1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clutch replacement info / guide please

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Steve_D, Jan 22, 2013.

1. Steve_D

Steve_D Member

Its about time the clutch got done on me car, 1.8 1999 Treg A4 not sure of the engine code... i've never done one before.. but am confident going from instructions / diagrams. can this be done on my drive or does it need to be in the air? would rather keep the costs down and do it myself and also more importantly to learn then to take it to a garage.

also what clutch would i need... dont want to go and get the wrong one
    tools needed?

Cheers chaps
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2013
  2. B5NUT

B5NUT Well-Known Member

Possible to do it on the ground, but the gearbox has a hell of a lot of weight so you would struggle to get the box back in. If you’re going down the diy route your best option is engine out, is sound bad but on the 1.8 it straight forward. In respect to instructions / diagrams get yourself a copy of elsawin of ebay.
  3. Steve_D

Steve_D Member

really!! engine out!! :faint:

Would a trolly jack be able to drop the box and put it back in (thats what i was thinking lol) but im not questioning your knowledge, just sweeing if their is another way other than taking the engine out... really dunna fancy that one... although it would be nice to have the thing out, always wanted to blast the bay and tighten up some small rattles (them flappy heat sheilds)
  4. Bradderz_1988

Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

If you take engine out there is alot of things that can be done with ease whilst its out ie mounts, timing belt, new coolant and water pump, thermostat, block breather anything really if you want to be doing and funds are available it will save taking all the front end off in the near future.

ive got access to ramps so never really struggle when it comes to jobs like this.
  5. Steve_D