1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coil upgrade harness (obsolete)

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Bradderz_1988, Dec 3, 2012.

  1. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    Well ive just been in contact with TPS to get the coil upgrade harness 1J0971658L and its been made obsolete and replaced by two wires anyone no where i can source one in the uk rather than the one ECS tuning do ???
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    try 1J0971658M
     
  4. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    All utter bull**** lol got our parts lad to ring them back and they said 'we dont carry that 2 day order' 'can i order one ?' he said which they replied 'sure' someone obviously got something wrong lol probably our parts lad he can be abit numb at times.

    so i have one ordered for wednesday :) !!
     
  5. NineNails

    NineNails Proud sponsor of the snack food industry

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    3
    What's this harness all about then? :)
     
  6. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    To upgrade to the hitachi 'E type coils or 2.0T push downs with adapters im doing the bolt down option on saturday.
     
  7. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    The harness is just a replacement bit of loom, for golf platform cars, which happens to include the coil pack connectors.

    Its handy to use to convert the earlier cars to use the newer coils though as it has all the plugs in the right place and plenty of wire to work with.
     
  8. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    If im going to be running the E type bolt downs what plug gap would you guys recommened ???
     
  9. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    standard? 0.8mm i believe
     
  10. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    Is .032 suitable for these coils ive read .040 but iirc this is when running 2.0T coils ????
     
  11. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    0.032" is just over 0.8mm which is the stock gap.
     
  12. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    Can i increase the gap or am i best off running at 0.032" ???

    look whats just turned up :) !!!

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    Going to tackle the coil harness on saturday but have a few Q's as i want to get it right first time now looking at this diagram

    [​IMG]

    the four wires that go to the icm then come out to the coils can i splice in to the first four wires before the icm and pull the wiring out the existing loom to clean it up a bit also the ground for the icm i take it that it runs back through the loom and i just ground to the valve cover ?

    now it says to bridge pins two and four and create a new ground now wont the stock location ground for one of the pins be already there so i just need to bridge the other pin so in theory i could just put these four wires to the icm brown ground rather than grounding it on the valve cover or do these go with the valve cover ground (icm brown).

    im slightly confused with the icm ground if theres no icm why does it need to be grounded if it is the icms earth ???
     
  14. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    Pull the loom back is best way and double the old ICM earth back and stuff it on the valve cover too. The new coils for some reason use 2 earths, no harm in giving it them.
     
  15. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    Right ive just stripped the new harness and marked out pins for each coil now pin 2 on the new loom is spliced and comes out as two brown wires (1 small & 1 big ) can i pin the big one and pin the icm earth wire and put them in my connector then ring the small one off on to the valve cover ????
     
  16. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,595
    Likes Received:
    166
    Well been at it and SUCCESS !!! :)

    fired up first time and throttle response is alot better especially in high gears at low rpm no more misfiring now :) and idle is more stable.

    just a few pics

    old coils and valve cover.
    [​IMG]

    New valve cover and coils, wiring stripped.
    [​IMG]

    Old coil harness and icm wires pulled though old coils and icm.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Icm location tidied up a bit.
    [​IMG]

    Citroen 16 way connector for easy removal of harness.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    and the finished product :)
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page