1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming home and leaving lights!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JD007F, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Hi guys,

    I have a 2011 Audi a3 black edition but I was wondering what it take to get coming home lights and leaving lights and what does theses involve and do etc!!

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    PM user NHN (nigel)
    #2
    NHN likes this.
  4. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,116
    Likes Received:
    2,357
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    +1 nhn (nigel) will do a first class job, and he travels all over. :) x
    #3
    NHN likes this.
  5. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    I've got a 2010 Black Edition without Auto Lights and it was just a case of ticking a box in VCDS.
    You can only get the Coming Home lights like this though. When it's activated you get an extra menu in the DIS for setting the amount of time they stay on for.

    To operate them you quickly flick the indicated stalk as if you were going to flash your lights when you turn off the ignition. Then when you open the door the front and rear sidelights and the front foglights come on. They stay on for the time you've set in the DIS.

    If you've got Auto Lights then I think the process will be different, but Nigel will know more. With Auto Lights you don't have to pull the flasher stalk, but they only operate when it's dark.

    Leaving home lights woud be nice, as these come on when you unlock the car. I activated these using the wire mod on my 2007 A3, but the same method doesn't work on the newer models :(
    #4
  6. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Cheers guys I have pm nhn about quit a bit already don't like to keep asking questions to him lol. As I'm just find out info and prices and then weighing up which ones to do first as I didn't realise some mods on audis are expensive lol like I wanted front and rear parking sensor plus system but that's like £1500 and folding wing mirrors that's another £1k+ lol so I'm trying to find the small mods to do first haha. But if that is all it needs is the vcds that's awesome lol.

    Cheers guys
    #5
  7. chrisb72
    Offline

    chrisb72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    #6
  8. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Yeah, that's what I did on my old 8P. It doesn't work on the newer ones sadly. I'm only guessing, but I think they only worked on pre-facelift cars.
    #7
  9. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    JD007F - There are a few little mods you can do. I'm not sure what you've already got/looked into, but here are a few ideas that I've done to mine:

    Cruise Control
    LED interior lights (see TRUPS)
    Fog lights activated to work as cornering lights (not sure how useful, I'll let you know in the winter)
    Hill Hold Assist activated
    Tyre Pressure monitoring (Nigel can probably activate yours on the DIS if you don't already have it)
    #8
  10. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Cheers dan!

    Led interior lights I've spoken to trups and they are being done in a month or so as I'm getting reg plate lights is well!
    Fog lights to activated as Corning lights I like the sound of that as my old car had forward adaptive lighting!
    Cruise control I'm saving for!
    Hill hold assist I think I have that as I have dsg is that right?
    Tyre pressure monitoring what do that do may I ask?

    Thanks james
    #9
  11. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    the TPMS lets you know if you have a flator low on air .
    #10
  12. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    can these be done through vcds?
    #11
  13. chrisb72
    Offline

    chrisb72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    This isn't a standard feature with DSG it's a factory option although it seems you can add it later with newer models. I don't think the same applies to my pre face lift 2006 model (can anyone confirm that) If it could be that's another thing I'm adding to the list!
    #12
  14. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Oh rite I see, as mine holds me stil for a few seconds if I realise of the brake and then I can wait a few seconds then out my foot of the throttle is that hill assistants then?

    Also guys what do I need to get for tpms?

    Cheers
    #13
  15. Beagles
    Offline

    Beagles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Mines a 2005 and I'm also very interested in having this done to mine! But think mine involves the repair wire and some earthing as well as the Vag-com coding.
    #14
  16. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    The hill hold on my manual car is quite obvious as you take your foot off the brake and it holds still for 3 seconds and then the brakes just release. If during this time you go back on the brakes, the pedal is rock hard and has little movement in it.
    I know a lot of automatics have a creep to them so they all seem to work as hill hold. I'm not sure about the DSG, but they're clever things, so you may already have it turn on by default.
    If you stop on a hill and take your foot off the brakes and it holds for a few seconds and then releases and rolls back then I'd say that sounds like my HHA.

    One thing I did do with mine was turn down the sensitivity. When I was parked on my cliff face of a drive and used the HHA, I'd have to give it quite a bit of stick before it'd release. I was worried about doing this daily and wearing out the clutch prematurely. I turned the sensitivity down to low and now it releases with much less clutch or throttle needed.


    Depending on what controller module you have you may not need anything extra for Tyre Pressure Monitoring.
    It can get turned on by coding and then the option to reset the system so it can relearn the values can be activated in your DIS.
    The system uses the ABS to measure the wheel radius' and then it knows if one tyre is low on air, which is why it doesn't need anything else fitted. It takes a few miles at various speeds to learn the measurements.
    #15
  17. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    You're right Beagles, pre-facelift cars require a new switch in the dash and also some wiring for it, which runs to the ABS module thing.
    #16
  18. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Cheers dan!! I deffo have the hold on hill assists as my brake goes rock hard like u say! It's a handy option I think!

    On the tpms that's cool then so if its that's easy when I have cruise fitted by nhn at some stage he will be able to do that without any harm really! Would you say!

    Cheers
    #17
  19. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 30, 2013]
    Wonder if my a3 my12 will need any extra wiring for the tpm or if its a simple switch on through vcds
    #18
  20. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 31, 2013]
    Hopefully someone will come along soon and put us straight as it would be a cracking option if it doesn't take alot to do!!
    #19
  21. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Jul 31, 2013]
    The module for roughly 2010 onwards should be able to be activated through coding alone. There isn't a position for the switch on later models, which is why it's done through the DIS.

    NHN knows best, and I'm sure he'll be able to activate it.
    #20
  22. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jul 31, 2013]
    Awesome that's cool! That would be great if all I have to do is have it activated top this to have and easy I like it! Haha cheers
    #21
  23. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Aug 5, 2013]
    Hi dan!

    Sorry to be a pain but what do I need for the fog lights to activate as Corning lights or how do I know if I have it already lol.

    Cheers
    #22
  24. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    It's just another option you can tick in VCDS, literally one check box.
    Basically, if you've got your lights on and you turn the wheel 90 degrees (so the flat bottom of the steering wheel is vertical) or more, then the fog light that is on the side you're turning will come on. As you straighten the wheel the fog light slowly fades out. It looks quite nice how it slowly dims out, rather than just going off.

    Like I said before, I'm not sure how much it helps as the xenons are pretty bright and thanks to the long days at the moment I've not driven it in the dark of night, but it's a free option that I thought was worth a go.
    There's also the option to de-activate them while in reverse, which I turned on as I thought I'll be looking backwards then anyway.

    One thing I did have to do was buy some xenon look bulbs as the standard H11's looked very yellowy brown next to the headlights.
    #23
  25. Zak0123
    Offline

    Zak0123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Getting HHA and TPMS activated in VCDS would be sweeeeeet!
    #24
  26. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Ill be having a look on Sunday zac0123 when somebody lets me borrow there vcds
    #25
    Zak0123 likes this.
  27. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Aug 8, 2013]
    What's hha?

    Tpms should be awesome I can't wait to get mine activated lol. And the fog lights now some neat little mods that u just need to tick lol
    #26
  28. Zak0123
    Offline

    Zak0123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 8, 2013]
    Hill Hold Assist.
    #27
  29. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Aug 8, 2013]
    Awesome thank u sorry for being simple lol.

    I've got hha tried it tonight works a treat!

    Just tpms to go! Do u have a button or anything for that then?
    #28
  30. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Aug 11, 2013]
    Had a look on vcds and I can say that

    1) cornering fog light function can be turned on through vcds
    2) HHA can be done through vcds but you need the module first
    3) tyre pressure monitoring system can also be done but not if you don't have the monitors activated
    #29
  31. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Aug 11, 2013]
    Hi thanks for the reply the Corning fog lighs that's cool and easy! Hha I've got already so that's good!
    The tpms what u mean te monitors activated how do I check or find that one out first cheers
    #30
  32. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Aug 11, 2013]
    You should see the monitor behind the tyre valve and its square
    #31
  33. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Aug 11, 2013]
    Oh rite behind the valve so I would have to have the tyre off to see this then would I?
    #32
  34. Andy Crooks
    Offline

    Andy Crooks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Aug 11, 2013]
    Yes mate you would so its a ***** of a job for nothing if its not there
    #33
  35. JD007F
    Offline

    JD007F Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    Oh rite I see no worries pal.
    #34
  36. Zak0123
    Offline

    Zak0123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 20, 2013]
    Awesome! Now just to find someone who can code this for me in the Cambridgeshire area in exchange for beer tokens... anyone...?:tumble:
    #35

Share This Page