1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concert gen 1 to concert gen 2

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by brys3, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. brys3

    brys3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it straight forward to swap a gen 1 concert for a gen 2 single cd? What is required and does anyone have one for sale?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. rossbrownlee

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you considered buying a phatbox, fitting it in place of your cd changer, and controlling it through your existing Gen1 head unit?
    google phatnoise.
     
  4. brys3

    brys3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be honest I think I'm decided on going down the gen 2 route, just hope it isn't much hassle to install
     
  5. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Should be fine as you have a later S3. You only get issues trying to run a gen2 on a non CANBUS controlled model. Your 2001 is CANBUS controlled so no problems.
     
  6. brys3

    brys3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed the part number I'm after 8p0035186c but they did a part number beginning 8e...... Will this fit aswell or do I defiantely need the 8p
     
  7. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    They will all fit, but the fascia's are very very slightly different. So you just need to check with the seller on what vehicle & age to ensure correc fit with your dash
     
  8. brys3

    brys3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right ok, so for example if it's from an 02 a4 will it fit?
     
  9. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    No it needs to be from an A3 as all models have a slightly different fascia profile.
     

Share This Page