1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused with Steering Wheel Controller!

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Funkyfin2000, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Guys,

    Looking at Cruise Control for my audi A4 Avant 2004 1.9TDI Sport.

    It has a 3 spoke steering wheel with on board computer (MPG/Length Driven) but no Steering Wheel Controls.

    VAG com/VCDS lite say the VAG NUMBER is 8E0 953 549S which on RossTechs site says is not compatable with Cruise control and requires updating.

    TPS with my VIN number says my Steering Wheel controller should be fine and checking finer details on Ross Techs site my coding says its coded as a 3 Spoke Steering Wheels which should have a compatable controller!

    any ideas...is VAG com giving me an incorrect part number?

    If I have On Board computer...it must have a suitable Steering Wheel Controller?

    any help appreciated...different between a £100 bill and £300!

    Rich
    #1
  2. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    all modules do on board computer but only mid to high end ones do 3 spoke steering wheel

    i would take the steering cowling off and check what number is written on it!
    #2
  3. amz
    Offline

    amz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi mate, unfortunately the part numbers ending with the letters 'F' and 'S' are not compatible. I had to upgrade my steering module too to the 'Mid' line/'High' line, in order to enable cruise control.
    #3
  4. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    +1

    My 2005 S4 had an S suffix SCSM which I had to swap when I wanted to add cruise control.
    #4
  5. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    HI guys,

    Looks like its bad news then, but will DOUBLE check...

    Can I check which cowling needs to be removed to get to the Part Number??

    Is it just the two torx bolts on the cowling....

    Rich
    #5
  6. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    If VCDS say's its the 'S', then its the S. Can't really trust TPS to see what parts are installed tbh.

    You can easily do a visible check without removing the steering wheel.

    Remove the 2x T8 Torx Screws from the bottom cowling, this will release the top cowling and allow you to flip the cover back to reveal a white sticker.
    #6
  7. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    I take your point....VCDS will be reporting accuratly! Doh! just didn't want to think about the additional cost...

    anyone know how much the Steering Wheel controllers are? Is there much point getting a Highline one over a mid line? apart from the highline allows for Heated Steering wheel which I will never have!

    I guess its checking the price of them all and which one is the cheapest..
    #7
  8. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    And final question....doesn't a yellow wire have to be fitted with a new steering wheel module as well?
    #8
  9. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    Just get any module that doesnt end in a S or F and you'll be grand.

    Theres a few on the bay for around £85.

    You dont need to install a yellow wire.
    #9
  10. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    489
    no
    #10
  11. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    Fab guys, cheers... whats the yellow wire about then :S
    #11
  12. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    Where did you hear about a yellow wire?
    #12
  13. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    #13
  14. Mike.M
    Offline

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    63
    That is for DIS, but you can simply ground pin one of the blue dash plug.
    #14
  15. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    So I do need to do something with additional wires then?

    I have DIS already
    #15
  16. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    no as you have dis you will either have the washer level sensor or the pin will have been grounded already unless you have a washer level warning on your dash permanently
    #16
  17. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    As Stu said, if you already have DIS then dont worry about the wire.
    #17
  18. Funkyfin2000
    Offline

    Funkyfin2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cheers guys, top dollar.
    #18

Share This Page