1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cold air feed? What do people think of this?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Add7, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    Looks good, don't think there is space available in the S3 to do that tho. The intake would be where the standard IC is.

    Not sure about the A3.
    #2
  4. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    pure said:
    Looks good, don't think there is space available in the S3 to do that tho. The intake would be where the standard IC is.

    Not sure about the A3.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Wouild work on the A3 but not the S3 unless you are running a FMIC and remove the passenger side IC.

    Rich
    #3
  5. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    would this be worth doing?
    #4
  6. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Audi A3 1.8TS said:
    would this be worth doing?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    certainly no harm in doing this...you wont know unless you try!
    #5
  7. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    I wouldnt cut a huge hole out of the airbox like he has (very bottom pics) as you still likely to suck in hot air from engine bay. I would mix both suggestion on that site... a nice big cold air feed, but into the standard airbox, and then sealed around to ONLY outside air gets in!

    I wouldnt put the filter that low as it willg et VERY dirty very quickly, and also the chances of sucking in water are greatly increased. Atleast if the airbox is still present, it has somewhere to go before the intake!

    Rich
    #6
  8. pure
    Offline

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    There is a better airbox mod for the S3 which I am gonig to do when I get time. It involves reusing the old intake pipe that has been sealed on the later S3 airboxes, cutting the hole out again and basically running a cold air feed back to it again.

    I am currently data logging the current set up, so that when I eventually get round to doing it I can log wether or not there have been any gains ie. More air getting in, lower temps, increase in power.

    After doing it, I am hoping that I can increase and stablise the boost a little more.
    #7
  9. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    Surely that will suck it water and dirt being that low down?
    #8
  10. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    i want to run a cold air feed, but do not want to do that. can you but kits, or can anyone tell me what they would use?

    Can you buy the tubing?
    #9
  11. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Markb said:
    Surely that will suck it water and dirt being that low down?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    NOt as much as you may think.

    [​IMG]

    Mine is pretty low (its lower i that pic cos i removed the support... normally sits about 6" higher.) and i dont get too much **** in the air filter... Im just REALLY careful with standing water.

    Rich
    #10
  12. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    GolfTTish (John) has done this on his Golf, but using specially bent stainless steel pipe, IIRC. You really do hear the whoooosh of the turbo and the pssshhhhhht of the DV with this set-up though.

    So if those sounds, and people turning their heads at them from 300 yards down the road, is not your thing - then stay away from this mod. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    You can get pre-made metal pipes from some tuning sites in the US - don't have any links with me, but do a search. I'm sure some will turn up.

    I think its almost certain the cone filter is going to get wet and covered in debris, in such a position.

    AL

    #11
  13. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 26, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    RichA3Turbo said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    Markb said:
    Surely that will suck it water and dirt being that low down?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    NOt as much as you may think.

    [​IMG]

    Mine is pretty low (its lower i that pic cos i removed the support... normally sits about 6" higher.) and i dont get too much **** in the air filter... Im just REALLY careful with standing water.

    Rich

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Ah right I see.

    I would have thought that it would have been a nightmare for dust and water, but you've proved not.
    #12

Share This Page