1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Home & Leaving Home Lights Enabled

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MarcQuinlivan, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Apr 23, 2010]
    Not being funny, but have you even read the whole thread as it says very clearly what is needed mate, please read again then come back & ask any further queries the thread doesnt answer.

    For vcds users in your area, check link in my sig then contact them via PM.
  2. A3_SSS
    Offline

    A3_SSS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 26, 2010]
    Hi NHN,
    Have read the thread mate, was just wanting confirmation - alot has been discussed to and through.
    Seems to suggest that for later cars all thatis required is the vcds change. However, seen later posts stating that the headlights stay on with DRL's so not sure if this will affect me?
    Also will I get vcds errors when doing a diag check if this change is made? No-one (I don't think) has mentioned this for later version cars?
    Cheers for the link to vcds users :icon_thumright:
  3. waring192
    Offline

    waring192 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 3, 2010]
    Any ideas guys?
  4. Scott
    Offline

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    109
    [May 3, 2010]
    I had them enabled on mine & they have been fine, working as they should, DRL's have been fine etc. So not sure what to suggest
  5. A3_SSS
    Offline

    A3_SSS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2010]
    Scott,
    So al you've done is make the VCDS change and hey presto job's a good un?

    Post change you've had no fault codes and no issue driving with lights set to DRL and headlights also coming on?
  6. Scott
    Offline

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    109
    [May 4, 2010]
    Yup, been absolutely fine for a month or 2 now, haven't checked for fault codes though.
  7. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [May 4, 2010]
    I Just did mine last night, i had to make the ground connection and make a change in VCDS... but it seems to work fine, mind you i dont have DRL's
    I did get an error code though after i had made the ground connection:

    Address 09: Cent. Elect. Labels: 8P0-907-279-23-H.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 907 279 F HW: 8P0 907 279 F
    Component: Bordnetz-SG H36 1201
    Revision: 00H36000 Serial number: 00000002069441
    Coding: A58A4F20B214100000160000160000000009FE175C0100
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 08192

    Part No: 8P2 955 119 B
    Component: Wischer AU350 H01 0130
    Coding: 00062736
    Shop #: WSC 06314

    4 Faults Found:
    01800 - Light Switch (E1)
    008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent
    02195 - Dimmer Switch Instrument Panel & Switch Lighting (E20)
    009 - Open or Short to Ground - Intermittent
    00926 - Terminal 30
    011 - Open Circuit - Intermittent
    00918 - Terminal 31
    011 - Open Circuit - Intermittent

    But clearing this would stop the coming home lights from coming on so i am just ignoring it.
  8. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    18
    [May 4, 2010]
    The problem with the headlights staying on was all to do with the leaving home function being enabled. See my thread:-

    http://audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?65844-DRL-issue&highlight=DRL%20ISSUE

    It could of well now been sorted.

    Sarndip (A3_SSS) I've replied to your PM, I can program for you, you won't get any error codes and if you do we can revert back to original. I take it that as you have a black edition you have the LED DRL's? surprised you don't already have coming home leaving home especially with the spec of your car in your signature.

    Neil
  9. gynads
    Offline

    gynads Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 20, 2010]
    i cant for the life of me get this to work :mad:

    i did the coding, am i right in thinking the repair wire, slots into the plug i have removed, then re-insert the plug? plug/connector just says 8 and 16 on the rear?

    ps i have read the whole of this thred and the retro fit guide

    edit; its an 07 s3 with bi xenons, no auto lights etc
    Last edited: May 20, 2010
  10. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [May 20, 2010]
    Im guessing you have counted in from pin 16 to get to pin 12, connected to wire into pin 12 and then reconnected the plug. then once plugged in you have touched the other end of the wire to a grounding point JUST ONCE?

    i did exactly the above once i had coded the car to tell it that the CH lights are enabled, and once i did the above procedure the lights came on straight away. Its been working perfectly since.
  11. gynads
    Offline

    gynads Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 21, 2010]
    yup, counted in, looks like it goes 16, blank, 14,13,12 etc. Refitted connector earthed , nothing, tried a few times. Will the lights flick on and off like a switch each time i earth if the coding is done correctly?
  12. ~RS~
    Offline

    ~RS~ Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Feb 8, 2011]
    Anybody know if the LED on a facelift headlight can be activated in place of the dipped beam when CL/LH is enabled. I have it as standard but have currently halogen lamps and am retrofitting facelift LED xenons and will buy new switch for DRL's that has CLLH on it.
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Feb 8, 2011]
    The ch/lh is only headlights on pre my10 cars & then changes to fogs, so atm I'm unaware of any coding that changes this.
  14. latta1989
    Offline

    latta1989 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    This may seem like a stupid question but what exactly is a repair wire?
    Why is it diff from a normal bit of wire?
    Best place to get them?
  15. Dilligaf-UK
    Offline

    Dilligaf-UK Chugging along

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 3, 2011]
    A repair wire is a length of cable with an Audi specific metal connector at each end, that can be slotted into Audi multiplugs to effect a repair (rather than buying a whole loom) - Audi sell them - don't have a part number to hand though - sorry!
  16. evilbane
    Offline

    evilbane Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2011]
    I bought a repair cable from my local Audi today, the part number is 000979009E and cost £2.13, fitted and activated it via Vag-Com and its a brilliant very cheap mod to do.
  17. Dan.
    Offline

    Dan. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2011]
    right then guys! would appreciate your help with this one...

    Tried this on my A3 sportback 57 plate (first registered jan 2008 if that makes a difference)

    i only picked it up saturday so im new to these cars so bare with me :D


    i ordered the wire and fitted it from pin 12 on the plug to the earth, then yesterday in work i went into VAGCOM,

    i went into 09 - Cent. Elect and Coding, then Long Coding Helper. The only thing i noticed in here that mine is Byte 0 (not Byte 00 as stated) does this make a difference? or is that correct? anyway it still shows bit 5 and 7 as CH/LH so i checked them and left the timers at 30s,

    Unfortunately this didnt work, so i then had a read through this thread and noticed the stuff about the earth, so i went home last night and played with that a few times... touching it, and untouching it and trying in between, but STILL nothing seems to work!!

    im going to check the repair wire is 100% in the correct block later,

    but could it be the fact im doing it under Byte 0 rather than Byte 00 as i couldnt find Byte 00 there, if so how do i get to it!


    Any help would be great guys!!

    Cheers!!
  18. Dan.
    Offline

    Dan. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 20, 2011]
    Any ideas guys?
  19. khan_1212
    Offline

    khan_1212 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2011]
    Just wondering if this feature can work on my A3 2007 (07). I had halogen lights fitted as standard on the car but i put in bi-xenon with the Kufatec adapter where the loose cables from that adapter get connected to the CE. Now is it still possible for CH/LH lights to work on the bi-xenon headlights i fitted??
  20. khan_1212
    Offline

    khan_1212 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. jsosic
    Offline

    jsosic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 16, 2012]
    OK I got a weird problem...

    I have MY09 without light sensor and without CH/LH button on the light switch. I've turned byte00 bit07 in the Central Electrics module, and didn't connect any wire to ground. Still, that change with VCDS activated coming home function, and it works. When I'm approaching my car, and unlock it, it turns the lights on.

    But then I wanted to change the coming home function from Xenons to fog lights, or to DRLs at least, but no luck. Now in this thread I saw that Nigel (NHN) says it can be done only on new CE module (MY10+)... So, because I don't have light sensor, DRL will be coming on every time I unlock my car, and that will surely hurt the both Xenon lamps and ballasts? I would like to avoid that, so I turned the byte00 bit 7 off, and coded changes, but coming home lights STILL turn on every time I unlock my car... Why is this happening and any ideas how to turn it back off?!?!?! I'm puzzled :-/
  22. Rob2k68
    Offline

    Rob2k68 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Hi Guys,

    An old thread I know but something I'm quite keen on doing to my car (had it on my last car - a Fiesta!) and have a couple of questions that maybe you could help with. I couldn't find answers after reading the whole thread so here goes :-

    1. In VCDS on a 10MY car any ideas what I should set this page to ? I have activated CHL/LHL and have the timing options in the DIS.

    09 Central electronics Byte 12
    Bit 0 Coming home timer (0=start with Term.15 OFF / 1=start
    Bit 2 Coming home mode (0=automatic / 1=manual)

    2. Is the pin to tap into the same for 10MY ?

    3. Will I get VCDS fault codes ?


    I don't have Xenons or Auto lights/wipers so it should be interesting to see if this function will use the headlamps or fogs. It would be real neat if the light swith with the CHL/LHL button could be fully integrated I guess it would need to be a push to make switch for that to work. I would probably switch if off during the summer months then.

    Thanks in advance.
  23. dan786
    Offline

    dan786 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    hey guys ive just bought an s3 last month so im new on here. will get some pics up today. my car didnt come with auto lights on it either. my cousins got vagcom and activated my coming and leaving home lights function for me from vagcom and it also enabled it to come up in my display so i can set weather to turn them off and on from the display and how long i want them on for once i switch the car off. but i never had to do the repair wire apparently the facelift models come with the repair wire done from factory. mines 09 plate and it worked just with vagcom.
  24. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    107
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Can't be done on a MY10 without replacing the windscreen, lights switch, light sensor and wiring unfortauntely.
  25. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    107
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Well this is the first I've heard of this.....

    Every 8P3 I've worked on (2009+) there isn't the option to select the CH/LH lights. Maybe the VCDS update has included this option as I know it wasn't there before?

    In which case, Rob2k.. you're CH/LH may work with simple VCDS coding.. will have to look more into this.
  26. Rob2k68
    Offline

    Rob2k68 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Hi jb0o, yes it's definately there in VCDS (latest version) I can't remember which byte but in byte 17 bit 3 is Coming Home (CH) via Fog-Lights active so I guess i've answered one of my earlier questions. My car is '09 with A as the tenth digit in the Vin plate so 10MY.

    @Dan786 I think the difference between your car and mine is that you have factory Xenons. With standard lights you still need the wire and I'm not 100% sure that it's pin 12 from Marc's guide after finding out that the footwell light install was different for 10MY cars.

    Can anybody confirm (or deny!) that pin 12 block E is the one to tap into ?

    Many thanks.
  27. Rob2k68
    Offline

    Rob2k68 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Mar 29, 2012]
    Took the trim panel off again last night and no sign of connector block A-H.

    Looks like unless you have Xenons on a MY10 that this mod is not possible until somebody locates the equivalent pin out.

    Shame really - will go back in and take the option off the DIS.
  28. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    815
    [Mar 29, 2012]
    Yeah did this mod the other day......block A-H was there and plug E pin 12 is fairly easy to get to. 08 plate S3 so the mod might only be easy for pre-facelift cars. My car has bi-xenons just for reference. I couldnt get it to work straight away. Took it for a wee drive, parked up and bingo lights came on when locked.
  29. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Mar 29, 2012]
    the newer 8P3 control modules have 3 blocks - A, B & C... all 52 pin connectors.
    I did locate the equivalent pin on those plugs but it turned out it wasnt needed as it could be programmed into the car with VCDS and the DIS...
    I am sure i wrote up this info earlier on this thread (or may have been another thread?)
    I will try to get the info for you guys today at some point if i get the chance
  30. Rob2k68
    Offline

    Rob2k68 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Mar 29, 2012]
    That would be brilliant thanks Ash :icon_thumright: - I'm familiar with these connectors as I've added footwell lights.

    From what i've read it only worked on cars with the 3 blocks if it has factory xenons ?, has anyone with normal halogens and 10MY+ electrics had success with this ?

    If so, I could post pics of my VCDS screens to see if there's anything I've misssed (although as a newbie here not sure how to upload pics without hosting them :crying: ).
  31. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,840
    Likes Received:
    481
    [Mar 29, 2012]
  32. batch
    Offline

    batch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    75
    [Mar 31, 2012]
    Hi Nigel, I've tried to Private Message you but nothing's showing in my outbox, please could you drop me a line when you have a moment? Cheers!
    Rich
  33. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    2,692
    [Mar 31, 2012]
    Rich, when you send a pm, you need to check the save message section to save in your sent items box. Can I be of help to you? :)
  34. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Mar 31, 2012]
    Will be doing this to my A3 on Wednesday. Ordered (yes ordered) the wire from Audi today.

    PN has changed to 000 979 009E and was £2.49 from Belfast Audi.
  35. batch
    Offline

    batch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    75
    [Mar 31, 2012]
    Hi Sandra, it's an enquiry about retrofitting the Interior Light Pack! Also wondering if the addition of a Comfort Pack on my car means I have the coming/leaving home facility already? I have auto lights as a result? It's all new to me, sorry!
  36. mathu
    Offline

    mathu Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 27, 2012]
    hey i know its an old thread, and i have read through the thread, but I'm still finding it hard to find why the leaving home lights seem to work intermittently.

    i can understand why the coming home lights doesn't work as it needs a sensor, so i have turned that off. but i have left the leaving home lights enabled.

    any ideas guys?
  37. profidriver
    Offline

    profidriver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 12, 2012]
    Hi,

    got audi a3 manufactured in 2011, but it is model 2012. With LED as DRL + bixenons, without light/rain sensor. Would need help with coming home / leaving home. got everything ready, but when removed cover and trim, was supriced. it seem to be different.Cant see any plug with A-H. There is A, B, C only.Have seen to earth 18 pin into C plug, but in C plug is no pin in 18. Would you know how to do it? Have done coding already, so coming and leaving is already in DIS.

    Thank you for any help
  38. erq55
    Offline

    erq55 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 18, 2012]
    Have similar results, although my car is late 8p3 09' with DRL+halogens (without light/rain sensor) - did the coding in VCDS and both CH&LH lights option is available in the DIS but its not working. Didn't use the repair wire method - i read this thread and saw few guys who just coded ch/lh function - so i assume, that i need to order the wire... any thoughts ?
  39. rdfcpete
    Offline

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 19, 2012]
    Correct me if I'm wrong but having read the thread through, it looks like not one member so far with a 2010 or later vehicle has successfully achieved this? I've recently purchased a March 2010 A3 Black edition with no extras, so it's got the standard lights switch. No lights pack, auto wipers or a dimming mirror.

    I started to try this tonight and got a bit stuck at the removing the fascia section around the headlight switch as it seemed pretty well bedded' in. I'll have another attempt at the weekend, but given profidrivers (^) experience it looks like the connecting pinset is different.

    Will it be complete electrical guesswork when I resume on Saturday?
    Thanks

    Pete.
  40. rdfcpete
    Offline

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Sep 23, 2012]
    I'll encounter the same issue then it seems.

    There must be a pin that provides the same channel on the 18pin plug than on the A-H plugset?
    Perhaps we need a wiring diagram for both to do a cross comparison?

    I've enabled the DIS setting for leaving home and coming home and it definitely doesn't appear work if you haven't got the auto lights pack or sensor and haven't retrofitted this repair wire for the 'hack'. Logically, there's trigger for the car to know
    to enable the lights on unlock or lock without either of the aforementioned two bits.

    If we can work out the pin we need to wire into on the MY2010 and later cars, then we're in business? :thumbsup:

Share This Page