1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concert II for S3, for sale?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by metricspaces, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anyone have a Concert II for sale (the one with the CD player) to fit a 1999 S3?

    I currently have a Concert I (with the tape) and I want a Concert II that will sit 100% flush in the dash.

    If anyone currently has replaced a Concert I with a Concert II and it sits flush, could you send me on the part number please?

    I'm having trouble getting info on what the correct part number is for the Concert II for my car. I've read that the following two will fit in

    4B0 057 186
    8Z0 057 186

    Any help greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. markyp2002

    markyp2002 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Second that mate, im after the same thing, got an old aftermarket CD player only problem is, the ISO adapters arent capable of wiring up the BOSE speaker setup which concludes a separate ISO adapter connecting the speakers to the Front/Rear speaker phono connections on the back of the cd player.

    It works well, but the popping when changing song or between cd/radio is very annoying.

    I have seen a few of the 8Z0 057 186 A's going on Ebay for a decent price:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AUDI-CONCERT-CD-PLAYER-RADIO-STEREO-A3-A4-A6-A8-TT_W0QQitemZ330295283234QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Audio_TV_Electronics_In_Car_Entertainment_GPS_In_Car_Audio_Players_PP?hash=item330295283234&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AUDI-CONCERT-...3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66:2|65:1|39:1|240:1318

    Hope this helps!
     
  4. benr

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just want to say IIRC make sure your current concert 1 uses CAN - the info is on this forum to find out.

    If it has it will be fine if it hasnt got CAN then its a hassle as you would need a can simulator (£90) - mine didnt have it so i will prob go aftermarket

    Also i dont know what p/n's will fit but the only diffence seems to be the face plate.

    PS they come up on ebay but tbh for a decent one they arent cheap.
     
  5. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    As far as I understand the Concert II will still work without CAN. You just have problems like: it cuts out after an hour, it doesn't light up when you turn on the lights.

    I can live with the limitations of using a Concert II without CAN.

    Yep, this is what I understand too, but I want the Concert II that will sit 100% flush with the dashboard in my S3.

    I've searched the forums...but I couldn't find any information for the part number of the Concert II that will fit in 100% to a prefacelift S3 8L.

    Surely someone out there must have replaced a Concert I in a prefacelift S3 8L with a Concert II?
     
  6. andyg0141

    andyg0141 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    i replaced mine a week ago with one...part number 8z0 035 186....i bought two canbus emulators from germany (due to the high postage costs i thought i may as well buy two incase anyone else needs one) so have one spare if anyone wants it....think i paid about £150 all in for the two delivered so if someone wanted one for say £70 delivered there welcome too it....they were bought from here
    http://www.kufatec.de/shop/product_...lator-Audi-Concert-2--Chorus-2--Symphony.html

    Cheers, Andy
     
  7. markyp2002

    markyp2002 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well after whipping the old stereo out today, seems that it is already CAN setup so a straight swap shouldnt be a problem.

    The model number on the side of mine is 4Z0 035 186 so im assuming the only difference with 4->8 is the CD player part of it!
     
  8. JJBS3

    JJBS3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I have been thinking of doing this for a while....can I ask a stupid question.....how would I know if mine would need this CAN-BUS simulator? :redface:

    Cheers
    J
     
  9. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Andy, is your S3 a prefacelift?

    Maybe someone can correct me, but I think the facia for the prefacelift is different than the facelift?
     
  10. andyg0141

    andyg0141 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    pass lol...its a 1999 plate thats all i no lol
     
  11. Dennis Moeller

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    1
    Folks...

    Have you found out if that 8Z0.... Concert II actually did fit?
     
  12. Mr.G

    Mr.G Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all....

    Very interesting post you've started here. I'm after exactly the same thing here.

    I have the Tape (BOSE too) system and was wondering if the FaceLift S3 is the one with CANBUS.

    Why do Audi do these silly things why is it not just as simple as plug and play. Its really gets on my boobs.

    I wish to fit the Concert II but think that the pre facelift and facelift piano centre console is different (slightly) and therefore might not fit?

    Confusing to say the least!

    I've got my eyes out for Concerts though as i don't want aftermarket stuff. Doesn't look right imo. I love the OEM look!

    G
     
  13. Ian W

    Ian W Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    8
    I would also like to know the outcome of this, I really want an OEM in dash CD player
     
  14. metricspaces

    metricspaces Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. Dennis Moeller

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you! So you tried it and this is what you came out with right:

    ""
    I just got a Concert II from Ebay with part number 8z0 035 186a.

    The Concert II has precisely the same dimensions as the Concert I so it fits in 100%.

    The only thing, as mentioned by AlexStanley above is that the radio is grey whereas my dash is black.
    ""

    As I have the facelift (2001 with CAN) I'm interested to find out what size fascia I need...hopefully they didnt change that too...?!?

    Did you find out whether it was made in a fascia color to fit your dash...was it the letter at the end of the part number or was it the part number itself?

    Cheers...
     
  16. Pirrex

    Pirrex Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Btw. If I use a concert 2 in my pre-facelift without the can-bus simulator, will it still show for example the track playing on the FIS, or are the only cons with not having the simulator that it will not turn on from the ignition, and that it will turn off after an hour?
     

Share This Page