1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Home & Leaving Home Lights Enabled

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MarcQuinlivan, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    You're right Marc. The sensor in the rear view mirror support triggers the auto lights and the CH/LH lights. You can trick it into thinking it's night by putting your hand over it. I tried covering the two sensors in the centre of the dash but this had no effect.
     
  2. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh and the CH/LH lights don't work when it's light, only when it's dark. (or you put your had over the sensor!)
     
  3. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    John, do you mean one of the small sensors on either the front or rear of the mirror itself, or the round sensor that's in the middle of the mirror mounting fixed to the windscreen (you'll have put your hand on the outside of the windscreen to cover this one).

    Cheers
     
  4. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry, it wasn't too clear. It's the latter, I used my palm to cover it.
     
  5. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    Brilliant, thanks John.

    I only asked because the wiring is in separate looms to either the rear view mirror or the rain/light sensor in the mounting. Now I know the sensor attached to the windscreen controls the auto lights as well as the auto wipers, I can start from there.

    Cheers again, I'll keep you informed.
     
  6. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, it would appear that if you spec auto lights and wipers along with the coming home\leaving home option that the rain\light sensor handles everything, whereas if you only specify the ch\lh lights (or maybe the auto lights without the auto dimming mirror and\or rain sensor) you get the sun sensor in the dash. There is also a blanker cap available instead of the sun sensor so presumably if you have the rain sensor or didn't spec CH\LH then you will get the blanker cap.

    As above, since you have the rain\light sensor the left hand "sensor" on the dash will be a blanker.

    I got confused above - the CH\LH will only work in the dark, but the switch needs to be set to Auto for the CH to work. The LH will work (when dark) regardless of the position of the lights.

    I suspect that the fault is something to do with the wiring in the rain\light sensor on the windscreen.
     
  7. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great stuff Marc, we've kinda gone full circle but at least a few things have been confirmed/ruled out along the way. It's looks as if its definitely the rain/light sensor behind the rear view mirror, or the wiring, thats causing my fault codes. If I can get that right, hopefully it'll be cracked I'll be able to offer some more advice on the whole install.

    Any thoughts on a light sensor or on/off switch for your CH/LH install?
     
  8. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good point. I did my tests with the light switch in the Auto position. Would you like me to do the same again with the light switch in the Off position?
     
  9. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    nah, I'm happy enough with the setup I have - CH\LH regardless of daylight levels and scandinavian DRLs so my lights are always on.

    I may look at getting the chromed light switch at some point and pass the earth through it for the CH\LH, but I have no plans to set up the auto lights, auto wipers or auto dimming rear view mirror.

    I have other mods I'd rather spend the money on than those ones that I would get minimal use from.
     
  10. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Such as ????
     
  11. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wow, more confusion. So do the CH and LH functions work independently from each other? I thought that regardless of whether the light switch is in the Auto position or Off, providing the CH/LH button is on and its dark, both the CH/LH lights will activate. The way I'm reading it now is that providing it's dark, the LH lights will function regardless of the light switch position but the CH lights need the light switch to be in the Auto position, or am I going mad!

    John, would you mind checking whether both the CH and LH light functions work with the light switch in both positions (Auto and Off).

    Good knows the neighbours are thinking!!
     
  12. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    TBH, I don't think I'd do it all again. The main reason I started the install was that I wanted the auto-dimming rear view mirror. After sourcing one, I found out I needed a new windscreen with the proper mount to fit! No one, not even Vagparts, could find the mirror fixing that's stuck to the windscreen. Apparently it comes fixed to the windscreen from the factory only. So the auto-dimming mirror sat on the shelf for while. I was having having the windows tinted and got talking to the guys there and they sourced a new windscreen with the correct fixing and a sunband, so I changed it (under an insurance claim). From there, I thought I'd just as well go the whole hog. It's been quite expensive, but you know what it's like, if you like pulling cars apart and challenges, it's a bit of fun. I'm just hoping to get to the bottom of it soon.
     
  13. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will do. :icon_thumright:
     
  14. RobinA3

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    30
    Does anyone have an answer why its not working on my car by any chance?
     
  15. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    It did go off topic for while didn't it! Sorry Robin.

    When I get chance to rip apart what I've done already, I'll be able to determine what wire does what, hopefully!! Then I might be able to shed some light on the problem. There are a couple of other wiring diagrams I'm looking into that might have a reason also.
     
  16. mattandrew

    mattandrew Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just to confirm the switch you have has the following
    Xenon
    Auto lights
    CH/LH
    DRL

    I need to order a new switch as I am installing OEM xenons, I already have auto lights, CH/LH but am adding xenons which obviously have the DRL which I need the switch for.


    I had a headache before reading the last 24hours posts on this thread it even worse now, lol
    Luckily I dont need to install the CH/LH wires etc. Just need to find time to install my xenons and the wiring adapter from Kufatec
     
  17. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, dunno what happened there. It did get a bit heavy. I've surprised myself that it kind of makes sense. A thread starting as a simple £1 mod has turned into right headache!!

    Yep, the switch I've got is for Zenon's, DRL's, Auto lights and CH/LH.
     
  18. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK, the CH/LH lights work when the light switch is in any position, be that On, Auto or Off. But only when it's dark.

    I did the last tests in the garage so the neighbours couldn't see me!!
     
  19. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is getting more and more surreal.

    The S3 I had out last weekend would only enable one of them when set to auto and the other at all times (when dark outside). Can't remember which was which, but probably coming home on auto and leaving home at all times.

    The reason I know this is because when I was testing it out it wouldn't work and then when I set the lights to auto it did work.
     
  20. chill14

    chill14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I'd like to know too as mine won't work either.
     
  21. boggym

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cheers guy's.

    Gonna do some investigation on my wiring ASAP and then hopefully, I'll be able to help a bit more. Hopefully it might shed some light as to why the CH/LH works on some and not others!
     
  22. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just another update on how the lights work....

    I assumed the CH lights came on when the key was removed from the ignition, however I was parked yesterday facing a large glass window on the front of a shop and noticed that the lights only come on when the driver's door was opened. They then stay on until the timeout expires. The LH lights turn on when the car is unlocked and go out when the driver's door is opened.

    It would appear that the light on\off signal is tied to the driver's door opening.

    Robin, I know you've installed the footwell\puddle lights. Have the other guys who can't get it to work also installed the footwell\puddle lights, and have the guys who can get it to work got the footwell\puddle lights installed.
     
  23. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
     
  24. RobinA3

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    30
  25. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,212
    Likes Received:
    57
    Thins you mean Robin?

    So can I confirm that Mitch and Marc you both have factory fit interior light pack and your one wire to earth and vag.com coding makes the CH/LH function work?

    And also those who it doesn't work for do not have ILP factory fit?

    EDIT: Thickens Robin, you were right
     
  26. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    staz,
    I don't have the interior light pack.
     
  27. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,212
    Likes Received:
    57
    bugger
     
  28. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
  29. JohnS3

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's what happens for me too.
     
  30. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
     
  31. chill14

    chill14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Right

    I have had another go at this as it did work last time (see ealier in thread) and guess what ... IT ACTUALLY WORKS !!!

    For those having trouble try do this - this is what I did to mine this time.
    1) Code Vagcom to enable CH/LH lights
    2) Undo the dash panel
    3) Locate Plug E and remove.
    4) Find a scrap bit of wire approx 1.5 mm in diameter (no connector) and about 1 foot in length. Then bare aprrox 7-8mm of the copper. (If you have the correct cable 979 009 then use this instead of wire scrap.)
    5) Push this into pin 12 so that it reaches the socket point. You may need to bend over end to make it thick enough not to drop out.
    6) Replace Plug E
    7) Bare the other end of wire (any length will do)
    8) Touch this bare end to an earth point for roughly a second and remove (headlights should light)
    9) Close driver door and lock
    10) Unlock car - headlights should light - opening the door will then cancel them.
    11) Try putting key in ignition and switch on then off with door open. Remove key and headlights will light.
    12) Set times in Vag com on Channel 1 and 2 to desired length.
    13) Remove scrap cable from plug E with a little tug, or if proper cable used, insulate the bare end and tuck under dash somewhere.
    14) Replace Dash panel

    I am going to invest in the proper repair wire now, and buy a cheap toggle switch so that I can activate and deactivate them properly. However for mean time I have just set them to a short timer.

    Any problems, let me know
     
  32. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Your lack of faith concerns me deeply!! As does your surprise that doing what I said worked!

    Looks as if you've done it as described. Have you got xenons, auto lights, puddle lights, auto wipers, interior light pack? A no to all those means you have the same setup as me. A yes to any one of them means you have something different and the other lads can compare what you have to what they have and see what is the same\different.
     
  33. chill14

    chill14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Marc

    Nothing meant personal at you or the other guys at all. Apologies if it reads that way.

    Its just that I spent so long playing about with it the first time following your guide on Audi Retrofit, I'd sort of given up. It was only that I had a spare 5 minutes earlier today that I tried again and it worked this time.

    It was a 'no' to all the above items until last weekend. I then installed Footwell and Puddle lights from RobinA3's kits.

    Not a dig or anything, but the only thing that is different from my 'activation' list to your guide, is that I have removed the earth wire completely now and they still work. Where your guide states yours its still there. Not sure if this is why it has suddenly decided to work ot not.

    When I did it the first time, I did find that leaving the earth there did do something strange to the lighting circuit. When you changed from headlights to side lights on the light switch, the dipped headlights didn't go off straight away where as normally they do. Whether this was just coincidence I don't know, but after I removed the 'fixed' earth they were fine again. From looking at the wiring diagram on ElsaWin I cannot see why it would have done it though.
     
  34. RobinA3

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'll have to give this another bash this weekend, need to suss it out as its driving me insane!

    sad i know!
     
  35. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nah I wasn't offended - seems my star wars paraphrasing didn't go down too well! Not to worry...

    It is strange that disconnecting the earth altogether leaves it working. On my own car there is no delay when the light switch is moved from headlight to dip.

    Interesting that you say that it appears to be working after you installed the footwell lighting. What model year is your car? I know somebody posted in the footwell lighting thread that the pins for it had changed on the MY08 models. If yours is MY08 then perhaps the same applies here.

    I was going to suggest that there was a link between the footwell lighting and the CH\LH function, but I don't have footwell lights.

    Have you tried leaving your cable connected to the earth permanently to see what happens?
     
  36. RobinA3

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    30
    I thought the wiring for the footwell lights didn't changed for the 08MY but the puddle lights and warning lights did for the door control unit.
     
  37. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    My mistake - you're right it was the earth in the door block.
     
  38. chill14

    chill14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, it went completely over my head and I thought I'd offended you.

    Mine is a 2005 model (June 05 registered). I did leave the earth in place the first time I tried, when the car didn't want to know. Just the delay on the lights occured.

    I'm going to put a push switch in at some point soon, to give some control over them so I'll try again then with fixed earth, and let you know.
     
  39. MarcQuinlivan

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    4
    No worries... managed to find the quote (for those of you who are interested!)

    [ytv]3MaJy7LH5js[/ytv]
     
  40. RobinA3

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    30

Share This Page