1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concert 'CD ERROR' in 2007 S3

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by DaveyB, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. DaveyB
    Offline

    DaveyB No misfires.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    7
    As the title suggests I have encountered an error!

    My standard double din concert system has always worked fine for the last year or so I have had the car but recently whilst playing 'CD's (which is very rare as I have the crappy ipod dock) the CD freezes and won't eject. 'CD Error' and 'service' flashes up.

    A quick web search reveals that this is a 'known; fault but I havent found anything similar on here. The HU is the front loading 6CD version.

    What are my options seeing as the car is 2 months out of warranty? Drop kick it up the garden and replace with something else?

    Thanks in advance
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
    #1
  2. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    Hard to say whether it will be cheaper to fix than replace (off the bay / second hand). Problem is, it could happen again with a second hand replacement.

    I'd imagine a local electronics firm may be as likely to fix it as Audi as usually it will be laser alignment or failure which isn't a complex fix as most drives are made by a handful of suppliers (philips / Sony etc.).

    Have you tried running a TDK laser lens cleaning CD through it just incase it's fluff / dust?
    #2
  3. DaveyB
    Offline

    DaveyB No misfires.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    7
    Cheers Warren - those were my thoughts exactly with a replacement, i.e it could happen again if its a design/manufacturer fault.

    I will give the TDK idea a go as there is every chance it could be a bit dusty because of the design of the unit. It can't have seen much action due to the mileage/age of the car so its not as if it's 'knackered' so to speak.
    #3
  4. paulsaudi
    Offline

    paulsaudi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi DaveyB,

    I had similar problem with my sat nav-disc that loads into the front of my RNS-D, it said "cd error" same as yours.

    I tried disc cleaner etc but had no luck.......

    So i took the unit out, took the top off, stuck a cotton bud in my mouth to dampen it slightly and guided it in very carefully onto the laser and twisted. The cotton bud went black!!!!! I kept doing it until cotton bud was clean and with the last cotton bud i used it dry.

    Put the unit back together, put disc in and loaded first time. Never had a problem since :)

    Hope this fix will solve your problem to

    Paul
    #4
  5. DaveyB
    Offline

    DaveyB No misfires.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    7
    Excellent stuff Paul - great to have another plan of attack!
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
    #5

Share This Page