1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

coding keys with vcds?

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by glenandem, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it poss to code the actual key chip with vcds if i have the skc number?
    i know you can code the remote side but just wondered about the actual immobiisor bit?
    #1
  2. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,694
    Likes Received:
    21
    yes if yiu have the SKC
    #2
  3. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's an skc and how do you get it?
    #3
  4. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Active Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    5
    SKC is the code required to access immobiliser coding in instruments. It used to be on a small scratch off card, but after a certain year you can only get from dealer as they have to connect to Audi Germany and the code is sent to the car. The Dealer willnot be able to give you the code.
    #4
  5. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it's not possible to code your own key?
    #5
  6. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Active Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes you can , if you have the code and vcds and the car is before 2005/6, After that its Main Dealer job.
    #6
  7. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sometimes the SKC is retrievable with other cables/software to VCDS, but not with VCDS itself.
    #7
  8. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bet that software and cable costs a fortune?
    #8
  9. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Active Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    5
    NHN sells VCDS on here pm him for a price.
    #9
  10. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Active Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    5
    vagtacho should be able to retrieve, but not after 2005/6
    #10
  11. Mikemc
    Offline

    Mikemc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    0
    I meant the software for pulling codes, and already spoke to him, he's awaiting delivery of stock
    #11
  12. hollow
    Offline

    hollow Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    2
    depends on the year of the car and what clocks you have , i can retrieve skc codes sometimes via obd other times by removing eprom from clocks and reading in a programmer
    #12
  13. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it poss to recover the skc on a 1.9tdi ecu with vagtacho,if i can get it with that then hopfully i can code the key in with vagcom!
    #13
  14. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Active Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    9
    I can pull my 1.9tdi pin with commander i think. i have tacho and commander though, my A6 uses tacho. I think its a bit hit and miss as im using cheepo ebay cables, but was only for that purpose and to do the miles to empty on a buddies car. VCDS genuine for everything else.
    #14
  15. craigynett
    Offline

    craigynett Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    3
    even with the SKC you're not going to be able to program a new key to a 2005/6 onwards VAG because the transponder has to be pre-coded with CS (compenent security) info before it can be programmed to the car. Pre-coding equipment is expensive so definitely not worth it for somebody who wants to do 1 key to their own car.

    I've got 2 different bits of equipment that will pre-code transponders. Pre-coding is basically making a dealer key without going to the dealers
    #15

Share This Page