1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concert aux / line level in question

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by zack1uk, May 22, 2008.

  1. zack1uk
    Offline

    zack1uk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I've just ordered my new Audi A3. Its gonna have the standard concert Hu with Bose. I've been looking at all the various Ipod integration options for my Iphone and am considering a bluetooth phone kit too.

    For the ipod I've decided upon the Harmon Kardon drive+play so that I can use all my play lists, not just the 1st 5. It uses either a hardwired FM modulator (plugs into the aerial socket on the back of the HU) or the better choice of 2 phono (L/R) plugs at line level. I can make up an adapter for the 2 phono plugs and have seen that the Concert has 2 line level (or are they high level? - not sure) inputs on the back that are also used for a cd-changer.

    My question is what adaptor / plug to i need to get to plug into the back of the HU and where can I get it from? It doesn't matter what is on the other end of this adapter as I can cut it off and solder on the phone sockets, just the HU end that I need to worry about. Or are these wires already going to be there (I haven't gone for a CD Changer) and I can just tap into these using scotchlocks or something similar. I know that the new Audi's have a 3.5mm input socket so could I tap into that in the same way?

    The following thread indicates that it can be done:
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=47231

    Is it still the case that the aux-in need to be enabled by a dealer (or someone with a vag-com) ?

    If I later go for a bluetooth phone kit such as the parrot or audi what impact does this have on the above installation, or do the bluetooth kits use a separate connections on the back of the HU, if at all?

    Thanks in advance.
    #1
  2. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    If you plug straight into the CD input it won't work, the HU won't allow you to change the source to CD changer as it won't think one is connected. You need some electronics like Denison ICELink to fool the HU into thinking a changer is connected.
    #2
  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, your car will come with AUX-IN pre-fitted and pre-enabled.
    #3
  4. zack1uk
    Offline

    zack1uk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for the replies.

    So the only way that I can use the aux in / line in on the HU would be to either plug it into the 3.5mm plug or tap into the wire that supplies the jack (or use the FM modulator and the aerial lead). I'm not keen on going down the icelink route, unless I can find a cheap one off ebay, as its kind of defeating the object of the HK drive+play. Also its adding even more connections into the chain and the inevitable reduction in sound quality.

    Its gonna have to be the former, rather than the latter I think. I don't mind tapping into single wires and twisted pairs etc, but i imagine that the cable supplying the 3.5mm socket will be a double sheathed single core type cable. I might see if I can get hold of a wiring diagram for the new A3s with the 3.5 mm socket and see where they tap off the back of the HU, and try to use that.

    Do any of the common bluetooth car kits have a line in, does anyone know?
    #4
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    I still don't see why you can't just plug into the 3.5mm socket on the front, or am I missing something?
    #5
  6. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would seem like the easiest solution wouldn't it? Just get an RCA to 3.5mm jack adapter and away you go?
    #6
  7. zack1uk
    Offline

    zack1uk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    From this I'm presuming that the 3.5mm socket is built into the new HU and not remotely located in either the center console or the dash as I was hoping :sob:

    Indeed it would be the easiest solution, but I am trying to minimize the number of wires trailing about all over the dashboard of my car. When you consider there's the GPS, the charger for my works mobile, the audio and charge leads for the iphone it all starts to get a bit messy. I've always preferred neat and discrete installations so if I can spend half a day and a few quid to hide it all away then its time (and money) well spent imho.

    I had considered this option and its what I will do if the socket is in the center console. If not, it will probably have to be a DICE type solution and turn the ashtray into an ipod dock, then simply control the tunes / playlists directly from the iphone.

    That said, as per my op, I'm just investigating options atm and these are getting more and more limited.

    Thanks anyway guys. :applaus:
    #7
  8. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could hide the AUX-IN wire at the rear of the RNS-E if you didnt want to use the 3.5mm input jack.

    For reference though, I 'think' the AUX-IN socket should be in the center console near the handbrake.
    #8
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    If you want a neat solution then don't use a bloody iPhone/iPOD, go with a proper solution like a phatnoise.
    #9
  10. zack1uk
    Offline

    zack1uk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Issac, I do hope so.

    Well thanks for that suggestion but I don't think so. I'm pretty sure that a neat solution can be achieved without spending that much on what is effectively a hard drive and an IPOD adapter, especially as I'm back in the realms of playlists being controlled (and limited) by the head unit. Besides, I've got my music stored in enough different locations cheers.
    #10
  11. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    So one more is hardly going to make any difference. Sorry I'm sick of people fiddling with their phones & iPODs while supposedly being in control of their cars. It should and probably will be illegal very soon.
    Phatbox is voice controlled, so it's not just a hard drive.
    #11
  12. zack1uk
    Offline

    zack1uk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    /sigh

    This exactly the reason why I wanted to use the HK drive+play (£22) in the 1st place. All I was asking for was advice on how to connect it to the Audi HU. Somehow this has resulted in it being insinuated that I'm an irresponsible driver. In my humble opinion its one of the safest ways of listening to music whilst driving, even safer than using the HU.
    #12

Share This Page