1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Collect new S3 SB Sat - how do I prep Ipod for connectivity?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by jimbo_50001, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. jimbo_50001
    Offline

    jimbo_50001 S3X

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 19, 2010]
    I'm collecting my new S3 Sportback on Saturday and in preparation for the ultimate journey home I want to ensure my ipod is ready to plug into the car and play!
    I've read that the car treats the ipod as a 6CD player and i need to setup 6 playlists accordingly. Do i have to name the playlists as CD1, CD2 etc? Or do anything else specific?
    Many Thanks
    J
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 27, 2014]

  3. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jan 19, 2010]
    I've been wondering about doing exactly the same thing, ready for my collection on Thursday!!

    I think you can name the playlists as you wish, as long as there is no more than 6...
    #2
  4. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 19, 2010]
    Did you spec AMI? if So I think and have yet to test mine but its much better and all the track names are displayed etc.

    David
    #3
  5. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,203
    Likes Received:
    51
    [Jan 19, 2010]
    On a new RNS-E you shouldn't need to do anything as it reads the album and artist data and categorises it all automatically as it is on your ipod. For older RNS-Es or other headunits you need to create playlists of up to 99 tracks but I have no idea how this is done!
    #4
  6. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jan 19, 2010]
    Well i've got the standard Concert affair, didn't spec the AMI, was going to retrofit at some point....and looking on Youtube at how the iPod intergration actually functions (or doesn't!) on the Concert I think upgrading may be a "sooner rather than later" thing!!
    #5
  7. KeepItTidy
    Offline

    KeepItTidy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 20, 2010]
    Congrats on the new car!! :)

    To prep your Ipod, you nee to make 5 playlists on it. Named 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 ,5 - the 6th one will automatically full random songs from the ipod.
    These should show up as the first 5 playlists on the Ipod.

    Simple as that :)
    #6
  8. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 20, 2010]
    As above, but NOT 'random' unless you have the 'shuffle' turned on.

    Playlist 6 is the full list of tunes loaded in, in the list sequence, unless you enable 'shuffle'.

    Playlists can also be over 99 tunes long, but on older (non-AMI) RNS-E's, the first digit isn't displayed. (for example, track number 237 in a playlist will just display as 'track 37'.

    Keith
    #7
  9. Sohrob
    Offline

    Sohrob Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 21, 2010]
    This man speaks the truth.
    #8
  10. jimbo_50001
    Offline

    jimbo_50001 S3X

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 24, 2010]
    Thanks Keepittidy / vwadict - bang on.

    As is the ipod with Bose !
    #9
  11. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Jan 24, 2010]
    Have you got the new baby now then Jimbo?

    Pics??
    #10

Share This Page