1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

comfort indicators retrofit?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Oranoco, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,375
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2013
    #1
    jbh likes this.
  2. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Byzan has.
    I'm not sure if anyone else has.

    I've looked into it but I think its bout £40 for the kit.
    I might give that a miss for now.
    #2
  3. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,375
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Ah cool, will drop him a shout and see what's what. Don't mind forking out a couple of quid for it.
    #3
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    The VAG part number for the comfort indicators is 000998229A which is £40 from Audi/VW.
    Stoke Audi might be able to get it cheaper again with our forum discount.
    #4
    Oranoco and jbh like this.
  5. jbh
    Online

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    hmmm that's another mod added to my to do list.

    her indoors will want this done to her sharan also
    #5
    ScottD3 likes this.
  6. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,122
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    WTF are "comfort" indicators?!
    #6
  7. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    You press your indicators up or down without locking them in to position and they will flash 3 times.
    #7
  8. jbh
    Online

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    when you flick the indicator stalk and they flash 3 or 4 times.
    our b5.5 passat we had done this it was great for lane changes
    #8
  9. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    I've got at kit which I've been meaning to fit, I need to pull my RNS-E out tomorrow so will fit and post back. I know the kit I've got is capable of adjusting the about of indication form 3 to 5 flashes
    #9
  10. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Part numbers people, part numbers!
    #10
  11. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Already there.
    #11
  12. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Smart ass lol :nyah: so is it just a relay?
    #12
  13. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Relay, loom, plugs.

    That part number is for a kit with instructions......knowing Audi kits
    #13
  14. jbh
    Online

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    what kit have you got?
    #14
  15. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    390
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    Theres two kits, one has bare wires, one has a pair of connectors and some loom between them.

    Personally i'd suggest getting the bare wires one. You can easily splice it in at the column switch and neatly clip the relay into the relay carrier beside all the others.

    If you buy the one with plugs, you need to rip the dash apart and splice into the hazard wiring. Waay to much effort!!

    I guess you could just chop the plugs off though!

    I think the bare wires one doesnt have the A on the end?
    #15
  16. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    It's an aftermarket job, and I've had it years (Don't know if it's still made anymore) will post up some picture later.
    #16
  17. jbh
    Online

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    yea that would be good
    #17
  18. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    Fitted my module today, took about an hour to fit as it required a switched live connection so when went into the fuse box and ran a new fused wire to the unit.

    This was the module I purchased about 7 years ago!
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Did a quick install and just shoved the wires in place, tested and all working well
    [​IMG]

    Once tested and working well, ran the live wire which was the only time consuming bit of the job

    [​IMG]

    Fitted the connectors into the fuse box
    [​IMG]

    Spliced into the hazard switch harness for the 4 other wires then retested. The modules final location is behind the radio on the right hand side.

    [​IMG]
    #18
    Oranoco, jbh and ScottD3 like this.
  19. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,375
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    Awesome :)
    #19
  20. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,375
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Aug 30, 2013]
    Ordered a kit today. My Audi dealer said they couldn't get it as it was VW only although he could see it and what it was. VW were very polite but the lady sounded puzzled when I told her it was going in an Audi and gave her the number. Work's a mare at the minute so will be a week till I can collect :-(
    #20
  21. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,260
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    How did everyone get on with their comfort indicators?
    #21
  22. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,375
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    VW rang me yesterday to say the kit was in. Pick up Monday, all being well will be fitted Monday night.
    #22
  23. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    390
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    did you order the bare wires one?
    #23
  24. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,375
    Likes Received:
    243
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    No the one with plugs, not fussed at taking centre apart to fit and can always remove plugs if it looks a better way to do it when the time comes. Depending on time constraints I might do a pic by pic how to.
    #24
  25. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    390
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    yeh i guess.

    Putting it in the console is barmy though, its 4 wires to connect and they're all available at the stalk.
    #25

Share This Page