haldex cars, and on a '61 plate' I don't feel the compulsion to start tearing the insides apart until I know it's a keeper.
     
  10. rohailali

    rohailali New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks AndyMac.I ordered the speaker and other cables will soon install the basslink following your advice and once completed will upload the pics
    Kind regards
     

Share This Page