1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concert 2 to Concert 2

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by abpostelnicu, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. abpostelnicu
    Offline

    abpostelnicu ANdi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    Hey guys i want to update my concert 2 to a concert 3 can you please tell me from where can i buy the adapting cables?

    Many thanks,
    ANdi
    #1
  2. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    108
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    In short, it cant be done. I tried to upgrade from Symphony II to Concert III and found out the hard way.

    The new style radio (with the swing locking arm) uses different power points so one of the wires from the adapter needs to be piggy-backed to provide power to the radio. But you also then have problems with the radio as the wiring is different... I'll try find the thread I created so you can have a look through...
    #2
  3. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    108
  4. abpostelnicu
    Offline

    abpostelnicu ANdi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    I know that concert III uses a diversity antena but on my concert II i already have installed one :)
    #4
  5. abpostelnicu
    Offline

    abpostelnicu ANdi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    any points to where i can buy a cable convertor?
    #5
  6. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    108
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    I don't think it was the diversity antenna thats the problem, you'll have to replace the antenna boosters that are located in the boot of the car.

    But as you can see from that thread, you may not have any issues, and being in Romania the whole picking up radios etc could be a different ball game.



    If you go ahead with it, the adapter you need is: AUDI RNS-E adapter A3 A4 A6 Diversity antenna 0141 on eBay (end time 04-Feb-11 14:19:49 GMT)

    and the above thread will give you info on what wire you'll need to piggy-back. Good luck.
    #6
  7. abpostelnicu
    Offline

    abpostelnicu ANdi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    I already have that kit since my car had for a couple of months a rns-e that i've sold, so it's a plug and play thing but the problem that will remain it will be with the diversity antena?
    #7
  8. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    108
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    Im not sure if it is the diversity antenna that will cause the problems, I just got told that doing the install will affect the radio due to the radio from a Concert 3 being of a different kind the radio from a Conert 2. NHN talks about it in the above thread, but as also mentioned, you may not have any problems - all depends if you want to try and find out!
    #8
  9. abpostelnicu
    Offline

    abpostelnicu ANdi

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 13, 2011]
    any other thought?
    #9

Share This Page