1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Computer keeps resetting whilst driving

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by modern_epic, Feb 16, 2013.

1. modern_epic

modern_epic New Member

[Feb 16, 2013]
    Hi guys,
    im a forum noob. I own a 2003 A3 1.9 TDi sport. Recently I have had a few problems, new door lock and new window regulator but to name a few. Everything is fixed bar this>>>
    When I am driving along and I start to accelerate and reach high (ish) revs, the car electrics seem to restart, mpg trip computer etc all reset, even the fuel gauge shows a different reading to what it was prior to reset.

I imagine this must be a loose connection which is being loosened further whilst car accelerates and engine moves a bit. My problem is I have no idea where or how to check for this loose connection.

Come to think of it there is one more thing Id like to ask, sometimes when I go to brake the pedal is really stiff and car takes a while to slow. If i quickly tap accelerator with clutch in then just the brake again it is fine.

Many thanks in advance for any replies at all.

Steve
  2. Ads

Ads

[Sep 23, 2014]

3. <tuffty/>

<tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

[Feb 16, 2013]
    I would scan for fault codes in the first instance... anything electrical should throw some sort of code somewhere (even if its not the actual fault it may elude to what is)... as for the the brake pedal... it would normally go stiff and take a lot of braking effort if the servo loses vacuum... I would check the vacuum pipes as a precaution...

<tuffty/>
  4. modern_epic

modern_epic New Member

[Feb 16, 2013]
    cheers for your reply!

im not the most mechanically gifted person shall we say, could you perhaps point me in the direction as to where the vacuum pipes are? also, how would I scan for codes? would i need to buy the vagcom lead and program?
  5. modern_epic