1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Home & Leaving Home Lights Enabled

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MarcQuinlivan, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    Have just checked again - and Byte 0 Bits 5 and 7 are definitely still ticked and the wire is still connected from Pin 12 to earth. I've disconnected from earth and reconnected it several times: dead as a dodo.
    Mystery.
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    check adaptation channel 01 & 02 in 09 to see whats in there, wondering if thats set to 0 at moment so isnt lighting, just of top of head.

    K module is 30 byte as per my new one which is fine, 08 wiring is the same, still studying the wiring.

    Also check byte 02 bit 4 whether its set to 0 or 1

    Just curiously try disabling leaving home in byte 00 bit 5 & see if coming home works, humour me mate

    I reckon maybe you've got set to lightsensor so thats why it isnt working as above in bit 4 of byte 02, so as there's no signal to the board to enable coming home its not working, just of top of head as the rear view mirror wiring denotes from the sensor 1 wire which is either ground or live back down to the K board, which to me is the signal to make the coming home feature work when enabled in byte 00.

    Did you also check if its enabled in the DIS menu's aswell given its an 08 so would have this feature.
  3. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    Hi Nigel. Right.

    Adaptation 1&2 in 09 are both set to 30 at the moment (30 secs that is right ?)

    Byte 2 Bit 4 is UNTICKED - is this right ?

    If I disable LH the CH still don't come on.

    The DIS thing is a mystery. My car is 08 in the chassis number but I cannot find the feature in the DIS. I appear to have an old DIS on an 08 car ...... weird.

    Any ideas Sherlock ?
    I'm baffled.
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    Bloody site, wrote longer reply & site went down again.

    Ok so timers are ok set to 30 seconds, knowing audi I'd try changing this to 10 cause sometimes glitches happen, prob wont work but anythings worth a try

    Byte 2 bit 4 is personalisation then if unticked, so isnt light sensor idea I had, okkkkkk next

    LH disabled was just an idea cause PNS2007 had issues with that being enabled & his lights etc

    For advanced dis menus, go into either 09 or 17 & adaptation channel 82 set to a 2, whats it at present, also in 09 long coding byte 23 I think, there's a tick box in there for advanced comfort, check that to.

    In meantime gonna look at the differences in sensor locations as this sparked a lightbulb above head, might be nothing but worth a look.

    I have a headlight switch with coming home button & auto lights positions if anyone is interested, this also sparked the lightbulb as others who tried the earth wire didnt work & then someone installed the switch connected all 4 wires & it worked, so wondering if the board needs to see the illummination circuit wires which are the extra 2 wires on the button to be able to enable this feature, thinking outside of the box & knowing audi its not entirely impossible either, but it could be nothing, I guess I could disconnect mine as has same board as yours & see if it works without switch & just use the earth.
  5. Tucano
    Offline

    Tucano New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    Hello, if anybody needs a detailed guide to install coming home I could post it. I installed coming home on my A3 8P 2004 by myself, but it doesn't works correcly because my module 09 is 8P0 907 279 A. So light turn on/off correctly when I open the door to exit or when I open car by remote, but when I choose "auto" on the switch an error messagge appears on board's computer (Light sensor failure) and light (xenon) turn on always (also in daytime).
    I've got rain pack (with light sensor on rear glass).
    I'm sure that with module 8P0 907 279 F coming home works ok (my friends test it) but on ebay I find only 8P0 907 279 D and I'm not sure it is right for me.
    So if anybody has got coming home with 8P0 907 279 D and it works correctly could tell me please?
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    I have the N module for sale which is a 30 byte high end version, which is the latest version.

    Mines now K version for higher byte features, but I did have the C version originally & I have stock rain/light sensors with xenons so this will certainly do the trick for you as I also had CH/LH as stock, but D not sure of cause shows it as a 17 byte, maybe they added the extra functions for the light sensor etc on 21 byte modules, N will do all the functions for sure.

    ; 8P0-907-279-23-B.LBL (Basis - Supports NO Fogs or Xenons)
    ; 8P0-907-279-23-H.LBL (Highend - Supports Fogs and/or Xenons)
    ; 8P0-907-279-30-B.LBL (Basis - Supports NO Fogs or Xenons)
    ; 8P0-907-279-30-H.LBL (Highend - Supports Fogs and/or Xenons)
    Quote:
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-B.LBL,8P0-907-279 ; 17 Byte (Basis)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-A ; 17 Byte (Highend)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-B.LBL,8P0-907-279-B ; 21 Byte (Basis)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-C ; 21 Byte (Highend)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-D ; 17 Byte (Highend)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-B.LBL,8P0-907-279-E ; 23 Byte (Basis)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-F ; 23 Byte (Highend)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-23-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-H ; 24 Byte (Highend)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-30-B.LBL,8P0-907-279-J ; 30 Byte (Basis)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-30-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-K ; 30 Byte (Highend)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-30-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-L ; 30 Byte (Highend)
    ;8P0-907-279-M ; ?? Byte (???)
    REDIRECT,8P0-907-279-30-H.LBL,8P0-907-279-N ; 30 Byte (Highend)
    ;8P0-907-279-P ; ?? Byte (???)
    ;8P0-907-279-Q ; ?? Byte (???)
  7. Tucano
    Offline

    Tucano New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    Thank you for your answer. I got you a pm.
  8. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 3, 2009]
    Right - thanks to some determination and patience (and some expert help from NHN) this is now finally (after 8 months of trying) working on my car and I think I might know the reason why it doesn't work on all cars.

    It seems that if you have a MY08 car simply enabling the CH/LH feature in Vagcom and doing the Pin 12 earth will not work unless you have already enabled the extended DIS functions feature beforehand. I didn't realise the two were linked but they are and the changes in Vagcom have to be done in that order.

    The only way I got mine to work was by disabling my (not working) CH/LH lights then enabling the DIS feature, then re-enabling the CH/LH. Hey presto - it works.

    Just in time for summer when I don't need them ..... but this has been eating away at me for months so I'm just pleased to tick this box and move on. And I'm not sure if this aspect of the mod has been mentioned before so if it helps you I'm pleased.

    Thanks again to Nigel.
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 3, 2009]
    No worries, but to add, make sure you have a 30 byte module & you're label files/vcds is upto date 1st, so you can see the 09 byte 23 bit 1 & tick this, aswell as making sure in 17 adaptation channel 82 is set to 2 for advanced comfort aswell, this will give you the extra DIS menus to turn on things like CH/LH before doing other things like the earth wire.

    Just glad this has been resolved
  10. golfsko
    Offline

    golfsko New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2009]
    IT WORKS :D Halleluja :)
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 14, 2009]
    Welcome to site.

    By just doing the wire touch part or the additional coding as above that Iggu did aswell?
  12. fizz
    Offline

    fizz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2009]
    I know its been mentioned somewhere in the thread already, but I did mine this morning by just enabling in vagcom, so didnt have to do the earth wire. Mines a 57 plate SB sline.
  13. gavsteryoung
    Offline

    gavsteryoung Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2009]
    Just to confirm, I did this mod this afternoon on my 09 S3.

    All I needed to do was tick Byte 00 Bit 7

    No wiring needed, my car has Xenon Plus with Day Time Running LED's, but no Auto lights.

    I changed Byte 00 Bit 5 but this made my headlights come one with the DRL's, so I deselected that option.....

    There seems to be an aweful lot of options that can be configured on the 09 S3
  14. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Apr 16, 2009]
    Hi Gavsteryoung, I have a new A3 (without LED DRL's) but I do have DRL lights with my Halogens.

    If I check the bit 05 I get headlights with my DRL's when I turn the light swith to DRL.

    Check out my post, I've sent Ross Tech a PM but as yet no reply!!

    http://audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=65844&highlight=DRL ISSUE

    Its interesting to see you get the same problem with Xenons.

    I'm hoping with the bew Beta version of VDS this would have been addressed but as yet I don't think it has.
  15. martyboy
    Offline

    martyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    i know this sounds dumb, but can someone please tell me
    what the difference is between 'repair wire' and 'normal' wire?
    thanks!
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    Repair wire has the correct pin on the end to locate in the connector so it connects/plugs into the car or opposite connector properly as opposed to a normal wire that has bare ends.
  17. martyboy
    Offline

    martyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    thanks for clearing that up!
    now where can i get some from?
    cheers!
  18. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    The part number for the repair wire is 000 979 009 and they are a couple of quid each



    [​IMG]

    You can get them from a VW or Audi dealer. I got mine from a VW dealer as its closer!
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 7, 2009]
    lets see now, oh yeah, Audi, lol.
  20. martyboy
    Offline

    martyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 16, 2009]
    after doing this mod, worked ok, then i did an auto-scan with vag-com and these faults have appeared, and wont clear!-

    2 Faults Found:
    02195 - Dimmer Switch Instrument Panel & Switch Lighting (E20)
    009 - Open or Short to Ground - Intermittent
    01800 - Light Switch (E1)
    008 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent

    has this happened to anyone else?
    cheers!
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 16, 2009]
    Thats related to your headlight switch I believe, what coding did you change mate & what other stuff have you done.
  22. martyboy
    Offline

    martyboy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jun 16, 2009]
    i only changed the coding as mentioned in the right-up for this mod and the coding for the alarm on/off chirps, and i have fitted the ambient leds!
  23. RokiRok
    Offline

    RokiRok New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 21, 2009]
    Hello..

    I am owner of Audi A3 8P 2004 and i have done everything described in topic but my Coming & Leaving Home doesn't work. I have connected the pin 12 to car ground but I cannot change the coding with vag-com. When I want to change Byte 00 Bit 5 and Byte 00 Bit 7 it doesnt change, channel 01 and 02 doesnt exist. Can you help me please?

    I have original Bi-Xenon headlights from S3 I think..

    Thank you!!!

    Rok
  24. heeman10
    Offline

    heeman10 Audi driver since Dec 08

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2009]
    I would like to say that I successfully completed this task yesterday :)

    I have an 05 2.0 TDI Sport with halogens, no auto lights, no auto wipers. Off with the trim, coded the CH/LH lights to be active for 15 seconds, grounded out pin 12 using the VAG repair wire as specified, tucked it back into the loom, and hey presto - I FINALLY have CH/LH lights!! Thank you very much for this guide!! :thumbsup:

    I'd also like to say thanks to Andy Shipton for meeting up with me with his laptop and VCDS to do the coding. I haven't used this forum a great deal yet, but I enjoyed an extremely friendly support network on my regular forum before here, so it's really good to experience the same on this forum so soon.
  25. heeman10
    Offline

    heeman10 Audi driver since Dec 08

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2009]
    RokiRok,

    Try the following, to make sure you haven't given yourself a problem by earthing out that connection a number of times:

    1. Disconnect your pin 12 earth.
    2. Test your CH/LH lights.
    3. If they do not work, touch your earth wire to an earth point (once, and make it a solid connection; i.e. don't accidentally touch it two or three times), and then test your CH/LH lights again.

    It is important to note that you only need to ground pin 12 out once (or three, five, seven times etc)to activate the CH/LH light function, so if you touched it twice (or four times, six times, eight times etc), then you will have deactivated it.

    Good luck :)
  26. G"MAN
    Offline

    G"MAN GONE LOW BUT GOING LOWER

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2009]
    im interested in doing this mod but would rather my fog lights come on instead is it basicaly the same but pluging the wire into a difrent pin instead or not

    thanks G
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 10, 2009]
    Fogs cant be done on the earlier models, we're only seeing this on the newer MY10 cars from reports anyway, TBC as correct on the MY10, but its always headlights on the earlier 8P's, now if you did some wiring trickery with ignition of with relays etc then posssible, but may give errors on car network.
  28. G"MAN
    Offline

    G"MAN GONE LOW BUT GOING LOWER

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 10, 2009]
    when you say earlier8p models a 2006 will be to early then thats cool thougth would ask head lights it is then lol thanks
  29. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Oct 10, 2009]
    It not advisable to have your fogs on all the time anyway. If you get pulled for it then you'll have no way to turn them off!

    Headlights as DRLs can be enabled by coding the car as with bi-xenons IIRC.
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 10, 2009]
    06 cars from what I have checked doesnt have this option, well actually its in vagcom, but it doesnt work as I ticked the box years ago & hasnt worked at all.

    Sorry but staz, think you read it completely wrong, this is for the CH/LH mod, nothing to do with DRL & ch/lh is time based & we're not saying they would be on all the time, this was with ignition of & if you mod the feature to use the fogs instead of the headlights, this isnt for driving around with, ignition on would be as per oem state.
  31. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Oct 11, 2009]
    Oh yeah of course! Should have paid attention to the thread title really....
  32. Ash B
    Offline

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Oct 11, 2009]
    I really need to do this
  33. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Oct 11, 2009]
    You can't Ashley, I would have done it yesterday but the option wasn't there mate sorry.
  34. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 12, 2009]
    Can you delete my double post please above leaving just one as cant edit given sticky.

    I assume the network board in Ash's car isnt the highend version then so it didnt have the CH/LH options to tick in long coding, whats the network board in 46 part number for your car Ash?

    Could always update your board Ash so it has more options if its not highend.
  35. Scott
    Offline

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    105
    [Dec 14, 2009]

    That's pretty cool how you didn't need any of the wiring.
    Has anyone else done this on an 09 A3 and it worked with VCDS only? If so, may be worth me giving it a try.
  36. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Dec 14, 2009]
    I'm sure a few even in this thread have said they did without the wire, so give it a good read Scott, or better still just try coding it, might get lucky, can always undo what you changed in seconds anyway.
  37. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    198
    [Dec 14, 2009]
    Gonna plug my mates Vag-Com System in later and give this a crack!! Will post up results later!! :)
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
  38. pns2007
    Offline

    pns2007 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Dec 14, 2009]
    Yes with my 09 A3 it was simply coding via VDS.

    Same happened with mine although I didn't have LED's.

    See my posing on it:-

    http://audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=65844&highlight=DRL ISSUE

    was a real pain :keule:

    You can also alter the time delay via the DIS
  39. Mr_Scubatank
    Offline

    Mr_Scubatank Deeper is always better!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 16, 2009]
    Would like to do this Mod. Does anyone have access to Vagcom in or near Crewe?
  40. Scott
    Offline

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    105
    [Dec 16, 2009]
    If you find someone, let me know, as I'm also from Crewe
    What car do you drive mate?

Share This Page