1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Home & Leaving Home Lights Enabled

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MarcQuinlivan, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    I can't wait to try this out!!

    Did you all buy Elsawin from ebay? I think I should have a copy.
  2. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    Must get a copy myself too. Sure looks handy.
  3. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    So you've done all those mods without it???!!! What do you do for a living Marc?

    Also Marc if you disconnect the wire you have added does the CH/LH fuction stop working?

    I have just had a look around maplins and for about a tenner you can get a kit and all the bits you need to install a light sensor with NO and NC terminals. You could of course use this to make your CH/LH only work when it's dark!

    I'm also thinking I may be able to use it to set up auto lights. Depending on the circuit.
  4. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    Yeah I didn't use it. I just sort of look at the panels and they fall off. I'm no stranger to a screwdriver and a hammer and actually enjoy taking things apart to see how they work. It's a bit easier to find information now that the internet has evolved somewhat and is no longer just a bunch of sites dedicated to some chap's sock collection.

    I'm an IT head for my sins.

    I've not tried disconnecting the wire to see what happens, but I'll give it a go at the weekend.

    I assume that light sensor will work by passing the earth through it so the same would apply to your light switch, however depending on how you wire them in you may end up with lights that only work when it is dark.

    Is this the maplins job? The only problem with that is that you would have to install the light switch with the auto-lights position. Otherwise you would have to wire it to the dipped headlight switch but since the sensor switches the circuit on when it gets dark it would also turn your parking lights on if you left the switch in the dipped position.

    Not sure if it is worth the hastle at the end of the day. I have the scandinavian DRLs enabled so my lights are always on and the CH\LH on the timer meaning they come on during the day doesn't really bother me either.
  5. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    That's the kit yes. Also I was looking at the box to put it all in and then a piece of bread board to mount the light sensor independantly of the board.

    You could drill 2 tiny holes in the side panel, route the 2 wires of the sensor through, then fit a peice of bread board on the back and solder it in place. Then obviously route 2 wires from the board to the main board.

    The sensor then controls a 5 pin relay which has the NO & NC contacts routed through the blue terminal block in the top left.

    The circuit has a potentiometer in it so you can adjust the sensitivity. Of course that panel is in a dark area anyway so you'd just adjust it to compensate.

    This is all providing that disconnecting that wire does stop the CH/LH function on your car! lol

    If I were to do the auto lights then yes I'd be buying the switch. At this time I'm not that bothered about it but it's still of interest to me.
  6. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    Right as I now have a laptop I have got around to trying this out. No wire just the coding and it works! YAY!

    I have bi-xenons and interior light pack.

    Cheers Marc
  7. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    interesting... so it seems that cars with xenons don't need the wire at all.
  8. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    Indeed! I wonder if there is a wire I can cut into to fit the light detector.
  9. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    25
  10. chill14
    Offline

    chill14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    No mate, I have good old Halogen bulbs.

    For those who are querying if removing the wire disables the CH/LH lights, then I can say on mine it didn't. I literaly touched it to earth and then ripped the cable out.

    So I have NO wire in pin 12 for my HALOGEN light units.

    For those who are going to take the wire off the earth point . The disconnection may disable them. Specially if the contact doesn't remove cleanly. However just touching the wire back on the earth point again should reactivate them. (it would be like pressing the switch)
  11. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    Well that's what we need to find out. Some work with just a recode. Marc's works by having a wire earthed all the time and yours works by touching that wire to earth once.

    If Marc's does indeed need that wire then he can fit the light sensor so his only works at night.
  12. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    Now I think about it again... when I was doing the install I took the wire away and reconnected it to tidy it up and the CH\LH did stop working. A the time I thought the earth contact just wasn't made properly and reattached it which made it work again.

    It may well be that the second earthing of the wire disabled the CH\LH function and the third one then re-enabled them. The weather's miserable here at the minute so I'll try to give it a go at the weekend.
  13. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 6, 2008]
    To be honest I was wondering if you had done something like that and yours was in fact the same as the others.
  14. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    Just to throw something else in the pot. The earth toggle may be required again (for those that did require it) if the battery is ever disconnected, the earthing may be toggling a setting in the module perhaps ?

    Paul
  15. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    I was just thinking the same thing last night.
  16. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    I read on another forum that this function on a Audis can use the fog lamps instead and someone said that the switch position does it. I have just tried leaving the lights on with fog but it doesn't work. Just thought I'd pass that on.
  17. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    Great minds think alike !
  18. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    i think that probably refers to the auto-lights. If you set the switch to auto and pull out for the fogs then the fogs should come on with the auto-lights.

    My brother and father have GTIs with auto lights and CH\LH. Their CH\LH is just the main lights, but the fogs do come on with the auto-lights.
  19. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    I see.

    I really do think I should invest in Elsawin.

    I'm looking at these:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ELSAWIN-3-5-2008-AUDI-WORKSHOP-SERVICE-REPAIR-MANUAL_W0QQitemZ150279255493QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item150279255493&_trkparms=72%3A636|39%3A1|66%3A2|65%3A12&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14.l1318

    can anyone tell me if that's a good or bad idea please?
  20. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    I bought WinELSA from ebay and it included the parts CD as well (EKTA), fantastic piece of software, both of them, well worth buying!
  21. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    You mean ETKA? I can't find a single hit for ETKA on ebay! Shame as I'd like them both actually.

    EDIT: Just ordered this:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....m=300247282169&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=020

    Has parts list. Doesn't list it as ETKA though. 98% feedback on 549 is good enough for me though!
  22. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    25
  23. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 7, 2008]
  24. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 7, 2008]
    It lists it as ver 7.1 2007.08. It is ETKA 7.1 with updates to August 2007.
  25. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Aug 29, 2008]
    Got mine to work tonight, completely forgot about it until i took VAGCOM to the car tonight to sort my headlight range out and decided to mess with the earth cable for the auto headlights and now it works, it looks like you need to use the earth cable to switch the function on and then it can be removed, the cable acts like a switch really.

    I haven't messed with it too much so i don't know if it needs to make contact with earth again but i'll keep ya updated.
  26. Ian_C
    Offline

    Ian_C Dorsprung Turch Vechnique

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 23, 2008]
    Hi - Can anyone near Glasgow eneable this function for me?

    Cheers
  27. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 29, 2008]
    An old thread I know but .... just got my VAGCOM and have done all the other goodies so time for this. Quick question:

    - I have standard S3 Xenons
    - I don't have interior light pack option
    - I don't have auto lights

    Do I need to do the earth wire thingy or can it just be done via coding ?
    Ta
  28. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 29, 2008]
    simple way to find out.... try just the coding and if that doesn't work then do the earth wire!

    there seems to be no consistency to it - some cars come with the earth pre-activated and some don't.
  29. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 2, 2008]
    Can someone please check this for me as I cannot get it to work.

    Connected the wire to pin 12 fine and when I earthed it the headlights came on (so I know the wiring had connected).
    The problem must be in the coding.

    On Vagcom 09 Cent Elec (long coding) I have Bits 00, 03, 05 and 07 checked and I have reduced the timer in Adaptation to 10 seconds.

    Nothing. Grrr ......

    Is my Vagcom coding correct ?
    Any help much appreciated.
  30. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 2, 2008]
    I suspect that you have earthed the connection again after the lights came on and disabled the CH\LH function. You should leave the door open and earth the connection again - if the lights come on then you are good to go. Earthing the connection a second time will disable them. I had the same problem when I was doing mine, only I didn't realise it at the time - I assumed I hadn't earthed the connection properly so disconnected and reconnected the earth and all was working.
  31. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 2, 2008]
    Thanks Marc - will try again when this monsoon subsides a little. You know how maddening it is when something that should work just doesn't !
  32. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    Did anyone get to the bootom of this?

    I'd like to have CHL as my old car had them and I miss them a bit!

    I have xenons and no light pack, and lots of old wire to try it out!

    Has anyone got a step by step guide for a car like my spec?

    Cheers :think:
  33. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    In what respect do you mean got to the bottom of this?

    You enable them & earth a connection & away you go, this isnt switchable of course except by VCDS or the earth wire or just do the oem fitment that ill give you all the above.
  34. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    Just that it seem to work on some cars and not on others? Depending on the options?

    So is it just,

    Enable in Vagcom
    Earth that pin
    Remove Earth

    and it works??!

    Cheers:think:
  35. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    Ah yes this is true, but for most it works, I'm sure the issue people have had is simple to resolve.
  36. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    I wish !
    I've been trying for months to get this to work - as have a few others.
    Can't vouch for them but I've done every step many many times and no matter what I do I cannot get the lights to come on when I earth Pin 12.
    I've come to the conclusion that either my Pin 12 is knacked or there is something different about my car's wiring.
    I'd love someone to look at it and get it to work - just for peace of mind.
  37. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    Urrrm let me check elsa & also what version 09 module is yours?
  38. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    Now I'll have to reveal my ignorance Nigel ..... I think I know what Elsawin is but what "09 module" do you mean ?
    Chassis number ?
  39. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    what year is your S3 mate & when you login to module 09 what part number does it show at the top?

    I see 4 wires for coming home, of which 3 goto the module of 09 from lightswitch & 1 to earth as per marc's original posting
  40. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 31, 2009]
    Really appreciate you looking mate - if you can suss this there's beer in it for you for sure.

    I have a MY08 car and in module 09 the VAG Number is 8P0 907 279 K
    Is that the number you're after ?

Share This Page