1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concert II swap with RNS-E woe

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by liam_bowers, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. liam_bowers
    Offline

    liam_bowers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2013]
    Hi,


    I'm not quite sure where this post belongs.


    To cut a long story short I'm swapping a Concert II with a friends RNS-E but have run in to a couple of problems.


    Current setup:


    My 2008 A3:
    Concert II
    No Bose
    No bluetooth/phone prep etc, Dension Gateway 100


    Friends 2011 A3
    RNS-E
    Bose
    Bluetooth/Ipod/Phone Prep


    The RNS-E fits in mine and powers up but I realise I'm going to need to grab a few things such as a GPS arial to get it working. What else would I need to do?
    I believe I also need to set a jumper for the Bose.


    The problem starts when we put the Concert II in the friends vehicle. Unit doesn't power on.


    Does anyone have any ideas?


    Any help is appreciated.


    Cheers,
    Liam
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 23, 2014]

  3. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 17, 2013]
    Concert II+ requires a safe wire alongside the main power wire. Check on the lid of the concert and you can see in D16 the extra power cable.

    You will also have issues with the antenna in the car your fitting the concert II+ into. You will need to join the two antenna connectors to the right hand side RNS-E antenna wire. So you need a Y splitter or it will stop picking up stations after a few minutes.
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
    #2
  4. liam_bowers
    Offline

    liam_bowers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 17, 2013]
    Thanks for the useful reply. That sounds simple enough.

    Would there be any issues with me taking a feed from the same harness?

    Cheers
    #3
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 17, 2013]
    No, it will work just fine.
    #4

Share This Page