1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

computer upgrade

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by 205man, May 17, 2007.

  1. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    as im going to be stuck at home whilst my knee recovers i think im going to upgrade my desktop pc, as i can do my work from my laptop, and ill now have the spare time to upgrade it.

    at the moment this is whats inside

    msi K7N2 Delta2-LSR motherboard
    amd athlon xp 2100+ (socket a)
    2 gig ddr sdram pc3200
    nvidia geforce fx5500 agp

    im looking to get a new motherboard / processor and eventually a new graphics card.

    i play a few games but not huge amount as ive the the 360 for that, so it will be used for a lot of photoshop work and cad work.

    up until now its been ok for what ive been using it for but i now feel its to slow.

    so can i have suggestions for a new board (agp) and processor i want to stay with amd as i have an amd tower case and dont see the need to buy another

    im not looking to spend thousands but looking to build a pc that will last me another coupel of years before i need to spend again

    alan
    #1
  2. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok first things firs agp is old news, and if u're doing cad and photoshop u'll be wanting a pci-e board.

    You're gonna have to upgrade your power supply anyway so the amd/intel thing is irrelevant.

    Aim for a dual core 3.4 p4 or an athlon 64 3500+

    DDR2 pc5300 a gig at least

    PCi-e geforce 7600GT minimum

    That should get you going - i'd expect to pick that lot up for under or about 200

    oh and a new power supply(tenner)
    #2
  3. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    i knew some one was going to tell me i would need to use pci-e , i thought id ask anyway lol

    ill stick with amd as i never had any problems with them so far but just wasnt sure which to go for

    cheers

    alan
    #3
  4. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    #4
  5. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    what socket processor should i be thinking of ?

    intel and amd
    #5
  6. ScoobyA4
    Offline

    ScoobyA4 ding dang do

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    personally i wouldnt buy from Ebay for electronics, i want to be sure of aftersales support!

    I get from here: http://www.microdirect.co.uk/productlister.aspx?n=2,17&n=3354

    That pages takes you direct to the Processors so you can browse and choose. remember, 64bit CPU will run 32bit windows (and of course the 64bit version!) so dont worry about that...
    #6
  7. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're going amd then a socket 939 is what you'll be wanting, good compromise between price and power available.

    With intel try and get a 935 i guess.

    The website aboves prices arent too bad at all id have a look on there
    #7
  8. Beerzo
    Offline

    Beerzo Masa'warty 3200... Talk To Me!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont get a dual core processor unless you are or are going to run VISTA. As XP doesnt utilise it correctly and you will see very little performance improvement over a normal processor. I would go for an AMD processor. Not into Intel stuff.

    But deffo gp for a pci-e g f/x card. If you wanna push the boat out you could get XBOX 360 graphics if not better on the pc for not alot of money if you go for a beefy GF/x card.
    #8
  9. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm an AMD man but I like the look of the new Quad-Core Intel offerings.
    Try overclockers as they have a good selection, i use them and microdirect.

    Asus M/B are pretty solid too.
    #9
  10. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4

Share This Page