1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Home & Leaving Home Lights Enabled

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MarcQuinlivan, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Cruiser,

    Out of interest did the leaving home/coming home mod with the wire work for you (putting the described issue aside)? You're the only person on the thread that visually & obviously has an 8P3 2009+ car that appears to have attempted it so hope you don't mind me inquiring :icon_thumright: Cheers.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Boon

    Boon Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    58
    Many thanks for your guide, it has worked a treat

    54 plate A3 sportback, No light pack, No light/rain sensor (auto lights)

    Checked the settings in VCDS then earthed pin 12 in block E with a quick touch and left the wire tucked inside with the fuses to add a push to make switch at some time for when the battery has been disconnected and if it needs that quick re-earth tap

    Now on to the other issues...... Haha....
     
  4. danny_s3

    danny_s3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    Alright guys , tried this earlier on my 53 plate with mo
    joy, the lights flash on and off for about a half a second then go off,
    Any ideas ? Mines a 53 plate a3 btw, could it be the timing has been set to short for it with vcds?
     
  5. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    158
    Yep try your settings in vcds - I have mine set to 15 seconds coming and leaving home.
     
  6. danny_s3

    danny_s3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    After much messing around , following the guide , trying on my a3 and my mates I have had no joy ,
    Would anybody in the Luton or London area be interested in helping me if I brought my car to them
     
  7. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Has anyone tried this on the 8P3 A3 (2010 and later) yet with reliable results?

    Welcome to try on mine (2010 A3 BE 2.0 TDI 170ps) as an example car if anyone fancies it from a trial & error point of view to make sure I don't miss anything :icon_thumright:
     
  8. dannyp46

    dannyp46 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm the same as rdfcpete - I have just got my A3 BE (62 plate), I'm based in Sheffield and if anyone wants to test setting CH/LH lights I'd be happy to let them loose on the car. If anyone know's how to do the mod on post 10 plate A3's I'd appreciate it if I could have their contact details, preferably based in the North!
     
  9. BenC00

    BenC00 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    @NHN - Is this still the case?
    I've tried various different coding options and still my Xenon's come on instead of just Fogs & LED DRLs.
    CE is 8P0 907 279 N on my 2009 plate 8P3, I'm running the latest VCDS, not sure if there is a newer label file available to show more options?

    I've searched the forum high and low for an answer to this but have had no success. :(
     
  10. -adrian-

    -adrian- .fuct

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, cant really read the whole thread. got that problem: 00216 - Signal EC-mirror Fade Out 009 - Open or Short to GroundIs this part of the other error code with plus on light detection sensor? i had it wired as requested.. now the wire just hangs around somewhere. should i remove it or leave it hanging around and what is that error code?I also have the feeling my sound system has a earth problem - could it be this one? even though music is off it sounds like there is some "tension" on the speakers.Oh and why i actually wanted to post as well:bit 5 and 7 are set but for some reason the light goes just on when i leave the car, close it per remote and open it per remote again. then the light will go on. should it go on with door opening as well? because i have the feeling it just uses it as leaving home light:((edit: i actually found the position with the error codes. still not satisfied with the fact the ch/lh just works sometimes. would a useless workaround if its not actually working around :O so stop teasing this function would "work" without sensor :) got me all excited
     
    #289 -adrian-, Mar 21, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  11. beaty33

    beaty33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    where would you get the repair wire from if you didnt already have it?
    cheers
     
  12. Rom

    Rom Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    6
    Audi. I got a couple the other day
     
  13. Finder

    Finder New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to do the same thing as I've got a new light switch with CH/LH button but I can't find the wiring diagram. The link doesn't work anymore.
    Can anyone help?

    The car is a 2006 A3 Sportback.
     
    #292 Finder, Mar 27, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2013
  14. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Has anyone had the grand success of this working on a March 2010 or later car yet?

    I'm absolutely desperate for the leaving home lights (specifically).
    Cheers :icon_thumright:
     
  15. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    I did one the other day on a newer A3 where the coming home is enabled and then on a separate tick box there is a check box to set the coming home from auto to manual... as there is no rain sensor the auto option does not work but when set to manual all you have to do is switch the car off and then flick the full beam stalk and the lights will come on when you open the drivers door and stay on as you lock and leave the car.
    unfortunately i couldnt get the leaving home to work.
     
  16. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    YGM Ash! :thumbsup:

     
  17. winrya

    winrya Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did you ever solve this problem?
     
  18. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    Yeah by installing auto lights
     
  19. Belchie

    Belchie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all. I'm new to this site and a complete newbie to forums in general! I have done this little mod this weekend and it worked perfectly. Just a little piece of wire and some coding magic and job done! I take my hat off to you for thinking this little mod up.
     
  20. Garrry

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, please can you tell me which is bloody pin 12. Got half my car in pieces and can't find bloody pin 12. I'm so lame with stuff like this so thanks to you or anyone that helps. I think I have the right plug - see attached picture. Feel free to draw on the picture and reupload it to show me pin 12. :S

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Garrry

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone please explain in detail where pin 12 is. This forum won't allow me to upload a photo of the plug. Please help I have my dash apart waiting to find out where pin 12 is. Thanks.
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    the pin numbers are on the plugs, have a good look at the corners and it should have 1 on the edge on one side and 8 on the other side (i think it goes to 8)
     
  24. T33_BKD

    T33_BKD Cruiser

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    6
    You should see some small numbers on the corner of plug E. You may have to remove the housing first o see the numbers. once found just count your way in.
     
  25. Garrry

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The numbers are on where it plugs into? Is that right?

    This is what I am looking at:

    16 ▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️
    8 ▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️
     
  26. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Not working just yet!

    Important to note I'm doing only the rain sensor and light sensor retrofit, not the FULL auto light retrofit that most people would usually attack (which involves a new windscreen, new DRV mirror etc...)

    Few bits to do but once there, I'll confirm the results.
     
  27. Garrry

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0

    The numbers are on where it plugs into? Is that right?


    This is what I am looking at:


    16 ▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️
    8 ▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️

    Thanks.
     
  28. DeeGee68

    DeeGee68 DeeGee68

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Had mine turned on by ASH187 when he came to do some work on my car.... I am now smiling from ear to ear!
     
  29. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    38
    So count backward from position 16 until you reach 12.
     
  30. KKM

    KKM Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'm hoping to do this mod on my RS3.... But wondered if the coding had changed? Loaded things tonight on a friends laptop but the bytes / coding was slightly different?? Thanks Kev
     
  31. Garrry

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really annoyed. I have just driven over an hour to my local VCDS person. He told me that it isn't showing the option to activate the CH/LH Lights. It took me AGES to add the 'simple' ground wire - only to find out my car can't activate the mod.

    Can anyone understand why? I have a 1.6 SE A3 55 Plate car.
     
  32. Garrry

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
  33. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    38
    It's down to your electronics module if you cannot see the option in VAG depends which line you have. A low line or high line. Not all a3s will have the same options available in vag. I had to change mine to retrofit fog lights.
    Get the code off the bottom of the module which sits where the plugs are. I got my camera and took a picture then message NHN and he can let you know where to go from there. I purchased my highline from him. I might still have my other one which should have CH/LH lights I dig it out and find a code for you to confirm you can have it cheap for like £30 plus pnp if it works for you.
     
  34. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Now 100% have auto adaptive lights, leaving home lights (via LED's and front fogs, tail lights and number plate lights) and coming home using the same lights too. I needed a earlier sensor as it happens for my MY2010 car.

    As a result, I've now got two working sensors surplus to requirements if anyone wants them - both at a steal price given I paid £82 for the used one and even more for the brand new and boxed sensor :icon_thumright: Could be of use to someone attempting the same as me.

    GENUINE AUDI Q5 2.0 TFSI A4 A5 A6 A8 TT RS4 TTRS RAIN LIGHT SENSOR 8K0 955 559A | eBay

    GENUINE AUDI A5 2.0 TDI A4 A6 S5 RS5 RAIN LIGHT SENSOR (NEW) 8K0 955 559 C | eBay
     
  35. 95ram3

    95ram3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone around london or near who can do this mod for me. I have a 2005 audi a3 8p 5 door, looking to get the Coming Home & Leaving Home Lighting.
     
  36. granty578

    granty578 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    I'm really struggling with this too.

    I think I've put it in pin 12, as above I struggle to see the actual numbers so its next to the purple and white plug next to the two other empty spaces. Is that right?

    I've coded it in. The only thing I can think what may be causing an issue is I've got aftermarket HID's with projectors?
     
  37. 1inchwarrior

    1inchwarrior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did this yesterday and it worked like a treat (eventually)
    I followed the instructions on the linked Audi retrofit guide to a T but I couldn't get it to work initially as I was trying to do it with some 1.5mm cable and it wouldn't work.
    I bought a repair wire from my local dealer and tried fitting it to the block and that wouldn't go in all the way so I had a bit of a panic thinking that I had damaged the block until I realised that the block itself actually comes apart aswell. When I took it apart the repair wire just slipped in as there is a ledge or notch in the block that prevents the repair wire from slipping out and which was preventing my 1.5mm cable from going in far enough.
    Once fitted I refitted all the dash and then as everyone has already mentioned, I just touched the other end to a metal bolt to earth it and low and behold the lights came on. I then taped up the end to prevent it earthing again and tucked it away should I ever want to disable it in the future.
    I'm loving this simple and cheap mod, brings the car up to date.
     
  38. downtothebone

    downtothebone Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    95
    After a bit of faffing I think I've managed to get CH lights (manual mode) working on my 2011 A3 using VCDS only. I did quick test of:

    1. Engine running
    2. Lights on to dipped beam
    3. Lights fully off
    4. Engine and ignition off
    5. Quick pull of stalk to flash headlights
    6. Drivers door open
    7. Fog lights switch on
    8. Drivers door shut (but not locked)
    9. Fog lights switch off after 10s (as set in VCDS)

    I've also looked to make sure that all other light functions operate normally (DRL, park, dipped) and it looks that way.

    My car has halogens and drls/park bulb . No auto lights and no auto rain.

    I'll do some more testing tomorrow and try to activate LH if all appears well with CH.
     
  39. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Manually triggered CH lights (which you've got there) are fairly standard across most VAG models, with auto headlights and with manual headlights.
    You'll only need to pull the beam flash stalk towards you to activate it, day or night. The first few steps shouldn't be necessary.

    Most of my friends with all kinds of VAG hatch models can trigger that, of different ages too (as far back as 2004 in some cases).
    You won't need dusk or rain sensors to do this little bit.

    On an 8P3 like mine and yours, to get the Auto HL function is pretty painstaking and not cheap however you manage to do it. I'm £550 lighter from doing it, but it's worth it IMHO :thumbsup:
     
  40. 1inchwarrior

    1inchwarrior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    A collegue has seen this mod that I have done on my A3 and he now wants it on his car, he drives a Mk 6 Jetta. Is it possible? Tried enabling it in VCDS and nothing happened so I'm wondering if he requires the wire mod too and if so where would it go on this model.
    Thanks
    Ben
     
  41. SLiCKe

    SLiCKe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys,

    I've got a 58 plate A3 after facelift but no auto lights or rain sensor. I'm sure I got the dusk sensor. How would I go by activating LH and CH lights ?? Would the trick with the wire work ? Anyone close to Doncaster with VCDS cable would be willing to help to code it ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  42. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Administrator Moderator TeamMisano TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter quattro Audi S3 s tronic

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24,566
    Likes Received:
    7,669

Share This Page